We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in athena”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #8 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 May 2014

All around amazing hotel.
We were here for three nights. From the time we walked in, we were treated like we were the only ones in the hotel. Room was excellent with all the latest thechnology .
Free wifi, tv turned on when you stood in front of it ( not that we used it), motorized curtains.
Top floor has an amazing bar with a great view,
The restaurant downstairs has the best breakfast in town. And did i mention the great service.
Location is also excellent, you can walk to all the archeological sites, to the plaka distirict etc,,,
My name is dadbeh jafari and I highly recommend this place

Room Tip: Here's a tip, stay here, you cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diablo676767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,
On behalf of our team would like to thank you for your kind review as well as your appreciative comments. Our aim is to offer our valuable guests comfort, hospitality and a “home away from home experience”. We are glad that you enjoyed every moment of your stay at New, our design, location, services, hospitality and both our restaurants. Once again thank you and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the near future!
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This place was awesome. The design is so cool and the staff is great. The concierge consistently made good restaurant recommendations and really listened to what we were looking for. The rooms are a bit small but really well designed so they don't feel cramped. Bed is comfortable and the double headed shower was great. Another plus was its location. The hotel was about a 15 minute walk from anything we wanted to see, and about two blocks from the metro to the airport. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brandon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I could not get in to The Grande Bertagne and was disappointed. A friend recommended The New Hotel and I have to say it was terrific. Excellent service , soft sheets , sleek design with a superb location. Well done to the whole team. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JamesSterlingTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing New Hotel during your vacation in Athens as well as your appreciative words. We are glad that you enjoyed every moment of your stay at New as well our services and hospitality. It is always our pleasure to do our best in order to meet our valuable guests’ expectations and needs. On behalf of our team we would like to thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for seven nights over Easter and couldn't have asked for a better hotel. The modernist design and attention to detail were just great. The room was so beautiful with everything you could want there with an individual touch such as a personal welcome on the screen in the room. Balcony with views over Athens and the bar on the roof was perfect after a day sightseeing. Breakfast was incredible with such a high level of service in such a magnificent room. Fold down service at night and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Centrally located and you can walk to all the sights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Persia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our family of four (two adults, two kids) stayed here in two rooms for a couple of nights after our original hotel booking fell through. Each of our rooms had a small balcony with a table and chair. We were a bit disappointed we didn't get interconnecting rooms but it wasn't a big deal for us.

The hotel is well located near the centre of Athens and very handy to the markets, train station, etc. Rooms are a bit small but very modern and clean. Reception staff were very helpful with our various arrangements and provided good advice re laudromats, restaurants etc. Breakfast buffet is very good with ample variety to choose from. Appreciated the complimentary bottled water which was left for us every day.

Bathrooms were small but clever with a two way door that allowed someone to shower while the other person used the toilet.

Visited the terrace restaurant for a drink one night but sadly you don't get a good view of the Acropolis from up there ... but the wine was nice anyway ...!

Only downside of this place is the light switches ... there were more light switches in those rooms than in my entire house! It became quite a comedy each night trying to turn the lights off before going to sleep!

Room Tip: Rooms are well sound proofed and hallways are carpeted, so wherever you are on the floor you should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4ManlyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review. We are glad that you enjoyed our location, services, hospitality and our homemade breakfast at our restaurant New Taste. We are glad that you had the opportunity to visit our rooftop restaurant New Art Lounge conveniently located at the 7th floor of our hotel with a panoramic view of the city of Athens as well as the Parthenon. On behalf of our team we thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this modern boutique hotel. Staff was friendly, food in restaurants was good, service was excellent. The cheerful staff always responded positively to our requests, and we ended up having quite a few dinners on the rooftop bar during our one-week stay. Good selection of wines there with great views of the city. We ended practically every day of walking and touring Athens and environs at the rooftop bar.
The rooms were comfortably equipped and clean, with a big in-room safe. The hotel is close enough to Syntagma Square that most major sites and museums are within easy walking distance.
A minor negative point is the proximity of the Russian Orthodox church next door with its loud periodic bell ringing, but these episodes are of short duration. I'm struggling to think of more negatives but frankly it's hard. Maybe we were just lucky and had a smooth stay here, but my impression is that the hotel administration puts a lot of effort into pleasing its guests. I would especially recommend this hotel if you are travelling with children, as the decor is unique, the staff is friendly, and there are some movies for children in the in-room entertainment.

Room Tip: No special tips for rooms. It seems there are "Acropolis view" rooms and those without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arrow5_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your detailed review as well as your appreciative words. It is comments like yours that motivate us to offer our outmost to our valuable guests. On behalf of our team we thank you and we would love to welcome you back on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We chose this hotel on the strength of the previous reviews and it was very good. The staff were welcoming and accommodating with our questions and we enjoyed the small touches such as a bottle of water in the room and fresh mini baked goods in the lobby. The reason I have not rated it 5/5 is that I was a little disappointed with the bathroom in our room - it was dark and had a damp smell about it after the shower was used. Not enough to request to move rooms as we only stayed one night. The balcony was a nice addition and as our room was on 6th floor had reasonable views over some of the city. We ate at the ArtLounge on the 7th floor, the food was okay but, we felt, fell short of the menu descriptions. Breakfast was very good - home baked breads and pastries, homemade granola and good coffee. The area around the hotel makes it ideally placed for walking and it is within easy walking distance of the Acropolis & Acropolis Museum. I would stay again but I would choose to dine out next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlottedT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,202 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,891 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £129 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Filellinon Street, next to Constitution Square (Syntagma Square), this contemporary design hotel, is perfectly positioned for the sights of Athens, including the ruins of Plaka, the Acropolis and its museum, the stylish boutique shopping district of Kolonaki, and the bustling business zone. Situated in the former Olympic Palace Hotel, New Hotel encompasses the heritage of its past by using recycled parts of the old hotel and reinterpreted local materials to create a complete work of art, where outstanding interiors, unusual custom-made furniture and handmade fixtures make guests feel that they live and breathe in a major art installation. Offering an entirely NEW approach this 79-room and suites establishment, is one of the city’s finest examples of modernist architecture and the first ever hotel project of award designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing