We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay, wish it was longer”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #11 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, wish it was longer”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Spent one night here before a cruise. First of all, I was worried since we were arriving on day one of a two day strike. But let me tell everyone, don't worry. Yes, there are no taxis or trains and busses but the hotel arranged a car to pick us up at the airport. And the air traffic controllers usually strike from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. so plan accordingly (or expect a short delay). Got to the hotel easily and was welcomed the the great staff. As everyone else has remarked, the decor is funky, modern with cool lighting - I liked it very much. And the location is great but note, even with new windows, there is some noise (but you expect that in a city). Don't expect perfect quiet.
Also loved the cool motorized window shades. Being two blocks from Syntagma there was no disturbance from any protesters and the staff says it has never been affected. Don't be worried. Even on strike days, most stores and restaurants are open. Also, the Acropolis was open and the new museum (privately run) never closes. Go to Greece. This was my third time to Athens and found early November to be great with cooler temperatures and less crowds.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DpwSrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind review. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and we are glad that we passed on this warm “New” feeling. We will share your kind comments with the rest of our staff and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!
Kind regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    360
    53
    15
    10
See reviews for
212
746
68
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed at the New Hotel for two nights in late August.
The hotel has a great design using materials from the old hotel that use to be there.Lovely rooms, clean, great breakfast. Service is impeccable. Every member of staff was friendly and willing to help in any question or advice you want for Athens.
A hotel we are going to visit. You have a sense of design and modern art?
You are an artician? New Hotel at Athens city is the place to stay. Can not wait to make a revisit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittanykel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your kind review. We are pleased that the New Hotel met your expectation on both design and location. We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit to Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this gorgeous hotel in June and October. The original place was old hotel and the made it to be a boutique hotel and it turned out to be beautiful and yet kept some originality. Many chairs in the rooms and lobby and hall way were kept from old hotel and recovered or reformed. That I think it's meaningful and moder. All the decoration in the lobby and the restaurant is made from old furnitures in the hotel and its so magnificent. Unique atmosphere and fun, good location? Definitely New hotel. I fully recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junbug1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind review. Such positive comments of appreciation are the best reward to keep us motivated. We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I don't think I've ever had a more pleasant hotel experience. I visited for 4 nights in November - my first visit ever to Athens. The location was perfectly situated to experience the Plaka Syntagma Square, Monastraki, and Kolanaki neighborhoods - all worth visiting and each full of life with cafes, restaurants, and people. The metro/subway was just a few blocks away and I rode that nearly a dozen times. It was the cleanest subway I've ever encountered. My room was ultra-modern and immaculate with floor-to-celing windows, black-out shades, a balcony overlooking a church and palm trees, and a flat-screen TV. The design of the entire hotel is interesting, sharp, and unique. And while it is exceedingly modern, the entire space is warm and inviting. It even smells good! But more than anything, I have to say that the staff at this hotel are like nothing I've ever experienced before. Every staff member we encountered went out of their way to make our stay special. They were incredibly attentive, kind, and took the time to remember every last detail - from remembering what we enjoyed for breakfast the day before to when our flight was leaving so they could prepare a breakfast box for our departure. I was dumbfounded by their hospitality. This hotel defied all of my expectations, as did Athens, which was a remarkably clean and friendly city. Amazing place in every way. Shawn from New York City, USA

Room Tip: Some of the rooms facing the street may be noisy but the black-out shades and the sound-proof floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your kind review as well as your appreciative comments. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and we are glad that we passed on this warm “New” feeling. Our perfume is custom made just for our Yes Hotels group and we are pleased that you considered it as an extra value to our services. We will share your kind words with the rest of our stuff and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again in the near future!
Kind regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE AND very good furnishings/finishings. I am 6'7" - the beds not only fit me, but were comfortable. The shower was super cool, with a door that swung 45 degrees as a door to the toilet, another 45 degrees be be the door of the shower - this type of cool design throughout. Bamboo wood floors even in shower, with an infinity like floor hiding the drain. AMAZING european/american buffet included, the quality of the food and service were both exceptional. the only critique of this hotel is that it's a little noisy, but that is to be expected anywhere in a city center - this hotel really made our Athens visit, I cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: We had a fish eye room and loved it, highly recommend, do request a higher floor, and a quieter room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, our design as well as our bedding experience. Our restaurant New Taste offers fresh homemade viennoiserie as well as a selection of buffet choices. Reviews such as yours motivated us to offer our outmost to our valuable guests. The hotel team and myself would like to thank you and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit to Athens.

Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel a couple of nights between visiting family and starting our "official" vacation. All I have to say is WOW... We have stayed to another Yes Hotels property in the past (Periscope in Kolonaki) but this property and its amazing staff impressed my so much that I thought it was worth writing about it.

Funky, corky, whimsical, like it or not ... the hotel's design is the most unique I've experienced in a hotel and although at first it seems random, after a our first night there it became clear that every detail was thought through with care. There's definitely method to the architects'/designers' "madness"!

The service was the best I have received while staying in a hotel in Greece. All staff was personable, always present and ready to assist, but never intrusive.

Its location is a big advantage. It is located in the outskirts of Plaka (the "old" Athens district) and only a couple of blocks from the Parliament and Constitution Square, which may be a good or a bad thing depending on whether any protests are taking place (we had no problems during our stay). Visiting some of the major archaeological (Acropolis, new Acropolis museum, temple of Olympic Zeus, roman market, etc) is a short walk. Finding amazing restos also a breeze. Finally, it provides very easy access to transportation to and from the airport. The only problem we had was getting to the front door of the hotel on our way there. The entrance is on an one-way side street which took quite a bit of navigating to get to.

We also found it to be a good value, considering our rate included breakfast, which to our surprise went beyond the typical "continental" type cold-cuts and pastries -it included eggs done any style you wanted and espresso-based coffees. Speaking of espresso-based coffee, I had the best latte anywhere in the world. It was absolutely fantastic!

The rooms were very clean and although the hotel was fully booked there was almost no noise coming from other rooms or from the street for that matter, which is pretty amazing considering how busy they are (and we were only on the second floor). So A+ to its soundproofing as well. The only issue we had was that our room was facing towards the rather narrow side-street which resulted to a bit of privacy issue because of its proximity to the building across the street, which forced us to keep our blind down most of the time we were in the room (which wasn't that much). I imagine that room facing Filellinon Street don't have this problem because the street is a bit wider and there is a small church across from the hotel. Anyway, I wouldn't stay in this hotel for the view, since most of the rooms wouldn't have any.

We loved Periscope, but I think we found our new favourite hotel to stay while in Athens.

Thank you New Hotel! We will be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review as well as your kind comments. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, location as well as our homemade breakfast and freshly brewed coffee at our restaurant New Taste. We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Fabulous location, funky design and great service. Only element is that a lot of the taxis don't know it yet, so best to say Hard Rock Cafe. The service was impeccable. Breakfast was the only slight let-down but only slight. The rooms are very funky but user friendly.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise ask for a room away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smm2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your vacation in Athens. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and will be our pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,914 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing