We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique hotel in Athens”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #8 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here one day at the end of a two week trip with our kids. Loved the modern rooms and the cool lobby. Great breakfast in the morning and perfect location - walking distance to the Acropolis and Syntagma Square. Wonderful service from the front desk as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kristen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 933 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We booked this hotel for 8 nights based on the TripAdvisor recommendations. And it was one of the better hotels that we have enjoyed in our many travels. The lobby is not particularly impressive although the hotel does have unique design elements. But the staff is welcoming and helpful. We were upgraded to a studio room when we checked in. The room was spacious, the beds comfortable, the wood floors and woodpanelling (even in the shower) impressive, the air-conditioning fully functional... Many hotel gyms are substandard but the gym here was nice (and again, cool, which is important in Athens in summer). The breakfast buffet was good (although not quite up to what we typically see in Asian hotels). The terrace lounge has a great view of the Acropolis, although it's rather expensive. Chocolates every night with the turndown service and sweets and fruits always available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sojourn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed two nights in this welcoming artistic boutique hotel. What a warm welcoming experience. This was the last two nights of our 3 week Mediterranean trip and we were very pleased with the warm inviting welcome ...we arrived early and were able to check in when we arrived. Check-in was comfortable and supportive in everyday. We were always met by friendly hotel staff each day and our room was fabulous.
Thank you New Hotel! We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great location in Athens, walking distance to the old sites and historic locations. Next to a park and many restaurants. Excellent service from the front desk, really friendly and attentive people. The room was very nice and clean. Interior design is impressive. Got a tip for a terrace garden restaurant next to the acropolis, fantastic, must do in Athens.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacha251276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I cannot recommend the New Hotel enough for those visiting Athens. It is probably the best hotel I think I have ever stayed at.

Many others have commented on the decor so I wont go into that, but some of the other selling points include:
- Sound proof rooms: often difficult to get in hotels in European cities
- Great Central Location: 2-3 minute walk from main city square where bus goes directly to airport
- Fantastic breakfasts: the hotel actually has their own pastry chef
- Terrace: overlooking Acropolis and good for an evening drink
- Functional Gym: The best gym I have ever seen in a hotel with machines that actually work
- Staff: always really helpful and friendly
- Clean

I actually cannot think of any negatives regarding this hotel except for perhaps not having a pool although if you are only staying a few days you are likely to be too busy sight seeing anyway.

It's a shame there isn't a 'New Hotel' in every city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cass_Reece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

It does not get any better than this hotel -- I wish that it was in a city that I got to more often!
It's that good!
Staff are amazing, check in simple and friendly (one of the few instances in Greece where we felt welcome) rooms gorgeous and so well appointed and the location close to Plaka and The Acropolis was superb
Breakfast was lovely and imaginative
We had only one day in Athens and this hotel was the anchor for a magical day
Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerryharrismail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Easy stroll to the Acropolis/Plaka/Syntagma Square. Perfect location if you're going to explore Athens for a day or two. The room was really nice: new, clean, living space and bathroom, lovely balcony. Free wifi worked well. The breakfast was good. Not too exciting: a buffet with fried eggs if you wanted them. The staff we encountered were friendly, from the concierge to the waitstaff. The upstairs restaurant on the roof has a money maker view of the Acropolis. Definitely a great place to unwind. We did encounter a dud employee up there who acted like we were an imposition, but everyone else was so very nice...Finally, the hotel has a small spa. The massage I had was sublime. It was a perfect way to end the vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,202 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,890 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £129 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Filellinon Street, next to Constitution Square (Syntagma Square), this contemporary design hotel, is perfectly positioned for the sights of Athens, including the ruins of Plaka, the Acropolis and its museum, the stylish boutique shopping district of Kolonaki, and the bustling business zone. Situated in the former Olympic Palace Hotel, New Hotel encompasses the heritage of its past by using recycled parts of the old hotel and reinterpreted local materials to create a complete work of art, where outstanding interiors, unusual custom-made furniture and handmade fixtures make guests feel that they live and breathe in a major art installation. Offering an entirely NEW approach this 79-room and suites establishment, is one of the city’s finest examples of modernist architecture and the first ever hotel project of award designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing