We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern hotel with nice touches and great customer service”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #10 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“modern hotel with nice touches and great customer service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I loved this hotel and we would definitely stay here again. It was within walking distance to Syntagma Square, shopping/restaurant area of Plaka, the Acropolis, and the high end designer stores at Kolonaki. There were also restaurants and bars around the near vicinity as well. Great starting point, especially with Syntagma Square which conveniently has a metro station that can take you almost anywhere around Athens.

As for the lobby and our room, I loved the contemporary design. We stayed in a superior room (206). It had a great balcony and nice view on Filellinon street. The street noise could be loud at night but the blackout shades helped a bit. Also, I'm not sure if you have to upgrade to get an Acropolis view. But the room looked exactly like the photos from the website. Great touch plastering postcards of Athens on one of the walls to remind us it is not just a contemporary hotel. Bathroom was modern too. Although with the layout and design of the shower/bathroom door, I don't think it's the type of bathroom that can be shared by friends or family. Well, depends on how you feel about frosted glass lol. The room was perfect for a couple though. Also, the bath products were Apivita and they smelled delicious!

The technology within the room was superb and advanced. Takes a bit of a learning curve but you get the hang of it once you insert your key card into the slot by the door. You need your key card to power almost everything within the room. It is also needed to use the elevator/lift. Don't be like me and stand in the elevator for 1 minute while you wonder why it isn't going up lol. Maybe it would be nice if the front desk mentioned how powerful the key card is at check-in? Other pluses: The free wi-fi was fast and there were plenty of free outlets to use for chargers and what not.

As for the customer service, everyone was very friendly, helpful, and transparent. I love, loved that about this hotel. When we first walked in, we were greeted with luggage help and delicious chocolates. Our travel adapter did not work in Greece so the hotel let us borrow one for our stay. Two women knocked on our door in the evening to personally hand us the breakfast menu and a couple boxes of chocolate. Our airlines temporarily lost our luggage and our hotel kept it safe until we returned for dinner. When we elected to skip housekeeping service, they would slip a note under our door that they acknowledged our request. I felt I could trust the staff at the New Hotel.

I hope this hotel continues to succeed. When I come back to Athens, I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: A 2nd floor room facing Filellinon street can me quite loud at night. I'd request another room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisLT617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our team would like to thank you for your kind and detailed review as well as your appreciative comments. Our aim is to offer our valuable guests comfort, hospitality and a “home away from home experience”. We are glad that you enjoyed every moment of your stay at New, our design, location, services and hospitality. We thank you and we would love to have you as our guests again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    374
    54
    15
    10
See reviews for
222
767
68
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We staying in a junior suite, which was perfect for 2 adults + child, with a L shaped room with a door in between, so almost like having 2 rooms. Breakfast was fantastic, offering everything, would struggle to find better. Locations was great, could walk almost everywhere.
My mum staying in a deluxe room, which was a really good size, well worth paying the extra. We stayed on the 5th floor, could hear general city noise, but nothing to keep you awake. Very comfortable bed, and air con worked well. Nice restaurant on the top floor, which was expensive but relaxing, watch out for the water, it keeps coming and you pay for it! Water in reception and breakfast free.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor, didn't have any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
644 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is about a 1/2 mile from the acropolis. We could see it from our window. All the desk staff are helpful and friendly. Ditto for the rest of the staff. Turn down service was a treat as were the little chocolates and fresh fruit in the lobby. Breakfast was excellent and was included in our package. This is a "quirky" very modern hotel that we totally enjoyed the design. The view from the rooftop lounge/restaurant/bar is to die for. You are free to go up and take pics and not sit down and order. Highly recommend this hotel for its location, staff and funky design. A very enjoyable 3 night stay. There was also a little market they pointed out to us around the corner where we stopped in frequently for cold drinks, water, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nriemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your detailed review as well as your appreciative words. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, design, location ,homemade breakfast and our rooftop lounge restaurant .On behalf of our team we thank you and we would love to welcome back on your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

New Hotel was a great place to stay in Athens!

Loved the ice water and little treats on arrival. Staff were super helpful.

Rooms were modern with a funky design. Lovely balcony too.

Turndown service and chocolates on the pillow were a nice surprise. Definitely recommend.

Breakfast at the hotel was nice but quite expensive

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_aust1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great location if you want to walk to the sights in Athens (Acropolis, Agora, etc) and easy to get to from the metro. A little concerning that their wifi is not secure. Also we were on the 1st sleeping floor (2nd floor) and it was very noisy. At least the window shade completely blocked out light which helped for sleep. Did appreciate the small chocolate/snacks and water that greeted everyone. Breakfast buffet is someone unreasonably priced.

Room Tip: Probably would ask for higher floor. Too noisy on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sillymango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our location as well as our welcome treats. With regards to our Wi-Fi please allow us to mention that both username and password are required to join our network thus secure browsing is provided. Once again we thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The transfer service from the airport was great and check in nice and quick. The hotel is as amazing in person as the photos. The staff we welcoming and friendly, also very helpful.
The room is a great size, not so sure about the two single beds pushed together as a double. Despite the fact the hotel is on quite busy streets we enjoyed relative peace and quiet. My only suggestion as far as the room is concerned is the lighting above the sink, it's incredibly hard to shave in the dull light. The room was always clean and the turn down treats always welcome.
Breakfast was lovely with a great range and freshly made coffee. The service was spot on and flawless, the staff wonderful.
The restaurant in the roof provided a nice place for an evening cocktail, we also had dinner one night, it was definitely a nice culinary choice. Again, I can't fault the service.
The best part, the hotel is in an excellent location, central to the tourist hotspots and easy walking distance.
A great hotel, well worth the stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adrianwalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great hotel with boutique new feel. Unique decor adds to the experience. Great bar and restaurant up top. Excellent breakfast. We literally had half a day to explore key sights in Athens so the location of this hotel was perfect for Plaka, Monastiraki, Acropolis, etc and also close to Syntagma station for the airport train. Staff were very professional and helpful. The only downside was that this part of Athens is looking pretty depressed, dirty, and neglected reflecting tough times so when leaving the hotel the contrast is stark.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NFitzdelfini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our team would like to thank you for sharing your kind and appreciative review. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, location, design and our homemade breakfast. Once again we thank you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#8 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing