We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #7 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Perfect location to see the sights and enjoy the restaurants and nightlife of the Plaka. The hotel is chic, the staff very attentive and friendly. The 7th floor bar/restaurant has a great view of the Acropolis during the day and when it is lit up at night. Breakfast has a very good buffet selection.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jtraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

the location is just super!!! the design is very interesting and nice. the bar on the roof has amazing view to Acropolis.
but for this price I had expected more... first of all by check-in I was told that my room is not ready yet and it was at 14:20! a little bit strange for me. after long flight and by the outside temperature 29C it would be better to have a rest and to take a shower. check-out is in hotel at 12:00, so more than 2 hours must be ok for cleaning... the second time I was a little bit disappointied by staff by check-out and payment. in my bill were 4 breakfast buffet included for 1 day instead of 2. the misunderstanding was surely clarified but it costs me 20 min time(((
the breakfast itself is 26 EUR and the buffet is not so various for this money

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryzhik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

this was a great place to stay in Athens, just renovated in quite a quirky style but very well done.The hotel was clean and tidy, great breakfast and a wonderful bar and restaurant on the 7th floor with outdoor seating and a great view of the Acropolis. The staff were very friendly and helpful from the time we arrived until the time we left, a lovely greeting and chocolate when you arrive which was much appreciated. Great beds for a wonderful sleep A definite stay if visiting Athens we will be back.

Room Tip: try for a room on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,
On behalf of our team we thank you for your appreciative comments. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to our valuable guests and we are glad that we are able to pass on this warm feeling to each and every one of your stays. We thank you and we would love to have you as our guests again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Staffs are accommodating. Rooms are cozy, nice and clean. Though you can hear noises from the other room adjacent to you. Walls are not that thick perhaps. Toiletries are with pleasing smell. Shower area are not that good since i think i will fell or slide because of the floor wood, it's moving. Left early in the morning to travel to Athens, staff gave us breakfast meal to brought in our next trip. That was so sweet :) Wifi connection are excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Natbelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just stayed here for 2 nights May 2014 en route to Greek Islands and loved it! Very clean new trendy modern hotel a few minutes walk from Syntagma Square for easy metro access and one minute walk into the maze of the Plaka and shops bars restaurants and of course the sights.
Lovely room at front with balcony and view of National Gardens. Very busy road but the double glazing eliminates all noise and the great electric blinds the early morning sun light. Ask for front room but I think that is an upgrade!
Staff and food all good, new restaurant on roof but you need to book. Reception excellent and they even managed to send my wifes hair straighteners which we left by next day courier to Mykonos well impressed!!
Took metro from airport but it gets a bit busy by the time you reach city centre and woulkd be too hot in summer to drag your cases along road. Taxi is fixed 40 Euros and quicker.

Room Tip: Front rooms with view from balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were transitting home through Athens after an island break and wanted to ensure our last night was as comfortable as possible so we could get enough sleep.

New Hotel was slightly pricier than other hotels in the same category,but having stayed in another similarly rated hotel on the way out, and having been disappointed, we were okay to pay more for comfort.

Check in and out is very painless, with a lovely, if not slightly cosy room. It's totally soundproof with amazing black out shutters allowing you to make a little cave and completely pass out.

Room service was very tasty - a tad pricey, and breakfast was VERY expensive, but delicious. I was charged full continental breakfast price for a cup of coffee and a croissant!

We left some belongings at the hotel and the staff were very accommodating in returning it to us. We had to contact them though and it took us a while to realize we'd left them. I would have though having all our contact information and knowing who had stayed in the room, they would have contacted us.

Overall very good and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neez_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing New hotel during your vacation in Athens. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, services, location and design. On behalf of our team we would like to thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was so in between to book my room in a 5* hotels around Syntagma square or New Hotel. I have decided to make my reservation to New Hotel as per their pictures and style. I wasn't sure what I was going to face but once I stepped inside the building the smell of the hotel and decoration of lobby affected me. Definitely reccomend studio rooms if possible. There are no carpets inside of the rooms and bathrooms are very convenient (they also have rainshower) . Breakfast is great as per Athens standarts and the hotel is very very clean. Hotel is very close to Syntagma metro station and in walking distance to Monastraki area, Ermou street, Parliament and even to Kolonaki area. Acropolis is only 1 stop away via metro. Also hotels one face is looking to National park. Stuff is well edcuated, friendly (thank you to Dimitra Pispili and Guest Relations supervisor I can't really remember her name now). Even if this hotel is listed as 4* their service and quality is as 5*.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seren Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 285 in Athens
3,310 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 285 in Athens
1,757 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 285 in Athens
2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis
Electra Metropolis
#9 of 285 in Athens
640 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £141 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Filellinon Street, next to Constitution Square (Syntagma Square), this contemporary design hotel, is perfectly positioned for the sights of Athens, including the ruins of Plaka, the Acropolis and its museum, the stylish boutique shopping district of Kolonaki, and the bustling business zone. Situated in the former Olympic Palace Hotel, New Hotel encompasses the heritage of its past by using recycled parts of the old hotel and reinterpreted local materials to create a complete work of art, where outstanding interiors, unusual custom-made furniture and handmade fixtures make guests feel that they live and breathe in a major art installation. Offering an entirely NEW approach this 79-room and suites establishment, is one of the city’s finest examples of modernist architecture and the first ever hotel project of award designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing