We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and modern”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #11 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a nice stay at the New Hotel, comfy rooms, good breakfast and rooftop bar/ restaurant was really pleasant. Even being a 'design hotel' - everything works and it has character. We didnt get to try the Spa as it was closed over Easter. Generally very good, staff could perhaps tried a little harder and in summer you would miss a pool but can happily recommend it. Great location to the Syntagma Square, Plaka and the Botanical Gardens.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank April1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,532)
There are newer reviews for New Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

1-2 blocks from the Syntagma train(metro) station. Walking distance to Plaka and National Garden.

All Interior design was made out of the previous hotel at that building. even the lamp in the rooms (well luckily it looks all new lol) All looked very stylish and functional. Bed was very comfortable.. oh I have to mention the bathroom seperately! Such a functional one! bath area and toilet are all seperated by glass doors but you don't see through. Housekeepers come frequently so if you hang "do not disturb" sign, they leave a card when they arrive that says that they came but saw the sign. Very clean and spacey rooms. Photos from ancient Greece on the walls. Even a separate make-up mirror is hidden at the corner of the desk. Detailed and functional setting. I loved that hotel.

Breakfast has a lot of variety to choose from and definitely had the most variety we have seen within Greece trip. They were all delicious. Staff was friendly and helpful. Safe guard at the entrance although it is a safe area. Complimentary coctail of the house until 8 pm on your arrival day at their roof-top restaurant-bar. (it was awesome too)

Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: we stayed at a room in the corner of the building facing the road, had no problems.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerveE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,
On behalf of our team would like to thank you for your kind and detailed review. It is comments like yours that motivate us to offer our outmost to our valuable guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our location, services, hospitality and our homemade breakfast at our restaurant New Taste. It gives us great pleasure to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy our signature cocktail at our rooftop restaurant New Art Lounge. We will share your kind words with the rest of our team and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Wow- really love this hotel. SO many great amenities in a smaller boutique hotel. Great location within walking distance of shopping and all of the sites. Really great breakfast (hot and cold choices) The rooftop restaurant has great views as well as really great food and service. One of the best restaurants we ate at on our entire trip so we went back for several meals. The cocktails and decor are quite fun! The rooms are well appointed with a comfortable bed and cool bamboo and marble shower. LOVE the truffles in the lobby and the glasses of water offered anytime you are down there. Would HIGHLY recommend this hotel in athens

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank coloradogal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Good location & nice step, poor breakfast & new concept bathroom but uncomfortable.
One day around 9 o'clock, housekeeper knocked our room for cleaning even though we didn't ask it ever and we were sleeping at that time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nnnnn1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Spent 1 evening here before our trip to Santorini and the whole family is excited to stay here again when we come back. Super location for sight-seeing, clean rooms and friendly service. We went upstairs to the rooftop restaurant/bar after dinner for a drink and the view is lovely. Definitely would recommend this hotel for a few days in Athens.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Kfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were welcomed with a glass of water at the reception, and this was typical of the service. Very good, professional and friendly.Nothing was a problem. Rooms are not big, but comfortable and well appointed. Decor will not be to everyone's taste - I am not a fan of glass (frosted) walls for the bathroom, and there was bit of form over function. Roof top restaurant/bar is a delight - we spend many hours there, including a beautiful diner overlooking the Parthenon. Hotel prices are good, restaurant on the expensive side - but very, very good quality, so absolutely worth it. Location is very close to Syntagma (Central) Square and Acropolis. Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vanturnhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Part of the Yes! Hotel company, this hotel is surely young, enthusiastic and seductive. Its modernity is not as in-your-face as the other ones. It’s simplicity is its draw. it concentrates on pieces that will revamp a room or lobby without the clutter. The location is in a an interesting nook of Athens that’s not a cranny, for sure.


It has all the charm if a small hotel, with a cornered setting and a busy street right next to it. The deconstructed wood rules in this inn and the space is utilize to its utmost with out compromising the style aura of the overall feel of the concept. A must-visit in Athens.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Flight965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 324 in Athens
3,143 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#10 of 324 in Athens
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 324 in Athens
3,838 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £106 - £1,776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing