We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice for Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Olympic Hotel
Ranked #67 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We were guests of the hotel for four nights, the end leg of a two week stay in Greece. Although we stayed at two very good hotels in Santorini and Rhodes, this was by far the most comfortable of all.
Check in was smooth, although I agree with other posters, somewhat terse and unfriendly.
Our stay got off to a rocky start. We routinely inspect our rooms for evidence of bedbugs, after having learned that 1 in 4 hotel rooms in North America is infested. In the course of inspecting our room, we discovered a large blood stain on the underside of the mattress topper. That room was quite small but satisfactory, the stain excepted. My spouse went down to the front desk to have a chat. The head of housekeeping visited the room, saw the stain, apologized, and we were re-located to an upgraded room. It was quite generous in size and included a bidet in the bathroom. It faced the street and, even with the window closed, the noise level was high. In any event, an inspection revealed a large urine stain on the underside of the mattress topper. Again, there was a visit to the front desk and the aforesaid routine repeated. This time, housekeeping stayed for the inspection. The third room faced the pool and fell somewhere between the two other rooms in size and fittings. All in all, we spent over an hour finding a room. For our troubles, we received a fruit plate and bottle of wine.
Now a list of the pros and cons of the hotel:
Pros:
Good looking hotel, with very attractive and clean public spaces.
Very clean room, with linens changed daily on request.
Terrific location. We never took transportation. We walked everywhere - Acropolis, National Archaeological Museum, Roman Agora, Ancient Agora, Parliament, Attica department store, etc.
Bed was extremely comfortable.
Beautiful pool area.
Great breakfast. It was served in a main floor dining area. Perhaps, better rooms have access to breakfast on the roof.
Multiple bars, including the rooftop bar. We had a light dinner (sandwiches and wine) on our last night. The view of the Acropolis is jaw dropping. Nothing in our travels has compared to watching the sunset and the lit Parthenon from that viewpoint. An absolute must.
Helpful doormen, who appear to act as concierges.
Cons:
No concierge.
Unhelpful front desk, which adopts a somewhat distant and impatient attitude.
King size bed is in fact two singles put together with separate linen. Not great if one is sharing with a partner.
Toilet sounded like Niagara Falls when flushed.
The hotel is spread over several buildings and there is no universal access by elevator. We needed to use a specific lift to get to our room. It’s a bit confusing and the front desk failed to explain.
Service in the breakfast room is uneven. We sometimes had to wait for wait staff to bring us coffee while they cleaned and reset tables. Other times, we were offered coffee as soon as we were seated and regularly thereafter.
Notwithstanding these problems, the overall experience was very good and I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fearful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,104 - 2,110 of 3,270 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Royal Olympic... rooms were comfortable, and the location was perfect! The rooftop restaurant/ bar had a fantastic view of the Acropolis & the Temple of Zeus, but service was a bit slower than would be expected at a 5-star hotel. Food was delicious, though pricey (as would be expected in a 5-star with such a view!)

We were right at the edge of Plaka and felt very safe, even at night. There were cheaper options in the area but I really wanted to splurge on a pool for the hot stuffy weather so this seemed like a good option. Unfortunately it rained and so we didn't even make use of the pool... looked lovely though! Wi-fi system was a bit slow as well... overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunlover289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Last few nights of a long lovely trip, and I wanted a full-service beautiful hotel to relax and enjoy Athens for a few more days. Mind you this is listed as a 5-star hotel. Checked in and was pointed in the direction of the elevator - no bellhop. Had a problem with my balcony door, which I noticed immediately upon entering the room. Instead of offering me another room, they sent maintenance up with a hammer and spent an hour fixing the door while I was in the room. No offer to enjoy the bar while they worked. BANG, BANG, BANG goes the hammer. Not worth the price. Not even 3-star worthy service.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
Thank Carole137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We spent just one night here (unfortunately! Would LOVED to have stayed several) on our return from Santorini. When we arrived at the hotel, they were busy with a large group from Brazil, so we did have to wait appx. 30 minutes to check in---BUT they sent us to the bar with a comp drink, and voila! Upgraded to an amazing suite! It couldn't have been more perfect. The bathroom was huge, beautifully fitted out. The view was directly onto the Temple of Zeus and the Parthenon in the distance---we didn't want to clese the curatins at night, it was so gorgeous! We had a light dinner and drinks on the rooftop terrace, which is stunning---best rooftop with view I've been on! The pool area is lovely, and we sat outside at the pool early in the evening for a snack and a drink. We just wished we had planned to stay several days here. Perfect in every way! Service was excellent, bags brought to our room, taxi called and negotiated for us in the a.m. to the airport, and breakfast was OK--not great, but in view of the whole experience, a very minor blemish. I put 4 stars on "sleep quality" because the mattress was a bit soft.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomkat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed here for one night in late September. The hotel is nice enough, but there are a few quirks and drawbacks that make the hotel, in my opinion, definitely not a five star hotel. First of all, we had a king room with nice windows, but the bathroom was, well, Soviet, in my opinion (lots of experience in the former Soviet Union). The bathroom was by no means luxury, the toilet was weird, the shower small and funny looking, and the tiles were dirty. But on the positive side, the bed was comfy, and the room itself was on the large side.

The hotel staff "forgot" to tell us that the hotel has like 5 different elevators that service different room numbers, so we looked for our room for like 10 minutes before we found it. And the bell hops do not bring the bags to your room.

The hotel does have a lovely rooftop bar/rest. with a great view!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackintheUSSR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed here recently for 3 day-trip to Athens. Arrived after a great relaxing week in Naxos staying in a small basic studio, so this touch of luxury was timely and much appreciated. We checked-in to a deluxe room. Room was big, bathroom huge, impressive bed-side controls for lights and window blinds, and the view from our room was really incredible - straight onto Temple of Zeus, and the Acropolis up to the side.

Morning breakfast is served up on the roof restaurant and terrace - fairly standard (for this level of hotel) but nonetheless delicious buffet breakfast. If you're a tea drinker mind you, don't get too excited, but i'm sure that's no surprise. Greek yoghurt with the home-made rose compote was a personal favourite. Excellent staff throughout the hotel, very professional. Good enough pool, nice loungers etc. Gym is small but sufficient for a work-out.

I'd definitely return - excellent for a romantic getaway - but do treat yourself to at least the deluxe room - I sneaked a peek in an 'executive' room and there is a substantial difference!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonExplorer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The hotel is a good example of kitsch and low level aesthetics. The employes are not friendly with the guests . They insistent at the checkin to pay some guarantee for the mini bar despite the advance payment for the room wich I refused . Room was not very clean and a second example of kitsch .The view they promised at the Acropolis was a back road with no view except the dirty road and the parked cars. I payed 170 euros for very bad service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecofarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Olympic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Olympic Hotel

Address: 28-34 Diakou Athanassiou, Athens 117 43, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#43 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £83 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Olympic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Olympic is a newly fully refurbished 5* hotel located just in the centre of Athens, at a walking distance from all major archaeological sites, points of interest and public transports of the city, and within easy reach to/from the airport. The 264 rooms, and especially the unique Athenian Panorama rooms with a breathtaking view over the temple of Zeus and other major sites of the city, the 18 state of the art meeting rooms, the roof garden restaurant & bar lying in front of the Acropolis, temple of Zeus and Lycabettus Hill, the swimming pool, create a luxurious and warm environment where personal touch, service and attention to every single detail are very well looked after.Should it be for leisure, corporate or MICE travelers, the Royal Olympic offers a unique and authentic Athenian experience that will remain unforgettable to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Olympic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Olympic Athens
Hotel Royal Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing