We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Fantastic!”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #11 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Everything Fantastic!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel...the staff were fantastic...so friendly and welcoming. We were given a glass of water and a little chocolate upon arrival - such a nice touch. The hotel decor is very quirky but you can see this from the hotel website so nothing too unexpected there. Our room was spacious with a lovely big shower. The sink is separate outside the shower/toilet room. We were in room 310 which was pretty much as you turned out of the elevator but absolutely no noise was heard from that at all. Really big funky shaped mirror too in the room and we had pictures and postcards of Athens decorating the walls. The bed was a good size and very comfy, and the room was cleaned everyday and even a chocolate left on the bed in the evening! A hairdryer, robes and slippers were in the wardrobe - very handy. We had a balcony too which was lovely to sit on and chill out in the shade. We didn't eat at the restaurant but we did go to the roof top bar a couple of times - awesome views and again, excellent service by all the staff. Drinks were really reasonably priced too. The hotel has a fantastic location. We got the metro from the airport to Syntagma square (takes 40 mins, 8 euros) which is only a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. We also walked to Plaka, Monastiraki and the Acropolis from the hotel. Really good, quiet, safe location.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Athens and I will definitely stay here again if I return! Thankyou "New Hotel"!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coconuts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    359
    53
    15
    10
See reviews for
212
743
68
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel with very charming and comfortable rooms!! Localization is perfect and the staff very gentle. Breakfast is very tasty. Have a drink at the sunset at the top floor restaurant, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your kind and appreciative review. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to our valuable guests and we are glad that we passed on this warm “New” feeling. We will share your kind words with the rest of our team and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

A great location walking distance from a variety of sites and museums. This is a hotel with a very modern decor. A comprehensive breakfast is included, and the restaurant on the top floor has a nice al fresco option with a menu that was interesting enough so that 4 of us could eat there twice and still find things we wanted to eat. The service sets them apart, from the cheerful doorman to the concierge. My son left his passport in his room, which we discovered only while in the security line at the airport. A call back to the hotel; no problem; they found it and sent it to us by taxi to the airport. We made our flight!
This feels like a boutique hotel, so if you want a large business hotel this is not for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plingane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Well located near Constitution Square and the Plaka. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed including free WiFi. Service is accommodating and excellent. Always complimentary water and delicious bonbons in the lobby. The breakfasts cannot be beat. The buffet offers a multitude of pastries, yogurts, omelettes, cheeses and more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blitgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Loved the location of the New Hotel, but very hard for the group of us to get past the hard-surface college dorm room type décor of the rooms. Hard barren and cold. If a person likes the contemporary loft look, then perhaps it would be interesting, but we all thought that that "comfort" was lost along the way. The fuzzy astroturf type "lawn" in the breakfast room was kind of a turnoff - how much food catches in there, who knows. We felt like they are trying too hard to be "hip" to be "cool" and have forgotten that comfort can always be interjected to make travelers feel welcome. Service in general was okay; not great, not horrible, but okay. Bar service was horrible. Went there 3x during our stay and couldn't get another round of drinks to save our souls. Finally resorted to one of us going down to our room and bringing up our own bottles of wine, and putting them on the floor under the bar table so they would assume we had paid for the drinks. Breakfast was the highlight of the stay - wonderful array and the pastries are to die for. The pastry chef, whose quality and attention to detail are superb, should be giving seminars to the hotel executive staff on how to do things well. The pastry chef belongs in a 5 star hotel and this is not it. Again, loved the location, but we'll definitely explore another option when in Athens next Fall.

Green Features: I admire what the New Hotel strives to do in order to be eco-friendly; however, none of it appeared to be much different than many other hotels where we stay. I would suggest that if this is a focus of theirs, then equal attention should be put towards the areas of comfort and service.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vieuxcarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Nicely designed rooms & great location with a lovely rooftop vbar , which we had dinner at on the first night. My only wish was that they could have squeezed in a roof top pool which would have been very welcome during our August visit!

Room Tip: A corner room on the upper level would be good as they are sunny
See more room tips
Green Features: reusing the old furniture to decorate the walls is the best example of up-cycling I have seen!
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location - you can walk to sites, restaurants and shopping areas. Staff is friendly and helpful. There's a business center (we used it to print our boarding passes). Breakfast is delicious! And beds are very comfortable. Definitely recommend!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTraveler922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing New during your summer vacation in Athens. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our location, hospitality, design, services and our bedding experience. We will share your kind words with the rest of our team and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing