We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, clean, modern hotel in a convenient location - a bit noisy”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #8 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights in late June. The hotel is top notch, really luxurious. Breakfast is awesome! Reception was a bit cold when we arrived but the folks at the desk warmed up later on. The ladies seemed so much more welcoming than the gents at the front desk.

We were rudely awakened by a very discordant clanging of bells at the Orthodox church that is right next door. Admittedly it was at 7:30 am, but we had arrived late night and would have liked to have slept in. We were on the second floor and could hear the street noise, but not enough for it to bother us or keep us awake. Might be an issue for light sleepers, though, so I would recommend asking for a higher floor if it is available.

The location is very convenient and we had a nice walk to the Acropolis.

Overall, would recommend the hotel, if you can afford the price which is way up there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New hotel during your stay in Athens. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to our valuable guests and make your stay at New a pleasant one. The hotel team and myself would like to thank you and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future !

Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the New Hotel in July 2013 with our 9 year old son. It's a newly renovated hotel with an interesting design, and staff trying hard on customer service. The room was quite small for a studio but was clean and well appointed. The major issue with the hotel room we had was street noise. The hotel has opening sliding doors to balconies - this is nice but lets a lot of traffic noise in and being on a busy street was VERY loud, including major roadworks from 7am on a Sunday morning. Windows and doors do not appear to be double glazed - without this problem we would have scored this hotel much more highly. Staff were helpful and pleasant and breakfast in the hotel was pretty good. Location is excellent right on the edge of Plaka, with many shops and restaurants within a 1 or 2 minute walk. Staff were helpful on the last day when I needed private access to computers to deal with a personal matter.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yoyo2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at New. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our location and facilities. Please allow us to kindly mention that doors and windows are double glazed but when opened street noise may be more noticeable. Furthermore there are more quiet rooms facing the back street. We shall share your appreciative comments with our team. We hope to have the pleasure to have you as our guest in the near future.
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at the New Hotel for two nights prior to our embarking on our Seabourn Cruise. This extraordinary hotel was an absolute complement to the six star cruise line. The staff was exceptionally friendly and greeted us by name whenever we came back from site seeing. The restaurant downstairs provided us with a wonderful breakfast in the morning and cocktails in the evening before going to up to the roof top lounge/restaurant for a nighttime view of the city. The room was contemporary and well thought out in its layout, unlike any room we've stayed in before. We found it to be most comfortable. Above all location, location, location: it's within walking distance of all the famous sites. When our next cruise begins in Athens, we will again begin our six star vacation at the New Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsFeb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review regarding both our accommodation and staff. We are glad that your experience at New Hotel was as pleasant and added up to your luxury vacation. We shall share your encouraging comments with our team. We will be delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the New Hotel for a total of three nights in June 2013. Flying in and out of Athens, we stayed there on both ends of a 10 days vacation in Greece so we were in two different rooms. In both cases, we found the hotel to be excellent. The rooms are small but very well appointed and extremely clean and neat. Everything appears to be very new. Very nice, clean bathroom with an excellent shower. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotels beds I've ever slept in (and I've slept in a lot of hotel beds). The only criticism we had of the room is that there is no comfortable chair to sit in. There is a small desk chair but otherwise you have to sit on the bed. Not a big deal for a short stay. The location couldn't be better. It is located right in the Plaka and just a couple blocks from the foot of the Acropolis. The hotel is on a fairly busy street so there is street noise but the windows seal very well and we were not bothered by sounds from the outside at all. The first time stayed in a room on the 2nd floor and the second time we were on the 6th floor. The higher floors on the street side have a very nice view of Lycabettus Hill. When we return to Athens we will definitely stay at the New Hotel again. Can't imagine a better place.

Room Tip: Some higher rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrlandoFLTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your detailed review as well as your appreciative comments. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to our valuable guests and make your stay at New a pleasant experience. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, location and our bedding comfort. On behalf of our team would like to thank you and we would love to welcome you back upon your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We only spent three nights at New Hotel but we definitely wish it was more! From arrival to our check out, every staff member was friendly, attentive and incredibly helpful. It is in the perfect location for sightseeing as well as transport options, only two blocks from the main square and no more than a few minutes around the corner from Hadrian's gate. Breakfast was incredibly fresh and delicious - could not get enough of the pastries! Would highly recommend. Rooftop bar serves great cocktails too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucedelsole365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New hotel during your short vacation in Athens. It is appreciative comments like yours that motivate us to offer our outmost to our valuable guests. Once again we thank you and we would love to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel has a definite wow factor. Our room was beautiful, spacious and with a very comfortable bed. Very modern, great bathroom too. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made for a relaxing stay. Rooftop bar has good views and a collection of art books if there's time to chill. It is centrally located, near to all the main tourist sights and metro. Only slight downside is traffic noise - we were on the first floor fronting on to Filellinon Street. Nice view but it is a busy road and we imagine rooms higher up might be quieter. All the same, we would definitely stay again. Great quality and good value.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor (104) was large and very comfortable (and with a nice view out on Filell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoppyTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New hotel during your stay in Athens. It gives us great pleasure to know that you had the opportunity to visit our New Art Lounge restaurant at the rooftop. On behalf of our staff we thank you and we would love to welcome you back on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I recently spent 11 nights at the New Hotel, 6 in May and 5 at the end of June. Both were studio rooms, 604 and 601. Both were very nice; 604 having a fantasticly large bathroom and 601 a smaller bathroom but perfectly adequate and more sitting space and a quieter room.

The hotel facilities were excellent, as were the staff who were happy to leave the choice of room for my second visit with me after looking at the alternatives. The location of the hotel is central to the main sights, and within easy walking distance to the Benaki and Cycladic Art Museum.

I dined 4 times in the New Restaurant and had 3 good meals there. The only non-positive comment I have regarding this hotel is regarding the breakfast service which was a little bit hit and miss. Other than the cake, there is little variety of choice with the same menu each day. However, what was provided was pretty good.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, funky with the mosty confortable beds I have experienced in Greece.

I had been looking forward to visitng this hotel for almost 12 months and I wasn't disappointed. I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked good, but the studio roomes are bigger (and more expensive). The junior sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann255066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your detailed review and your experience during your stay at New Hotel. We believe in personalized service for each and every one of our guests. Receiving such positive comments as yours encourages us to offer our outmost .We will be delighted to accommodate you again in the near future!
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,931 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £129 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Filellinon Street, next to Constitution Square (Syntagma Square), this contemporary design hotel, is perfectly positioned for the sights of Athens, including the ruins of Plaka, the Acropolis and its museum, the stylish boutique shopping district of Kolonaki, and the bustling business zone. Situated in the former Olympic Palace Hotel, New Hotel encompasses the heritage of its past by using recycled parts of the old hotel and reinterpreted local materials to create a complete work of art, where outstanding interiors, unusual custom-made furniture and handmade fixtures make guests feel that they live and breathe in a major art installation. Offering an entirely NEW approach this 79-room and suites establishment, is one of the city’s finest examples of modernist architecture and the first ever hotel project of award designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing