We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #8 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed for 5 nights at the hotel and everything was fantastic. Great location in the city center, great room services, great room deco and facilities, great breakfast....Though my cost was covered by a third party, I'd say the hotel is worth the pricing!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a brilliant view of the whole city and Acropolis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huizhi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind review as well as your appreciative words. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our location, room facilities and our homemade breakfast at our restaurant New Taste. Once again we thank you and it we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

The New Hotel is in a nearly ideal location if you are in Athens for a few days to see the historic sites. We walked the two blocks from the train station the night we arrived, and at the time the neighborhood looked a little sketchy. By daylight, we saw that most of Athens looks a little sketchy but the neighborhood is safe and easy walk to vibrant sections with many restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: The is a new hotel. I doubt they have any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry_from_San_Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent 5 nights at the New Hotel and could not have been happier! The service was way beyond our expectations, Food was excellent and the view from the Roof Top bar of the city and Acropolis at night were beautiful!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tp041588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New hotel during your vacation in Athens. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, services and both our restaurants. On behalf of our team we thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We really aced our hotel selections this holiday. This was another 5 star hotel in our view – the room was awesome and the service excellent.

Pros
- The location is unbelievable. It is a 2 minute walk to Plaka, 3 minutes to the station and the metro museum (yes there is a museum in the metro station) and Parliament, 5 minutes to Hadrian’s Arch and the monument for Zeus and about 10 minutes to the Acropolis and associated museum
- The hotel’s interior is exceptionally designed. The rooms are perfect with large comfortable beds and pillows
- It was wonderful coming back to the hotel in the evening after a hard day’s sightseeing to find the bed turned down and chocolates on our pillows
- Breakfast was perfect as they bake bread and pastries on site. So whilst there are the usual deli meats and cheeses, hot meats and eggs (cooked to order) – the breads and pastries are superb!
- Going to the rooftop lounge for a drink was an brilliant way to finish the day and the view is incredible
- All of the staff are warm and helpful
- Swipe entry cards for the lift and rooms are a great idea and extremely convenient

Cons
None. This is an outstanding hotel that I can’t recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: We had a superior room on the second top floor facing the street. It was quiet, large, comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eurofriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two nights and service was phenomenal. I had a room with a balcony facing the street but it was fairly quiet. It was spacious and toiletries were all good. A free bottled water in the room. I used the fitness centre once and they have fairly good selection of cardio machines and weights. It is a boutique hotel, and I really like the interior design. My room stay per night came with breakfast and was sumptuous, cappuccino was included and eggs made to order. There is a rooftop restaurant but if you are looking to see the Acropolis at night, this is not the place. The location was great where shops and restaurants are within walking distance. I definitely recommend this hotel. Free Wifi in the room. Turn down service with chocolates.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yorkiebax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your kind review as well as your appreciative words. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, services , wellness center and our homemade breakfast at our restaurant New Taste. On behalf of our staff we would like to thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We visited Athens for 48 hours! The main reason we visited Athens was to go to The Acropolis Museum, Acropolis, Monastiraki, Megaro Mousikis, Kolonaki, Syntagma. The New hotel is at the excellent location to visit all these places on foot! Moreover, it was very clean, amazing modern design with authentic traditional greek element and impressively nice breakfast. A true refreshing experience. Love it

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StefFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your appreciative review. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, location, design and services. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to our valuable guests and make your stay at New a pleasant one. The hotel team and myself would like to thank you and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future !
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Great service and nicely decorated.
We arrived at 2am and were welcomed with a nice little cake and fruit as well an sparkling water,
Room was clean and comfortable, the bed and bathroom first class.
And not to mention the front and bellboy,very kind.
We will ecommendi it to anyone visiting Athens.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ricardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your appreciative review. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, services and bedding experience. On behalf of our team we thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,200 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,880 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £125 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Filellinon Street, next to Constitution Square (Syntagma Square), this contemporary design hotel, is perfectly positioned for the sights of Athens, including the ruins of Plaka, the Acropolis and its museum, the stylish boutique shopping district of Kolonaki, and the bustling business zone. Situated in the former Olympic Palace Hotel, New Hotel encompasses the heritage of its past by using recycled parts of the old hotel and reinterpreted local materials to create a complete work of art, where outstanding interiors, unusual custom-made furniture and handmade fixtures make guests feel that they live and breathe in a major art installation. Offering an entirely NEW approach this 79-room and suites establishment, is one of the city’s finest examples of modernist architecture and the first ever hotel project of award designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing