We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #8 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We spent 4 nights in the New Hotel from April 6-10. We flew from Rome and were able to go directly to the hotel on the E95 bus from the airport, which stops at Syntagma square. That's about 3 blocks from the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel, our room was available. I had requested a queen or king bed on an upper floor with a view, and they did the best they could to accommodate us. We were on the 5th floor in a corner room, with a small view of the mountains. The terrace was nice, as was everything about this new spotlessly clean hotel. I am very picky about hotel rooms, and felt comfortable right away in this room. The New Hotel is first class all the way, with comfortable beds, high quality linens, wood floors, interesting design and a fabulous breakfast. Every day we had delicious Greek yogurt, fresh sweet rolls, fruit, and eggs with tomatoes and mushrooms or an omelette. The orange juice tasted like fresh-squeezed.We also ordered lattes from the espresso bar. The location was perfect, walking distance to the Plaka, Monastiraki, the Acropolis and its museum, and Kolonaki. We are walkers, and enjoyed going everywhere on foot, but there is also a metro stop at Syntagma square, which can take you to the Acropolis Museum.

The service at the hotel is impeccable. Housekeeping occurred twice daily, with turndown service in the evening. On our last day we rented a car to drive to Nafplion and environs, and my husband had to park it in front of a parking lot. The parking lot owner was far from happy, and the doorman from the hotel had a shouting match with him while we hurriedly loaded the car. Our only regret was that in our hurry we neglected to tip the doorman!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from busy Fillenon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ibawaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Guest,
The team of New Hotel would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review. It is comments like yours that encourage us to offer our outmost to our valuable guests. On behalf of our staff would like to thank you for your encouraging words and we look forward to offer you our services upon your next visit in Athens – then you can get the opportunity to visit out brand new Art lounge on the terrace of the 7th floor, with a breathtaking 360o view of the whole city.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

The old Olimpic Place has really undergone complete change! The New Hotel has been born from scratch thanks to investors and design icons Fernando and Humberto Campana.
Design is fantastic but New Hotel will capture you moreover with all the values it creates for the guests. Location, Service and Room rates are all designed to deliver best value.New Hotel is just in the heart of Athens,close to Plaka,Monastraki,Psiri,Akropolis and National Gardens.Hotel staff is very well trained, you will really fell comfortable.During our three day stay every gesture hotel staff made or the way they approach you make you feel that there some thing 'New' in this hotel. They call their style Young,Energetic and Seductive but don't worry if you are middle age or mature you will feel YES! And all of this at reasonable room rates!What could one expect more?
ps.:Details of design will make you excited once you checked into your room and start to discover!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Church opposite the street are a bit noisy:) No way to avoid Sunday morning bells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ridvan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review as well as your kind comments. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and make New Hotel a pleasant experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your three day vacation with us and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again in the near future. On behalf of our team we thank you once more and we remain at your services.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Athens New-Hotel is realy a very good one. It is located at the heart of the turistic area of Athens. Hotel stuff is very kind and wel-trained. Rooms are elegant, comfortable and clean. Restaurant is Ok. The hotel has no facilities other than rooms and a small restaurant, so it is good for sleeping only. We will come back to the ״New״, but we will not take our kids there.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inbarml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and make New Hotel a pleasant experience.
The hotel team and myself would like to thank you and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again in our premises where you can enjoy a spa treatment at our wellness center New Sense or enjoy exercising at our Gym.

Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We started off our Greek trip in Athens for 3 days and it was off to a great start by staying at this hotel...after 2 weeks travelling in Athens, Santorini & Mykonos I can honestly say the service, quality of rooms, breakfast food & location all contributed to a great experience. We did not experience this level of comfort or service at Santorini or Mykonos.

It is well located and within walking distance, as it is close to Syntagma Square, Plaka and Acropolis. It was easy to flag down taxis at the front of the hotel.

The rooms weren't huge, but were extremely clean, modern furnishings and had fun quirky decors. The beds were quite comfortable, as I don't mind soft mattresses and pillows. Free wifi within the rooms were a plus also.

We enjoyed starting the day with a delicious breakfast at the restaurant downstairs on the ground floor...offering delicious, tasty bakery products, cooked omelets to your preference, fresh juices and decent coffees.

The staff onsite were attentive and extremely helpful with the best restaurant suggestions nearby or local tours on offer. I would not hesitate to return to the New Hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALM868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality and services. Our restaurant New Taste aims to serve our guests high quality food using fresh ingredients always with a smile. On behalf of our staff we would like to thank you once more and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you soon upon your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had the delightful opportunity to spend 3 nights at this hotel 2 weeks ago. We booked our trip including air travel through British Airways City Breaks. This hotel lived up to its promises. The staff were available and attentive. The breakfast was fantastic and the location could not be beat. We would return in a heart beat. I am always pleased to be at a hotel where the entire staff is on board with being attentive to their guests. The customer service at this hotel was second to none!

Room Tip: We were next to the Hard Rock Cafe and I have to say it was a bit noisy on Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, location and our homemade breakfast at our restaurant New Taste. On behalf of our staff we would like to thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back upon your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Our stay in this hotel was one of the good experience we had in athens. Location is perfect right in the heart of athens, nearby is plaka, where there are lots of restaurants and shopping to choose from, syntagma sq. we're you can take the user friendly subway. Acropolis is also walking distance if you need exercise after a hearty buffet breakfast which was well served by the friendly staff. Every staff were all professional in their assigned job, no complaints, they made us feel special all the time, all our needs were addressed immediately in a very professional and courteous way. My only complaint is very minor, it's about the layout of our room, I guess I'm still old fashion, I missed the sink in the bathroom. Also the door to the shower and bathroom is shared, so when someone is using the shower room, your're left without a door, our room was set up that the bathroom is facing the big glass wall facing the balcony, and if you forget to close the drapes, you'll have a free show for the office across the street, also another chair will be much appreciated in the room. Putting makeup on the desk using the mirror is also challenging, awkwardly position, suggest you use the mirror over the outside sink. After the 1st day we got used to the layout and everything went well. I loved the fruit tray in the lobby were you can grab an apple or peach on your way to the elevator, drinking water is also an available treat in the lobby after a long walk from outside. Cleanliness and comfort and space were our priorities anyway, the location as well. I will surely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrspjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review. We would like to thank you for your kind preference towards New Hotel. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and we are glad that we passed on this warm “New” feeling. We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff and we will be more than happy to have you as our guest on your next visit in Athens.
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This boutique hotel lived up to all our expectations as per TripAdvisor’s #2 rating and surpassed it when it came to service. This management team pays great attention to the details which makes such a big difference in creating this one-of-a-kind place to stay for a few days.

The designers of the hotel innovatively combined remnants of the hotel’s renovation, like antique light fixtures, chairs, and wooden pieces of furniture, with hammered metals and irregular shaped mirrors and sinks. From the moment we walked in there was a difference that took in all of our senses. It began with the cleverly covered chairs and ‘furniture’ walls; to a scent that permeates the hotel, like a soap caressing your nose; then the lovely little baked goods while you wait a moment to check in…and any music that is played in the restaurant or elevator is very gentle. And it only gets better because dealing with the staff is a pleasure.

We stayed in a room that didn’t offer 'a view', which was not important to us, but offered more living space with a couch to watch TV or talk away from the sleeping area. The rooms have a most ingenious design for the toilet/shower area that really works far better than I anticipated. My only inconveniences were having a sink space on one side of the sink for toiletries rather than on two sides…and not having a reading light near the couch. But, this hotel has very large shower towels, terrycloth bath robes & slippers along with very fragrant shower amenities…and a great kingsize bed with wonderful pillows, sheets and covering for a very fine sleep every night.

When I went downstairs to the business center to print out my boarding pass I was so surprised to see this amazing work space in a windowless area that still felt comfortable. And when we went to the 7th floor, the top floor of the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised by the view, along with the phenomenal décor.

For us, most important to having a great time is location and The New Hotel is perfectly situated. We put our walking shoes on and were able to see all that really mattered in Athens: The Acropolis, The Olympieion and Acropolis Museum; The National Gardens, Zappeion Exhibition & Congress Hall, Hadrian’s Arch & Temple of Olympian Zeus; The Parliament; The Jewish Museum; All the busy shopping streets south, in Plaka; north to the city centre, Omonia; east to Kolonaki neighborhood and west to Monastiraki and Thissio…and take a tourist street trolley @ Syntagma Square or a tourist Happy Train @ the corner of Ermou for 6 Euros on your first day to get an overview.

Not to be forgotten is the breakfast buffet, which was great. More than you'll need to keep you going until a light snack around 4:00 and then dinner @ 8:00.

Here are 2 special restaurants we recommend for fabulous home cooked Greek @ very fair prices: ‘Paradosiako’ @ Apollonous #4, (off Nikis, only 3 blocks or so from hotel) and ‘Tavern Mpakaliarakia Damigos’ only 6-7 blocks into Plaka, on Kidathineon # 41, down a few steps.

Room Tip: If you don't care about a view and want quiet and more space with a sitting area, book rooms tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanSuzanneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review. We are glad that you enjoyed every moment of your stay at New Hotel as well as our bedding experience. Our scent and music is custom made especially for our five hotels that are all located in the Athens area. Receiving such positive comments as yours encourages us to offer our outmost. On behalf of our team would like to thank you and we will be delighted to accommodate you soon upon your next visit to Athens.
Kind regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,742 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,941 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £132 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Filellinon Street, next to Constitution Square (Syntagma Square), this contemporary design hotel, is perfectly positioned for the sights of Athens, including the ruins of Plaka, the Acropolis and its museum, the stylish boutique shopping district of Kolonaki, and the bustling business zone. Situated in the former Olympic Palace Hotel, New Hotel encompasses the heritage of its past by using recycled parts of the old hotel and reinterpreted local materials to create a complete work of art, where outstanding interiors, unusual custom-made furniture and handmade fixtures make guests feel that they live and breathe in a major art installation. Offering an entirely NEW approach this 79-room and suites establishment, is one of the city’s finest examples of modernist architecture and the first ever hotel project of award designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing