We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location-and style”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #7 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Location, location, location—and style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The New Hotel welcomed me hours before my scheduled check-in with cool water, a delicious chocolate, a comfy seat, wireless, a map of the city and directions. I’m totally in favor of smaller hotels and the individual service they can provide.
My room was comfortable,nicely designed, and had everything I needed and then some. It was quiet, and there was a charging station for my iPhone that played my music. The location is within walking distance of many Athens destinations, and right next to the Syntagma Square metro station. It was so easy to get there by train from Piraeus, and equally easy to take the train to the airport. I could not have made a better choice.

Room Tip: My room did not face Filellinon Street and so might have been quiet because of that.
See more room tips
Green Features: They provide natural products like shampoo, soaps, and belong to something called Green Leaders.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripEvalu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New hotel during your summer vacation in Athens as well as for sharing your appreciative review. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, services, location and design. On behalf of our team we thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    994
    353
    51
    14
    9
See reviews for
209
734
67
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We chose this hotel due to its location and design. Most hotels in Athens look a bit outdated so the New Hotel stood out to us as modern and fresh. Its location is perfect, within walking distance to all the major sights. We walked everywhere (Acropolis, Acropolis Museum, Syntagma Square, Ancient Agora, Monastiraki) and only took the cab from and to the airport. The cabs cost 35 Euro to the hotel.

We booked the Standard Room for two nights at 200 Euro a night. The decor was nothing to shout about - postcards on the walls which actually looked a bit messy to me. The biggest dislike I had about the room was the design and condition of the bathroom. I understand that it is a design hotel but designs should also be practical and the bathroom layout was not. The shower door doubles as the toilet door and the space is quite awkward and cramped. The walls in the shower are made of wood and were already visibly damaged. I expected better bathroom conditions for the price we paid. We did not have any issue with street noise once the windows were shut tight even though our room was at one of the lower floors. Also, the bed was quite comfortable.

The greatest asset for this hotel is definitely the staff. They were all very friendly and helpful. Emails were responded to very promptly and all my requests were met with a smile. The reception staff were excellent and so were the porters. One porter stopped us as we were going out and took a look at the map my husband was holding. He commented that it was not a very good map and that he would give us a better one. He was right! His map was much better than the one we had and helped us find our way around much more easily. We also did not encounter any rude staff in the breakfast room. Everyone was nice and friendly. I must add that the breakfast which was included in our rate was ample and delicious. There were many different types of pastries (excellent chocolate croissant!) and hot items (eggs, sausages, bacon, mushrooms) can be ordered from the menu. Service was fast and attentive too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yuki-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and the hotel is a great place for those that want to be close to the Acropolis area. The rooms were perfect: comfy bed, air conditioning that works, and a nice modern bathroom. There was some mood lighting behind the art work, which was kind of cool. The breakfast was fine, and the staff were courteous and efficient. I had the awesome benefit of watching a couple have a full blown nuclear meltdown while checking out, so it gets high marks for people watching points. The manager handled it really well, by the way, so more points for professionalism under fire.

The Plaka area is maybe 300 meters away, and you'll have a ton of eating options. The Acropolis is also within ten minutes walking range, and it you are a bit adventuresome then I recommend that you enter the acropolis by hiking up the very steep side streets above the Plaka. You'll be walking through several front porches to get to the Acropolis, but the folks living there are used to it and will even give you instructions as you start to doubt that this is the correct way. It is, so keep going and you'll wind up at the South Entrance, which is almost abandoned compared to the main entrance.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puebla
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Boutique hotel, with original decor; we only stayed for 1 night, great location. Our room wasnt ready when we arrived at 12 so they gave us complimentary drinks in the rooftop restaurant lounge; the place was great; I mean they really invested in the refurbishment here; although it was 30+ degrees outside; the inside was perfect and with panoramic 180 degree view; I could also notice they recycled a lot of materials in the refurbishment. The room was a little small but well designed and well decorated. The breakfast is really worth it; great bread, everything fresh, sometimes you think as a tourist that its better to go out and find something local, in this hotel take the breakfast.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mexpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing New Hotel during your summer vacations as well as for sharing with us your kind comments. We are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our welcome signature cocktails at our roof top Art lounge restaurant while waiting for your 14.00 check in time. NEW Hotel is the first ever hotel project of award winning designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. Please allow us to mention that an important part of the renovation project was the injection of New ideas locally relevant yet internationally accessible with the main concern of reusing and reinterpreting local material and culture. On behalf of our staff would like to thank you and we will be more than happy to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, Californie
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Only spent one night so it is difficult to give you an exact assessment.
Reception was kind and professional. Check in a breeze.
The hotel is really perfectly located to many areas of interest.
A room with a balcony is suggested and a junior sweet is perfect space for two with large luggage.
The bathroom is adequate with a big shower however the organic material use in it's design are quickly deteriorating and visible traces of mold all along the lower wall. Why would one use Bamboo without proper sealing in such a context?

Compared to an older more traditional property like Grande Bretagne this is the property for design enthusiasts and the like.

cheers and thank you for the nice service

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mastorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very good location. Fantastic rooms, with some funky decor. The roof top bar is very good and overlooking the Acropolis. Breakfast was excellent. The gym in the basement is good. On the flip side, it is a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are better, as the street noise is then totally cut-off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureLoverNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Love the design of the hotel so much !! Despite the budget my hubby and I set for hotel stay, we still went with it because we love boutique hotels and the location was considered quite central. I fell sick during the long journey to Greece (from Singapore).. but I was glad that I chose a great hotel to stay! It was so beautifully designed and the bedding were very comfy! Spent my first day just resting in the room and only went out for sight-seeing on the 2nd day. Only one thing that I feel they should improve on was the service.. Check-in took a while, and we had to go to the hotel's restaurant for lunch while waiting. Food was good though :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy_Yap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing