We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Designer hotel in center of Athens”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #10 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Zürich
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Designer hotel in center of Athens”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this modern boutique hotel. Staff was friendly, food in restaurants was good, service was excellent. The cheerful staff always responded positively to our requests, and we ended up having quite a few dinners on the rooftop bar during our one-week stay. Good selection of wines there with great views of the city. We ended practically every day of walking and touring Athens and environs at the rooftop bar.
The rooms were comfortably equipped and clean, with a big in-room safe. The hotel is close enough to Syntagma Square that most major sites and museums are within easy walking distance.
A minor negative point is the proximity of the Russian Orthodox church next door with its loud periodic bell ringing, but these episodes are of short duration. I'm struggling to think of more negatives but frankly it's hard. Maybe we were just lucky and had a smooth stay here, but my impression is that the hotel administration puts a lot of effort into pleasing its guests. I would especially recommend this hotel if you are travelling with children, as the decor is unique, the staff is friendly, and there are some movies for children in the in-room entertainment.

Room Tip: No special tips for rooms. It seems there are "Acropolis view" rooms and those without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arrow5_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your detailed review as well as your appreciative words. It is comments like yours that motivate us to offer our outmost to our valuable guests. On behalf of our team we thank you and we would love to welcome you back on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    374
    54
    15
    10
See reviews for
222
767
68
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We chose this hotel on the strength of the previous reviews and it was very good. The staff were welcoming and accommodating with our questions and we enjoyed the small touches such as a bottle of water in the room and fresh mini baked goods in the lobby. The reason I have not rated it 5/5 is that I was a little disappointed with the bathroom in our room - it was dark and had a damp smell about it after the shower was used. Not enough to request to move rooms as we only stayed one night. The balcony was a nice addition and as our room was on 6th floor had reasonable views over some of the city. We ate at the ArtLounge on the 7th floor, the food was okay but, we felt, fell short of the menu descriptions. Breakfast was very good - home baked breads and pastries, homemade granola and good coffee. The area around the hotel makes it ideally placed for walking and it is within easy walking distance of the Acropolis & Acropolis Museum. I would stay again but I would choose to dine out next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlottedT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It is located in the perfect spot to explore the capital and it is brand new! It has very nice rooms and a wonderful breakfast room with elegant choices. Its staff was really professional, without excessive intimacy or snobbish attitude. Although I had read some no so good reviews written by other guests, I can say that what we found was really surprisingly welcome. A big bravo to all of them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. We were a family of 3—myself, my husband and my 8 year old son.

The hotel is wonderful. Truly 5*. It reminded us both of staying in a W, but better. If you like W hotels you will love this. I don’t know what they pump through the ventilation or wash the robes and sheets in, but I swear, it smells like heaven must smell.

We stayed in a Jr Suite. It was a little on the small side, but I reckon that this room was actually quite big for a hotel in central Athens. It was stunning on the inside and out and the staff were fantastic. They organised our transfers for us and were very helpful with directions, etc.
The hotel is in such a fantastic location, I don’t know why anyone would stay anywhere else. We walked everywhere and when we were tired, we came back and then off we went again. It poured with rain one day and they gave us all umbrellas. Superb! Lovely fluffy robes and slippers and amazing bath products in the rooms.

The bar on the 7th floor offers magnificent views of the Acropolis and a great menu of drinks. The gym was excellent with a really good choice of machines and mats, weights, fitness balls, etc.

Every day, we had a fresh bottle of water and turn down service with little boxed chocolates. It was just the little touches that made it a wonderful stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I would stay here again. It is a bit on the pricey side, but if you book in advance you can get a good deal and it is very much worth the money.

Room Tip: if you need a little extra space, a Jr Suite is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chooochoootrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing New Hotel during your family vacation in Athens. We believe in personalized service for each and every one of our valuable guests and we are glad that we could pass on this warm “New” feeling. Our scent “Black Tea” is custom made just for our Yes Hotels group and we are pleased that you considered it as an extra value to our services. We will share your kind words with the rest of our team and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!

Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is by far, one of the finest city-hotels I have ever stayed in! …if not THE finest. The way this product is not only presented, but the unique and impressive level of service offered is head and shoulders above anything I have experienced in the plethora of premium hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in across the globe. The hotel staff should be incredibly proud of themselves for a job very well done!

Room Tip: On the other side of Syntagma Square will be a little quieter as a rule, however the rooms are incre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Q-Dizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our team we would like to thank you for your kind and appreciative words. We are glad that you enjoyed our location, services and hospitality. Once again we thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place was amazing,All the staff was beyond phenomenal.I have never been in a better place in my life.The location is great, we walked around safely even at night.Had breakfast downstairs every morning, great wait staff and food.We even got massages at the spa and the masseuse was the best, and was even from our country, transplanted and did a great job .desk staff and even the dorrmen were wonderful.if we ever go back to Athens, we will stay her for sure!

Room Tip: ask to face the acropolis if possible?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeeguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We went to Athens recently for our honeymoon and booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor.
The hotel was above our expectation for the 2 nights stay. We were surprised by the hotel's generous welcome gift upon our arrival to welcome our new life which we did not expect at all.
The room was good, beautifully and uniquely designed.
The breakfast was good, with more than 10 choices of breads, which were all delicious to us.
The hotel location is superb as it's just a stone throw away from Syntagma Square, which you could catch all type of public transport to all the attraction.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LimFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel to enjoy your honeymoon vacation. We are glad that you enjoyed every moment of your stay at New as well our services and hospitality. It is always our pleasure to do our best in order to meet our valuable guests’ expectations and needs. Once again we thank you and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future hopefully for a longer time.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#8 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing