We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“modern, swanky hotel, with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #8 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jakarta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“modern, swanky hotel, with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in Athens.

First of all, love the design of the hotel! very swanky, very design-y. And amazing attention of detail. From the lobby, the breakfast area, even the corridor.

As a designer, I love their rooms. Very clean, modern design, spotless, funky interior, complete amenities, even iphone dock/stereo thingie.
Love how they use gold chrome/ glass combination, and the cool looking chairs in each room.
Bathroom - shower only, no bath tub. Very clean and spotless too.

Location - it's good. just a little walk to the city centre, and we can even walk to the acropolis too.

Service - very friendly, and good. They even have turn down service at night time. Placing little box with almond biscuit . Love this small gesture.


Breakfast is great, although a bit confusing sometimes - since we order them to the waiter, and they bring the food (rather than buffet style).

The only downside is just the noise. The hotel is located in busy streets, and you can hear the traffic humming. Doesn't bother me too much though. Had great sleeps in this hotel.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squinting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your stay at New Hotel. We appreciate your kind comments and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    994
    353
    51
    14
    9
See reviews for
209
734
67
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Great location. Within walking distance of all the sights. Rooms are smaller than some hotels but very nice. Modern and very clean. Maid service includes turn down and biscuits on the pillows.
Breakfast was the best I have ever had with home made bread, croissants. Found some good restaurants on tripadvisor. It was very hot in June so a/c was essential. Wifi was ok, cut out a couple of times but was back the next day. It is free.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your recent visit in Athens as well as your kind words. We will be delighted to accommodate you again in the near future!

Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

The New Hotel in Athens is in a fantastic location as it is walking distance to the Acropolis, Plaka area & Syntigma Square... All the staff were fantastic! The staff at the front desk, the staff in the restaurant, the cleaning staff everyone was wonderful! Breakfast is amazingly good. WiFi works well! We all loved this hotel & will return. Rooms are funky & very comfortable. It was perfect! I can not fault this hotel or it's staf! Eugenia R Australia

Room Tip: We had booked 3 rooms & they are all great & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eugenia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,
It is always our pleasure to receive such kind reviews and know that you had an excellent stay with us!. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and make New Hotel a “home- away-from-home “experience. We will be happy to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

superb hotel.renovated .location 3 minutes walking from Syntagma sq. and about 5 minutes walking from Plaka.The staff is wonderful the breakfast delicious .
the only problem is the noise from outside so try and get an upper floor.

Room Tip: higher floors are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your recent visit in Athens. We will share your kind comments with the rest of our stuff and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

The interiors of this hotel are amazing and even their standard room was very spacious. The beds are very comfortable and the staff were very accommodating. The location was great for tourist attractions and it is easy to catch a bus there from the airport.
However unless the sounds of a freeway help you sleep at night make sure you ask for a quiet room. We stayed in a room facing the main road and I thought the traffic would be quieter later at night but it was still the same at 1am in the morning. I called the front desk and fortunately they were able to move us to a quieter room at the back of the hotel for which I was extremely thankful.
Their breakfast is nice but the staff in the restaurant appeared not to be able to organise a beer in a brewery and just wandered around aimlessly. We had to ask for things several times before they brought them over.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _VivvyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and our services. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and make New hotel a “home- away from- home” experience. We will be more than happy to accommodate you again in our Hotel in the future!
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I arrived to this hotel by chance. After a litte trouble Reguarding my serration I got very nice junior suite thanks to the efficiency of Paulina, the receptionist. The design of he hotel is very delighted, rooms are very nice, quite and well equipped. The restaurant is overpriced but food quality is excellent. I'll be in this hotel again during my next business trips to Athens. Btw the location is right in the heart of Athens, avoid it during strikes, revolution and black block activities.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is always our pleasure to receive such reviews and know that you had an excellent stay with us!
We will be happy to accommodate you again in the near future!
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Overall, the hotel is decently priced and in a good location. It's a short walk to the Metro Station in Syntagma Square, and about a 20 minute walk to most of the major attractions in Plaka. The staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet is good.

The New Hotel is one of the most interesting designs I have ever seen in a hotel. Very cool and worth checking out the lobby, even if you don't stay there. Our room was very comfortable and we liked its art installation - blown-up antique Athens postcards. We didn't have a balcony, but many of the rooms in the hotel do.

Our one complaint was that the internet connection in our room was unreliable. We also noticed that our TV was not working, but otherwise we were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7HeatherS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your stay at New Hotel. We consider your comments valuable and we would like to let you know that we already took the appropriate actions as far as the internet is concerned. We are looking forward to welcome you back at New Hotel.
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing