We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel during our 3 week vacation”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #8 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Where can I start!!!
New Hotel was the best hotel we stayed in during our 3 week honeymoon in Europe. From the great staff attending the guest needs, at the reception, restaurant, cleaning staff and others; the great décor, the confront of the room, the gym.
The location is great, walking distance to all you must visit while in Athens.
This is the first time that we stay at a design hotel; which will now become our first option when traveling to different cities.
The management of the hotel was on top of everything, they even sent us a bottle of sparkling wine with fruits and chocolate to the room for our last night in Athens.
The Hotel restaurant is perfect, beautiful décor, great food and wine. The breakfast was out just perfect, so much variety and great quality of food, coffee etc…
We will definitely will be staying here again, besides recommending this hotel to all of our friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duendedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your kind comments as well as taking the time to share your “New Life Experience” at NEW Hotel.
Such positive reviews are the best reward to keep us motivated.
We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff
It will be our pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,176 - 1,182 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed 2 nights in July and fully enjoyed the experience. Staff are welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much for them. Breakfast was nice and eating area was stylish. Loved the design and recycling of the old furniture/materials from the previous hotel. Dinner a little expensive but good quality fare, especially the wild seabass. Our room had great view of the Acropolis and large in size. Bed comfy and free wifi is bonus. Only wish there was a pool. But overall great location, only 5 mins walk to syntagma square and the plaka which is behind the hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank yen-chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review. Your appreciating comments encourage us to increase our efforts and offer our outmost. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at New Hotel as well as our services. It will be our pleasure to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I cannot say enough about this beautiful boutique hotel located in downtown Athens. We stayed there in July 2012. Every staff member was always smiling, friendly, and very helpful. The room was modern, elegant, and simple at the same time. Bottled water and a bowl of fresh fruit was waiting for us when we checked in. When you leave the room and take the key with you, it shuts off the electricity so it's automatically conserving energy. The decor of the hotel includes many recycled materials with a modern and sophisticated twist. We had a view in our room of the Acropolis which we walked to on the first day. The dining room and bar area was always bustling with activity, the freshest breads and delicious foods.The Plaka district has many fun eateries and shops as well. The first night we went out (took the metro) and ended up dancing until 5:00am. A couple of the spots we hit were Roof 45, The Havana Club, and yoo on stage. Taxis were around at this time (on a Wednesday night) to take us back to the hotel. The new Hotel really set the bar for the beginning of our 9 day Greece trip. I ended up accidentally leaving several items in the room after check-out and they called me to inform me. Thank you so much to everyone at The New Hotel. We hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbb423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us your comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your vacation in Athens as well as your stay at New Hotel. Such positive reviews are very encouraging and motivate us to keep improving! We will be delighted to accommodate you again in the near future!
Kind Regards

Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had an incredible few months stay at this hotel situated right in the heart of Athens. All the personal there is very nice, real, helpful, breakfast is delicious (one of the best that we've tryed around the world!), rich, you can find all kind of healty foods (cheese, fruits, yogurts, pastry, eggs etc), the rooms are extremelly beautiful, the overall design of this hotel is actually amazing and the cleaning level is really high. They have also good Clarance care products and a nice, cozy spa (Tina, the beautician was so kind!). It is for sure a place we would return to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianas2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Dear Guest,
It is always our pleasure to receive such kind reviews and know that you had an excellent stay with us!. Such positive reviews are very encouraging and motivate us to keep improving! We will be delighted to accommodate you again in the near future!

Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I know it's a big call, but I travel across Europe, the US, Australia and Japan at least twice a month and have stayed in a lot of hotels - both good and bad. Four Seasons, Grand Hyatts, Untercontinentals. You name it. The New Hotel in Athens beats them all. It's boutique with being try hard. It's cool, but not too cool. The service is impeccable. They have a charcuterie in the breakfast room. They squeeze your fresh juices for you, and they bake all of their bread on premises. I could go on, but it's time to get back to exploring Athens. If you're ever in Athens please consider The New Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauldotmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your stay in Athens. We believe in personalized service for each and every one of our guests. Receiving such positive comments as yours encourages us to offer our outmost .We will be delighted to accommodate you again in the near future!
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

staffs provided us with perfect service, location is nice, clean.

breakfast was delicious. the bed in the room was so comfortable.

Thanks Natasha!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel is truly a piece of art in a fantastic location in central Athens. The attention to detail is exceptional and the service is fantastic. The perfect place to stay in Athens and very much deserve the reviews posted on tripadvisor

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for talking the time sharing your kind comments. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and make New Hotel a “home-away-from-home” experience. The hotel team and myself would like to thank you once more and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit to Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,751 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,293 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis
Electra Metropolis
#9 of 282 in Athens
620 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,473 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £138 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Filellinon Street, next to Constitution Square (Syntagma Square), this contemporary design hotel, is perfectly positioned for the sights of Athens, including the ruins of Plaka, the Acropolis and its museum, the stylish boutique shopping district of Kolonaki, and the bustling business zone. Situated in the former Olympic Palace Hotel, New Hotel encompasses the heritage of its past by using recycled parts of the old hotel and reinterpreted local materials to create a complete work of art, where outstanding interiors, unusual custom-made furniture and handmade fixtures make guests feel that they live and breathe in a major art installation. Offering an entirely NEW approach this 79-room and suites establishment, is one of the city’s finest examples of modernist architecture and the first ever hotel project of award designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing