We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and great welcome”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #8 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Lovely hotel in a brilliant location for walking access to central sights and various different neighbourhoods for restaurants. Fantastically helpful and knowledgeable staff very willing to make bookings for you or recommend places. Top service and an excellent breakfast too. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and had a great time! Everything was within a short walking distance and people from the hotel were very friendly and gave us very good recommendations on restaurants to visit .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waingels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,
On behalf of our staff would like to thank you for sharing with us your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed every moment of your stay at New as well our services and hospitality. It is always our pleasure to do our best in order to meet our valuable guests’ expectations and needs. Once again we thank you and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future hopefully for a longer time.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

An excellent hotel in the best location in Athens.So modern and cozy at the same time....with the touch of art and design everywhere!super staff...and best hospitality thanx to Natasa!!amazing breakfast and you've got to try their flower teas!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 462Artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New hotel during your stay in Athens as well as your kind words of appreciation. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, design, location and our homemade breakfast at our restaurant New Taste. On behalf of our team we thank you and we will be more than happy to welcome you back on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Had an excellent experience. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms truly terrific. The location is beyond perfect and more importantly, the staff are super kind and helpful. Thank you for everything - Stephania at reception was a joy to meet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wondrousalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is THE hotel to stay at in athens. The rooms are modern and the beds are extremely comfortable. The space is creative with contemporary art installations running throughout. The hotel is spotlessly clean and boasts friendly staff that go out of your way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for something fresh, exciting and very well executed in the centre of athens.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henryrelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Athens is tired, worn out from austerity drives, massive tax burdens, little bright lights at the end of any tunnel and it has shown over the last 18 months in many of the hotels and restaurants, where staff are disillusioned. Against this backdrop, the New Hotel still reflects good humour, good service, good food and a good place to stay. I stayed here shortly after it (re)opened and was happy to come back. The rooms are well laid out, the beds very comfortable, the Art Lounge a great place to work/have a drink/have dinner in the evening, with great views in almost every direction. Being close to the Parliament, Syntagma Square, the Botanical Gardens, the Acropolis and much more, it is a great location for business and pleasure. I will return....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for showing your preference towards New Hotel during your stays in Athens. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, bedding experience and our centralized location. We are glad that you had the opportunity to visit our rooftop restaurant New Art Lounge conveniently located at the 7th floor of our hotel with a panoramic view of the city of Athens as well as the Parthenon. On behalf of our team we thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The New Hotel in Athens is a complete departure from traditional hotels in the sense that the hotel uses materials that other hotels desist from using. For instance, the bathrooms are provided with brass washbasins. The floors are laid with bamboo. Similarly, the tables too are with bamboo. The staircase boasts marble stairs of 1940 vintage. The hotel also features floor to ceiling windows. The furniture too is designer and is unique. In short, the design elements are Greek, and guess designed by whom, a Brazilian designer. While the design is unique rest assured everything is functional. The restaurant is quite famous in the area serving Mediterranean fare. The location is quite central and close to business district, Constitution Square and Kolonaki shopping area. The other good feature of this hotel is the great service rendered by the staff. The hotel offers free Internet access.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0eNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,204 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,893 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £98 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Filellinon Street, next to Constitution Square (Syntagma Square), this contemporary design hotel, is perfectly positioned for the sights of Athens, including the ruins of Plaka, the Acropolis and its museum, the stylish boutique shopping district of Kolonaki, and the bustling business zone. Situated in the former Olympic Palace Hotel, New Hotel encompasses the heritage of its past by using recycled parts of the old hotel and reinterpreted local materials to create a complete work of art, where outstanding interiors, unusual custom-made furniture and handmade fixtures make guests feel that they live and breathe in a major art installation. Offering an entirely NEW approach this 79-room and suites establishment, is one of the city’s finest examples of modernist architecture and the first ever hotel project of award designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing