We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Royal Olympic Hotel
Ranked #61 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 5 September 2010

This hotel is very elogant. It has amazing views from the rooms and the roof top restaurant. We could see the Temple of Zeus from our window. It is also near the Acropolis. The rooms were very cozy and chic. The bathroom did not have a shower only a bath tub but you won't mind. The staff is very helpful and so is the concierge.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    1,100
    558
    219
    143
See reviews for
533
1,517
119
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
crystal lake USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

My husband and I went to Athens prior to a cruise through the islands ending in Istanbul. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and had been to Athens on our honeymoon. We booked the Royal Olympic based upon recommendations from Trip Advisor and we were pleasantly surprised. The lobby is beautiful and the complimentary breakfast was plentiful with much variety. Staff was pleasant and the view from the rooftop bar was fabulous. I have read other reviews about the beds but did not find that to be a problem in our case, even though the beds did come apart once. The hotel has a great location with its close proximity to the Parthenon and the Plaka. Highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The Royal Olympic is a beautiful hotel in a great area. It is within walking distance of the Acropolis and was very convenient. Our room was okay but certainly not what I expect of a 5-star hotel. The walls were paper thin. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on in my entire life. My husband and I were exhausted after a long day of sightseeing and could barely fall asleep on the hard mattress. We inspected the bed and sure enough, we were sleeping directly on a box spring. I do not understand why such a beautiful hotel would skimp on the beds. I have never slept on a box spring before and hope I never have to again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York Metro Area
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My friends and I disembarked from a cruise in Athens and decided to spend an afternoon and evening to see the city before returning to the States. The location of the Royal Olympic is ideal. The lobby and pool area are very nice, but the rooms, while clean, need a remodel. The hours we spent atop the rooftop bar/restaurant watching the Acropolis more than made up for any deficiencies of the room. If you're used to American luxury standards, you will probably be disappointed, but if you understand European tourist class hotels, you'll look past the dated room decor and find the hotel will serve your needs. Overall service in the hotel is friendly, but slow. It's Athens--get used to it. All in all, I'd go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikingstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We had a lovely 3-night stay at Royal Olympic in Athens - the hotel is perfectly situated for seeing all of Athens' highlights... the Acropolis Museum, the Temple of Zeus, etc. Lots of walking but there was no need to hop onto other modes of transportation.
We got upgraded to a lovely 6th floor room facing the Acropolis/Temple of Zeus when we checked in - it was magnificent with our own private balcony! Beautiful marble bathroom and very comfortable room... the two beds smushed together weren't ideal but they didn't move around too much in our case. And the electronic curtains didn't work in our room either but you could move them manually - just a comment based on one of the other reviews. The upstairs restaurant with the views is appraently a bit too posh and required reservations (which, of course we didn't have) so we did eat in the bar one evening - it was nice but definitely better dinners elsewhere in Greece. However, this same spot was where the "upscale" rooms had breakfast every morning and it was a magnificent breakfast - both the food and service, and of course, the views. My one complaint was that the pool closed very early - 7:30pm - we tried to go one evening after sightseeing but were turned away as they were closing. Great and super helpful staff, including housekeeping turndown service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techygirlinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Heli, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

First off- This is not what most people would consider a 5 star hotel. That being said, it is a nice, clean hotel in a very good location. We've been here for 2 days and have not taken a taxi or subway yet. The room is spacious, has A/C, a bit of a view and an "okay" bathroom. The bed is comfy. This is no Four Seasons or Ritz, but I think that for the price--- I am very pleased. The breakfast was fine-- great yogurt, fruit, meats, English breakfast things etc. I read other reviews stating that wait service was less than optimum- for that, I agree- however it is a buffet. Thankfully, we need not rely on the attention of the staff much. I think that I would absolutely stay here again. PS- Maid walked into our room without knocking- and got a view of my 58 year old partner's naked rear. I guess that the staff training does need some attention.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurosandbaht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We booked a standard room trough a travel agency friend of us and we were upgraded to the executive room, the one that faces the Zeus monument. The service is very good, all the staff very helpful also the staff of the roof bar which are very kind.
All the hotel, from the lobby to the rooms is made for americans. You can feel it... XXL sofas, big halls, big bathrooms, big beds...etc etc.. which is quite nice! the bad point is that the air conditioning is switched on always on the highest level, so you feel freezing everywhere. The only thing that I didn't like was the breakfast (which is awful, no variety, low quality food,...) that they charge at 25euros if you don't have it included! and the swimming pool that is very little and not very clean.
Maybe if you are from west Europe you'll think is not a 5 star hotel, but trust me, the quality average in Athens is lower, so I reccomend it. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pradomalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
3,079 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#71 of 326 in Athens
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#10 of 326 in Athens
408 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,272 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Olympic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Olympic Hotel

Property: Royal Olympic Hotel
Address: 28-34 Diakou Athanassiou, Athens 117 43, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#43 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Olympic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Olympic is a newly fully refurbished 5* hotel located just in the centre of Athens, at a walking distance from all major archaeological sites, points of interest and public transports of the city, and within easy reach to/from the airport. The 264 rooms, and especially the unique Athenian Panorama rooms with a breathtaking view over the temple of Zeus and other major sites of the city, the 18 state of the art meeting rooms, the roof garden restaurant & bar lying in front of the Acropolis, temple of Zeus and Lycabettus Hill, the swimming pool, create a luxurious and warm environment where personal touch, service and attention to every single detail are very well looked after.Should it be for leisure, corporate or MICE travelers, the Royal Olympic offers a unique and authentic Athenian experience that will remain unforgettable to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Olympic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Olympic Athens
Hotel Royal Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing