We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i love NEW”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #12 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“i love NEW”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

this is like my second home. funky, practical, stylish, great service, great food, best downtown location. thumbs up for NEW! roof top restaurant magica for a drink at the bar or the terrace. worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cleopatra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our team we thank you for showing your preference towards New. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to our guests and we are glad that we are able to pass on this warm feeling to each and every one of your stays. We thank you and we would love to have you as our guests again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    377
    57
    16
    12
See reviews for
231
773
70
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
camberley
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Hotel located right in the centre. From arriving the service was great, very friendly and helpful. Room was lovely, very trendy with balcony. Spot on. Only comment was breakfast was disappointing for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waggers999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We get so impressed with the excellence of the New Hotel: location, cleanliness, functional, value, breakfast very yummy, design, space, sleep quality and services… all: 10/10. We will be back in the future for sure and also recommend the place for our friends.

Room Tip: The corner and top: great view and quite (612)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LuckiestCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time for sharing with us your kind review as well as your appreciative words. We are glad that you enjoyed every moment of your stay at New hotel and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel has been pulled apart and bits recycled from it's previous incarnation but all in a modern and way. It appealed to my sense of reusing/recycling what you can but also to my modern demands and needs.
We arrived late and the reception staff were friendly and greeted us with refreshments - good start. The room itself was large with a modern bathroom behind frosted glass and a large walk in shower, the shower was powerful and hot and much needed and the bed.. ah the bed, large and firm yet with pillows you could sink into and surround yourself with.
The rooms are climate controlled so not too hot or cold so we didn't realise just how hot it was till we left the hotel the next day!
The hotel is very central, within walking distance to 'Plaka' and 'Monastiraki' the old parts of Athens, and also to Ermou street with it's shopping. We also visited the Athens museum which was very interesting (and air conditioned!) as well as the Acropolis.
The hotel has good wifi and we had both breakfast and lunch here one day and the food was very nice.
This is a great place to stay and I would do so again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uktraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaca
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This was my second stay here after two years. I was so glad to see that the standards are just as high, the staff just as friendly and helpful, the food as delightful, and still spotless!! Super comfortable beds in fun and stylish rooms. The Wi Fi worked a treat too!
For the money this hotel is great value. Considering its location, and the high levels of service etc it offers, you will find it very hard to find better: unless of course you pay another 100€ plus per night.
There are lots of nice little touches that make the visitor most welcome without smothering them. The staff are young and offer genuine hospitality. Perhaps it is they that ought to receive the highest commendation from this review.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anzoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our team we thank you for showing your preference towards New. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to our guests and we are glad that we are able to pass on this warm feeling to each and every one of your stays. We thank you and we would love to have you as our guest again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel is centrally located within walking distance to the Plaka area and the Acropolis. It was an old hotel but fully renovated and the walls of the plastered with bits of wooden furniture from the renovation. It was quite interesting. The rooms are small and little snacks and fruits are provided in the lobby all through the day. Our room had a balcony and even though it faced the building next door, it was quire lovely to sit outside. We have an issue that we don't seem to get enough bath towels or they were not provided. We had to ring up to get them delivered and they were 'warm', fresh from the dryer. Our theory was that there were not enough towels to go around. Wifi is free. For breakfast, if you would like to have eggs, you need to order. The danish pastries were extremely good. There is plenty of eating places around especially in the Plaka area. If you don't feel like walking to the Plaka area, there are also eating places around the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: On higher floors as the hotel is on the corner of the main street with heavy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed our location, services and hospitality. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our welcome treats and sweets that are freshly cooked daily by our pastry chef. Once again we thank you and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I arrived in Athens after a long journey from NYC. The team at the New Hotel could not have been nicer. We received a beautiful junior suite room with views of the neighbors garden rooftops. The area surrounding the hotel is lovely with small stores, streets and sidewalk restaurants. The hotel concierge recommended a lovely rooftop bar for a cocktail that overlooked the Acropolis which was all lit up at night. The concierge also recommended a local restaurant near the hotel that was amazing. There was a complimentary breakfast included and it was fabulous - so much to choose from. A great stay, a great hotel and a wonderful staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
3,076 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#10 of 326 in Athens
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing