We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service, great location, good value...”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #8 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 November 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel a couple of nights between visiting family and starting our "official" vacation. All I have to say is WOW... We have stayed to another Yes Hotels property in the past (Periscope in Kolonaki) but this property and its amazing staff impressed my so much that I thought it was worth writing about it.

Funky, corky, whimsical, like it or not ... the hotel's design is the most unique I've experienced in a hotel and although at first it seems random, after a our first night there it became clear that every detail was thought through with care. There's definitely method to the architects'/designers' "madness"!

The service was the best I have received while staying in a hotel in Greece. All staff was personable, always present and ready to assist, but never intrusive.

Its location is a big advantage. It is located in the outskirts of Plaka (the "old" Athens district) and only a couple of blocks from the Parliament and Constitution Square, which may be a good or a bad thing depending on whether any protests are taking place (we had no problems during our stay). Visiting some of the major archaeological (Acropolis, new Acropolis museum, temple of Olympic Zeus, roman market, etc) is a short walk. Finding amazing restos also a breeze. Finally, it provides very easy access to transportation to and from the airport. The only problem we had was getting to the front door of the hotel on our way there. The entrance is on an one-way side street which took quite a bit of navigating to get to.

We also found it to be a good value, considering our rate included breakfast, which to our surprise went beyond the typical "continental" type cold-cuts and pastries -it included eggs done any style you wanted and espresso-based coffees. Speaking of espresso-based coffee, I had the best latte anywhere in the world. It was absolutely fantastic!

The rooms were very clean and although the hotel was fully booked there was almost no noise coming from other rooms or from the street for that matter, which is pretty amazing considering how busy they are (and we were only on the second floor). So A+ to its soundproofing as well. The only issue we had was that our room was facing towards the rather narrow side-street which resulted to a bit of privacy issue because of its proximity to the building across the street, which forced us to keep our blind down most of the time we were in the room (which wasn't that much). I imagine that room facing Filellinon Street don't have this problem because the street is a bit wider and there is a small church across from the hotel. Anyway, I wouldn't stay in this hotel for the view, since most of the rooms wouldn't have any.

We loved Periscope, but I think we found our new favourite hotel to stay while in Athens.

Thank you New Hotel! We will be coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review as well as your kind comments. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, location as well as our homemade breakfast and freshly brewed coffee at our restaurant New Taste. We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,092 - 1,098 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

Fabulous location, funky design and great service. Only element is that a lot of the taxis don't know it yet, so best to say Hard Rock Cafe. The service was impeccable. Breakfast was the only slight let-down but only slight. The rooms are very funky but user friendly.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise ask for a room away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smm2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your vacation in Athens. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and will be our pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at NEW Hotel for two nights prior to our cruise. Loved everything about the hotel from the delightful staff, Stefania, at the front desk and Spyros, the doorman to the central location. The breakfast was delicious and had a vast assortment of foods to choose from. The view from our room was delightful and the room itself was quiet and comfortable.

We arrived early and were given a room immediately, no waiting until "official" check in time! We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would use it again. The wifi, available in the room, was above average for hotels we have stayed at in Europe. This was a big plus!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens as well as your kind words. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, location as well our freshly baked veinnoiserie at our restaurant New Taste. We shall share your kind comments with the rest of our staff and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My wife and I spent three nights in the New Hotel after finishing a cruise. We were a little nervous because it is on a very busy street near Syntagma Square and the room was ultra modern. But no problems. The room's sound proofing was more than adequate and after figuring out the mechanics of the shower, the room became very comfortable.

The best part of the stay was the staff, however. We arrived early in the morning and were checked into our room immediately. Recommendations for restaurants and requests for directions were given promptly and graciously. When we checked out at an awful hour - 4:00 am - there was coffee and breakfast items for us to take with us. The staff could not be more helpful and polite.

The hotel's restaurant was very good as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveofga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review as well as your kind comments. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and we are glad that we passed on this warm “New” feeling. We will share your kind words with the rest of our stuff and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!
Kind regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed at New Hotel for three nights in mid-October on our way to and from Santorini and had a very enjoyable stay there. We arrived into Athens late on a long trip from the US and were instantly made to feel welcome at New Hotel. Check-in was quick and painless. The decor is fabulous, gives the whole place a fun, whimsical spirit yet everything works well in practicality. Our room was clean, smelled nice and fresh, and very comfortable. Bed was perfect-soft sheets and comforter. They have motorized, switch controlled blackout shades, which are great for jetlag. The room size is pretty good for a city hotel- definitely enough space for two people. The shower is not very hot, so if you're the kind of person who likes steamy showers (like me), know that the water will not get hot enough to make the shower steamy. That would be my only complaint, but everything else met or exceeded our expectations to make up for it. The breakfasts came complimentary with the room, and they were so delicious. The hotel has it's own bakery, so every morning, we got fresh-baked croissants, bread, and pastries. Not only that, we had a whole buffet of items to choose from along with eggs and sausages. We would have stayed at the hotel just for the breakfasts, never mind the nice room and amazing staff. People there were so helpful- they provided us with a map of Athens and pointed out where to go. We brought a guidebook with us but found that we didn't need one with all the pointers we got from the concierge. They also reserved a dinner for us at Kuzina (which is very good, highly recommend) and made sure we had seats with a good view of the lit Acropolis at night. The location of the hotel is great: very close to Syntagma square where you can take the train to and from the airport, which is definitely convenient if you want to save money on cab fare. It's also a short walk away from the Plaka, Monestiraki (good shopping), the Acropolis, Temple of Olympian, Stadium, Tomb of the unknown soldier, etc. Basically, all of the tourist places you want to see in Athens, except for the national museum, is within walking distance of the hotel. And if there are places you want to go outside of that area in Athens, it's only a short few blocks to a train station. The nicest thing the hotel did for us, among all the other nice things they did, was pack a delicious breakfast for us to go when we had to leave for the airport at 4am. We got in the cab, opened the breakfast bags they made for us, and found a full meal of fruit, yogurt, pastries, juice, milk, etc. I don't think anybody could ask for better service than that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Guest,
The team of New Hotel and myself would like to thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens as well as your appreciating comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality as well as our services and location. It is always our pleasure to do our best in order to meet our valuable guests’ expectations and needs. We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

the perfect location to explore Athens. Friendly staff. Cool art. Excellent food. Comfortable and luxurious rooms. Highly recommended. Just off Syntagma Square, half way between the vibrant districts of Kolonaki and Monastiraki (so right on the edge of Plaka), the NEW Hotel is a great base from which to explore this vibrant city by day of by night.

Room Tip: side rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your stay at New Hotel and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We loved the atmosphere of the New Hotel. Many of the sites we wanted to see were within waling distance.The hotel restaurant was terrific. The chocolate croissants were the best I've had in a long time. What more could you ask of a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your vacation in Athens. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our accommodation, location as well our freshly baked veinnoiserie at our restaurant New Taste. On behalf of our staff and myself I would like to thank you for your kind comments and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,932 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £129 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Filellinon Street, next to Constitution Square (Syntagma Square), this contemporary design hotel, is perfectly positioned for the sights of Athens, including the ruins of Plaka, the Acropolis and its museum, the stylish boutique shopping district of Kolonaki, and the bustling business zone. Situated in the former Olympic Palace Hotel, New Hotel encompasses the heritage of its past by using recycled parts of the old hotel and reinterpreted local materials to create a complete work of art, where outstanding interiors, unusual custom-made furniture and handmade fixtures make guests feel that they live and breathe in a major art installation. Offering an entirely NEW approach this 79-room and suites establishment, is one of the city’s finest examples of modernist architecture and the first ever hotel project of award designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing