We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Athens with the friendiest staff...”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #11 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Athens with the friendiest staff...”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The design is very cool...of course by the Campana brothers....the location could not be better... but what was best was the service...since I've phoned from Mexico to book the hotel and a friendly voice named Barbara answered I knew it was going to be a great experience and it was...everyone at the front desk were extremely helful and friendly they allows us to check out at 4pm...from Zac to Rana to stephania to Barbara they are incredeble...At the restaurant we had the most amazing hostess she was so worried about us that she asked in advenaced what we liked and had it prepared for us before we arrived...at the end of our stay she gave us some pastries for us not to starve at the airport....just fabulous!!!! In all the hotel seems pricy but its not at all for all you get its a well desiged home away from home...thank-you for a great expirience...

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms and in a corner have great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISAACMWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Guest,
The team of New Hotel and myself I would like to thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens as well as your appreciating comments. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to our valuable guests and make our accommodation an unforgettable experience. We shall share your kind words and mentions with the rest of our staff and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    360
    53
    15
    10
See reviews for
212
746
68
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

A real surprise. Lovely boutique hotel in excellent condition with clean modern rooms. Location was perfect and service was outstanding . The hotel has lovely designer pieces which makes it interesting.The breakfast is excellent with delicious pastries. The front desk staff go beyond the usual levels of service, they are friendly and very efficient. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels aroundf the world yet we have never had service as wonderful as this. (as an example of the way the staff go the 'extra mile', we had a very early flight and had booked a 5 am transfer to the airport. On our way out, the staff handed us 'breakfast boxes' with a lovely packaged breakfast for each family member. We had not requested this.)
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Athens - outstanding and real value for money !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mireille L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review. We are glad that you enjoyed every moment of your stay at New Hotel as well as our restaurant New Taste. It is always our pleasure to do our best in order to meet our valuable guests’ expectations and needs. On behalf of our staff and myself I would like to thank you for your kind comments and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We spent three nights here while seeing Athens. It is almopst new, a designer hotel with the usual implications of that term - things look just beautiful but don't necessarily work as well as they might. Glass-walled loos are an acquired taste for example, and a basin pedestal that could have been Gehry designed would benefit from a simple towel rail! Anyway, these are minor quibbles, for what proved an excellent choice. It's located within easy walking distance of the major sights and a great swathe of restaurants. It is comfortable and quiet, despite being on what is quite a major road. Breakfast is extensive and delicious - including, Britons, the tea. Service throughout was just excellent.

Room Tip: We had a sixth floor room which afforded a view over the neighbouring building, which was a bonus. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennett_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your vacation in Athens as well as your kind words. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our location, our services as well as our homemade breakfast at our restaurant New Taste. We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Hotels are hit and miss in Athens. The star system can mean very little from property to property. The New Hotel was a super surprise and delivered on many counts. We loved it.

Location, location, location. Quiet street right smack in the city centre, walking distance to all major sites. Service was impeccable throughout from the young staff - smart, friendly, sincere, warm, professional. From the porter to front desk, room, spa and restaurant - each and everyone quick and hot to trot. Someone here runs a tight and happy ship. You get the feeling the staff feel proud to work here. Free wifi worked really well in room, lobby, anywhere in hotel.

The thing about designer AND green hotels is that, at some point, design or green priorities ran a tank over function or luxury aspects. This hotel succeeds better than just about any other green design hotel in and above its price range. For Athens, it was a damn good deal. The rooms are exactly as portrayed in the promo pictures. Great beds and mattresses, clever layouts provided for our three check in bags and two and a half hand carrys. The decked balcony was delightful.

This hotel has the best lit hotel rooms anywhere. Someone thought carefully about every lighting aspect: task lights, mood and ambient lights, overhead & night lights, bedside illumination - quite remarkable and almost over the top. Luxurious. And talk about generosity with power points - you'll never see another hotel room anywhere with so many outlets! Inbuilt adaptor provided - how cool is that?

The extensive use of recycled products is a commitment throughout the property, but not at the expense of luxury. Some amazing attention to detail: the shower cap kit included a tiny hair scrunchy. The bedside notepad pencil, unlike every other fine hotels using pencils as a green statement, was sharpened to a precise point. Some control freak checked on this. Top marks! Loved all the funky furniture throughout the hotel. Intelligent and thoughtful design went into this property and practically everything worked.

The design tank only rolled over function in the devilishly clever & stylish bathroom, the only thing that didn't live up to the hotel's own high standards. The shower stall shared a door with the bathroom, ingenuous interior architecture. Alas, the floor of the shower stall was designed, pleasingly, with three draining holes bored into its centre. But it was a movable plate unattached to the floor base. It felt like standing on a lilting boat. Drainage worked well but the silicon seal under the glass door created wet swipes over the lovely wooden fllor whenever the shower door was used and opened. But one iffy item out of an extensive well checked list is more than acceptable.

We didn't want to eat Italian in Athens, but after an 11-hour flight, we were too tired to venture too far. The hotel's restaurant serves up excellent Italian, a good wine list with Greek selections, and a substantial breakfast with flair.

We loved this hotel and will return. And to think we were recommended the Hilton in Athens! You can't go wrong here unless you like your surroundings very traditional and safe.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms on the 2nd floor may not have Acropolis views, but the street view is engaging and make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selective007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and make New Hotel a pleasant experience. It's appreciating comments like yours that encourage us to offer our outmost to our valuable guests and keep up our motivation. We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Wow what wonderful staff this hotel has so friendly and helpful they go the extra mile all the time.The hotel is very unusual a great design hotel using wood from the old hotel that use to be there, love the use of recycling.Lovely rooms comfortable beds very nice breakfast. Location easy to get to most things on foot.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleydean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our staff and myself would like to thank you for your kind words. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our design, comfort and homemade breakfast at our restaurant New Taste. We are looking forward to welcome you back at New Hotel.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Located very close to the city center, close also to very interesting sightsseing spots, it is new, extremely well decorated. The room was spacious enough, with an incredible soundproof system,despite the big windows. The breakfast was delicious with very fresh local products.
Didn't know the hotel but now I will try to stay again there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filippos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your kind comments. It is a great pleasure to receive such positive reviews and know that you had a pleasant experience with us. Once again thank you and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens!
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Like the other reviews we loved this hotel. I think that most has been said. We had breakfasts and also one lunch in the restaurant and it was really very good, international food with a very good Greek flair... I did ask about the chef, he is English but lived a long time in Greece... Really it was a very good experience, bravo!
The reception team was particularly cheerful and professional, all speaking excellent English, and extremely helpful. Thank you guys, good job. We will return in this one year old hotel.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cat22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your vacation in Athens. We are glad that you enjoyed our accommodation as well as our restaurant New Taste. It will be our pleasure to welcome you at New Hotel on your next visit to Athens.
Kind regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing