We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the perfect location”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #8 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed at the New Hotel in Athens in June 2012. I booked this hotel based on the previous reviews placed on Trip Advisor.
The hotel is situated about 2 minutes from Syntagma Square where there are good transport links to anywhere in the city. There is a sight-seeing tour bus stop at the square which is very convenient for jumping on and off when required.
The hotel is also very close to the Plaka (10min walk), which is a delightful area with many restaurants and shops, and comes alive at about 10pm at night.
The hotel staff were incredibly efficient, friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a well situated hotel in the heart of Athens.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper levels are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPenhaligon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your stay at New Hotel. We appreciate your kind comments and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,201 - 1,207 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and very happy with our stay. Would 100% recommend to anyone and would stay here again!

- Convenient - walking distance to train to airport in Syntagma Square, 10 minutes to Acropolis/Parthenon, and 5 minutes to Plaka district (cafes, boutiques) & Flea Market
- Great service - friendly staff, great included brunch, can arrange airport transfer with taxi if you don't want to take train from airport to Syntagma Square
- Accommodations - Rooms are a little small but very modern, clean; gym downstairs has basics

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tess_nyc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your last visit in Athens as well as your kind comments. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
We remain at your disposal.
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband and I spent the first leg of our honeymoon at the New Hotel. Having never been to Greece, we were not sure what to expect. We were so so pleased with the facility, our cool yet very comfortable sleeping room, the *excellent* breakfast, and the warm and helpful staff. They gave us recommendations on where to go in the area and were so kind to help us figure out a few of our tours and transfers. The hotel is located central to everything - Plaka, the Acropolis and the new Museum, Syntagma Square, the gardens Temple of Zeus... the list goes on. We walked everywhere and didn't need a single cab. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsaySiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is our dedication to serve our guests in the best way possible and make their stay memorable. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time in New Hotel and hope to have the pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in Athens.

First of all, love the design of the hotel! very swanky, very design-y. And amazing attention of detail. From the lobby, the breakfast area, even the corridor.

As a designer, I love their rooms. Very clean, modern design, spotless, funky interior, complete amenities, even iphone dock/stereo thingie.
Love how they use gold chrome/ glass combination, and the cool looking chairs in each room.
Bathroom - shower only, no bath tub. Very clean and spotless too.

Location - it's good. just a little walk to the city centre, and we can even walk to the acropolis too.

Service - very friendly, and good. They even have turn down service at night time. Placing little box with almond biscuit . Love this small gesture.


Breakfast is great, although a bit confusing sometimes - since we order them to the waiter, and they bring the food (rather than buffet style).

The only downside is just the noise. The hotel is located in busy streets, and you can hear the traffic humming. Doesn't bother me too much though. Had great sleeps in this hotel.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squinting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your stay at New Hotel. We appreciate your kind comments and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Great location. Within walking distance of all the sights. Rooms are smaller than some hotels but very nice. Modern and very clean. Maid service includes turn down and biscuits on the pillows.
Breakfast was the best I have ever had with home made bread, croissants. Found some good restaurants on tripadvisor. It was very hot in June so a/c was essential. Wifi was ok, cut out a couple of times but was back the next day. It is free.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonHDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your recent visit in Athens as well as your kind words. We will be delighted to accommodate you again in the near future!

Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The New Hotel in Athens is in a fantastic location as it is walking distance to the Acropolis, Plaka area & Syntigma Square... All the staff were fantastic! The staff at the front desk, the staff in the restaurant, the cleaning staff everyone was wonderful! Breakfast is amazingly good. WiFi works well! We all loved this hotel & will return. Rooms are funky & very comfortable. It was perfect! I can not fault this hotel or it's staf! Eugenia R Australia

Room Tip: We had booked 3 rooms & they are all great & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eugenia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Guest,
It is always our pleasure to receive such kind reviews and know that you had an excellent stay with us!. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and make New Hotel a “home- away-from-home “experience. We will be happy to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

superb hotel.renovated .location 3 minutes walking from Syntagma sq. and about 5 minutes walking from Plaka.The staff is wonderful the breakfast delicious .
the only problem is the noise from outside so try and get an upper floor.

Room Tip: higher floors are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your recent visit in Athens. We will share your kind comments with the rest of our stuff and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,748 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,286 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis
Electra Metropolis
#9 of 282 in Athens
616 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,464 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £137 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Filellinon Street, next to Constitution Square (Syntagma Square), this contemporary design hotel, is perfectly positioned for the sights of Athens, including the ruins of Plaka, the Acropolis and its museum, the stylish boutique shopping district of Kolonaki, and the bustling business zone. Situated in the former Olympic Palace Hotel, New Hotel encompasses the heritage of its past by using recycled parts of the old hotel and reinterpreted local materials to create a complete work of art, where outstanding interiors, unusual custom-made furniture and handmade fixtures make guests feel that they live and breathe in a major art installation. Offering an entirely NEW approach this 79-room and suites establishment, is one of the city’s finest examples of modernist architecture and the first ever hotel project of award designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing