We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality & Top quality food.”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #8 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 October 2011

3 night business trip but with my 7 year old daughter coming along too.
The hotel lives up to its expectations. It is very stylish and tasteful. Extremely clean and perfect location. The staff are all young (below 40) and enthusiastic offering genuine hospitality and professionalism served with warm smiles and an eagerness to please.
The room (superior) was just about adequate in size though there is a rather clumsy arrangement between the door of the toilet and the shower which takes a little getting used to. The decor was fun and I particularly liked the bamboo flooring and indeed the general use of wood throughout the hotel.
The view of the Russian Orthodox church opposite and of Lycabittus Hill in the distance was nice too. During the night hours it can be rather noisy however.
The breakfast that is offered is perhaps on first impressions rather standard. However, the quality of ALL the food on offer is top quality. All the breads, the pastries, sweets, cakes are made in-house and are perhaps as good as it gets. Their cheese/feta pie with filo pastry should not be missed. The hot drinks are also excellent with lots of fresh juice available too.
We also sampled a variety of their desserts with our afternoon coffees and again they were excellent (my favorite was the cheese cake) really top notch. Dinner at the hotel is to the same high standards. Not a huge menu but enough to offer something for everyone. The wine list offers a decent selection of Greek and international varieties. Prices are not bad considering the high standards and the generosity of the servings. Worth noting too is that there are a few great little "ethnic" restaurants close by which are definitely worth a visit.
If I could I would give this hotel 41/2 stars. It drops a star for the toilet/shower arrangement, the noise, and perhaps the hot water was not quite hot enough. Overall we loved our 3 night stay and welcome the opportunity to stay there again. My daughter was so sad to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Russian Church and Lycabittus Hill have nice views but are a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anzoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your stay at New Hotel.
Our staff aims to provide comfort and hospitality to all our guests and make New “a home away from home” experience. Thank you for your helpful comments and we are looking forward to welcome you back at New Hotel.
We remain at your disposal

Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,240 - 1,246 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

This has been one of the best hotel stays ever. Staff are so friendly and helpful, buffet breakfast is especially tasty and abundant, location is perfect - close to syndagma and plaka - and the furniture, redesigned from the old hotel, quirky and fun. Our room was unique, spacious and clean. Im not sure if we got such a great price because it's relatively new or if it will go up significantly by the time we come back but the value was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vlasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your stay at New Hotel. We hope to have the pleasure to accommodate you again in the future.

Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We only stayed here two nights on a recent trip through Greece and found the staff to be really wonderful. The decor of the rooms and the hotel was interesting, a little cold in my opinion and the hallways were very dark. We had trouble getting wifi too, and it never seemed to work right. They gave us a great restaurant recommendation that was difficult to find, but worth the search. Aside from the few flaws mentioned, I'd stay here again, the price was reasonable, room was clean, bed was comfortable, staff was helpful and location was convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emaock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments. We consider your comments valuable and we would like to let you know that we already took the appropriate actions as far as the wifi is concerned. Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back at New Hotel.
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Wonderful stay, got a discounted rate as newly opened, staff freindly, funky rooms, great AC and shower, service could be a bit better in restaurant but overall a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Higher floor, upgrade to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaa1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

As a family of 5 including 3 children under 10 it is often difficult to find accommodation that suits. This place not only suited but also went beyond expectations. The staff where superb....friendly, courteous and always willing to help. I would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel to family travellers who are looking for that something special. The hotel was well priced for the offering. There is no pool but heck there is plenty to do in Athens without the need to go for a swim.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family5Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and we are looking forward to welcome you back at New Hotel.


Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I cannot wait come back! I had many chances to stay hotel. This hotel is one of the best where I've stayed. Good location, nice price. beatiful designed room, the best service.
If I have chace to go Athen, I will go there without any questions. One thing, breakfast is not good as the room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alma1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Unusual creative design hotel without fake compositions.
Smiling and fairly good service. Three types of decors for the rooms. "Postcard room" a bit too simple but great bathroom fixtures and fancy furniture. Quality/price=fantastic. Impressive fitness room but uninteresting spa. Forget the basement and it's spa but rush to this hotel if you dislike gold and marble fake decor.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancisRogerDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,743 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £132 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Filellinon Street, next to Constitution Square (Syntagma Square), this contemporary design hotel, is perfectly positioned for the sights of Athens, including the ruins of Plaka, the Acropolis and its museum, the stylish boutique shopping district of Kolonaki, and the bustling business zone. Situated in the former Olympic Palace Hotel, New Hotel encompasses the heritage of its past by using recycled parts of the old hotel and reinterpreted local materials to create a complete work of art, where outstanding interiors, unusual custom-made furniture and handmade fixtures make guests feel that they live and breathe in a major art installation. Offering an entirely NEW approach this 79-room and suites establishment, is one of the city’s finest examples of modernist architecture and the first ever hotel project of award designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing