We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in the city centre”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #8 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We only spent three nights at New Hotel but we definitely wish it was more! From arrival to our check out, every staff member was friendly, attentive and incredibly helpful. It is in the perfect location for sightseeing as well as transport options, only two blocks from the main square and no more than a few minutes around the corner from Hadrian's gate. Breakfast was incredibly fresh and delicious - could not get enough of the pastries! Would highly recommend. Rooftop bar serves great cocktails too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucedelsole365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New hotel during your short vacation in Athens. It is appreciative comments like yours that motivate us to offer our outmost to our valuable guests. Once again we thank you and we would love to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

970 - 976 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel has a definite wow factor. Our room was beautiful, spacious and with a very comfortable bed. Very modern, great bathroom too. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made for a relaxing stay. Rooftop bar has good views and a collection of art books if there's time to chill. It is centrally located, near to all the main tourist sights and metro. Only slight downside is traffic noise - we were on the first floor fronting on to Filellinon Street. Nice view but it is a busy road and we imagine rooms higher up might be quieter. All the same, we would definitely stay again. Great quality and good value.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor (104) was large and very comfortable (and with a nice view out on Filell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoppyTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New hotel during your stay in Athens. It gives us great pleasure to know that you had the opportunity to visit our New Art Lounge restaurant at the rooftop. On behalf of our staff we thank you and we would love to welcome you back on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I recently spent 11 nights at the New Hotel, 6 in May and 5 at the end of June. Both were studio rooms, 604 and 601. Both were very nice; 604 having a fantasticly large bathroom and 601 a smaller bathroom but perfectly adequate and more sitting space and a quieter room.

The hotel facilities were excellent, as were the staff who were happy to leave the choice of room for my second visit with me after looking at the alternatives. The location of the hotel is central to the main sights, and within easy walking distance to the Benaki and Cycladic Art Museum.

I dined 4 times in the New Restaurant and had 3 good meals there. The only non-positive comment I have regarding this hotel is regarding the breakfast service which was a little bit hit and miss. Other than the cake, there is little variety of choice with the same menu each day. However, what was provided was pretty good.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, funky with the mosty confortable beds I have experienced in Greece.

I had been looking forward to visitng this hotel for almost 12 months and I wasn't disappointed. I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked good, but the studio roomes are bigger (and more expensive). The junior sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann255066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your detailed review and your experience during your stay at New Hotel. We believe in personalized service for each and every one of our guests. Receiving such positive comments as yours encourages us to offer our outmost .We will be delighted to accommodate you again in the near future!
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

After traveling through Greece, it was nice to finally settle into a Western hotel, with CNN, great shower, hair dryer, truly comfortable bed and very "NEW" amenities. Multiple electrical outlets, great wi fi and of course the most creative design I have seen in a hotel in years. Supposedly designed by post Architecture majors this hotel is truly a one of a kind and really a five star experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTrav1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your kind review .Such encouraging comments motive us to keep improving and offer our outmost to our valuable guests. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, services and design. Once again we thank you and we would love to have you as our guest upon your next visit to Athens.
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The New Hotel is a perfect hotel to stay while in Athens. It is in the great location with awesome views from the top floor restaurant and bar. My daughter is an art history major and found incredible pieces of art in every nook and cranny and an envious art book collection. Our room was spotlessly clean and housekeeping accomodating. High quality. Breakfast was more than "continental"-varied and fresh. We had afternoon snacks and dinner at both the bar and restaurant and everything was perfect. Staff throughout the hotel catered to us and our needs. Thanks to the New Hotel staff for making our Athen's stay memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pengel8200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind review as well as your encouraging comments. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, location and our homemade breakfast at our restaurant New Taste. We are glad that you and your family appreciated our selection of New Art as well as our book art selection. On behalf of our staff would like to thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights on way to skiathos and 1 night on way back. located in old town with lovely cocktail bar close by.Great welcome and tasty little baked treats in reception and chilled water on arrival. Imaginative design all over..great thought involved. Mattress the softest and best Ive slept on. huge beds.breakfast 17e continental but good. wifi thruout. rooftop bar is very cool but on both occasions found staff a little snooty in bar unlike the rest of staff...dublin prices. I will defo come back here and will recommend to all friends. Room was pricier on second stay...room a bit bigger but not worth the extra 50e a night

Room Tip: standard rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality as well as our bedding experience. We shall share your kind comments with the rest of our staff and we will be more than happy to have you as our guest on your next visit in Athens.
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a lovely quirky boutique hotel at the edge of the Plaka District. I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights, and absolutely loved the experience! My room was so smartly furnished, in a beautiful contemporary style, and was very functional. I loved being in the hotel room. The service in the hotel is outstanding -- they answered all my questions and organized whatever I needed. It was a wonderful stay. The location is also great -- walking distance to all major attractions in Athens, and to many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulka56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens as well as your kind comments. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, location and services. On behalf of our staff would like to thank you and we would love to welcome you back to New Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,205 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,893 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £98 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Filellinon Street, next to Constitution Square (Syntagma Square), this contemporary design hotel, is perfectly positioned for the sights of Athens, including the ruins of Plaka, the Acropolis and its museum, the stylish boutique shopping district of Kolonaki, and the bustling business zone. Situated in the former Olympic Palace Hotel, New Hotel encompasses the heritage of its past by using recycled parts of the old hotel and reinterpreted local materials to create a complete work of art, where outstanding interiors, unusual custom-made furniture and handmade fixtures make guests feel that they live and breathe in a major art installation. Offering an entirely NEW approach this 79-room and suites establishment, is one of the city’s finest examples of modernist architecture and the first ever hotel project of award designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing