We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Trattoria Plaka

Trattoria Plaka
Ranked #189 of 3,715 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Plaka
Description: Established in 1972, Trattoria Restaurant has served as a cornerstone of the historic center of Athens, and arguably its heart, Plaka. Tucked away in the picturesque square Filomousos Eteria, it has served for many years, focusing on high quality ingredients in traditional Mediterranean dishes with a predominant feeling for the Italian and Greek cuisine. Service and hospitality, retain a key ingredient to our success and are the reason for staying in business all these years, with customers who visit us again and again.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
338 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Came back to the same place for our beer, and lamb dish. We enjoyed it back in 2006 and came back on another cruise and did our own side trip to here. Enjoy the food, and enjoy the people watching

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    50
    19
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great ambience and amazing food”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Came across this place searching for good Italian food in Athens and must say it lived up to it's great reviews. Pasta was excellent and flavors in the food were very well balanced. Owner is very welcoming and great service. Will definitely come back!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mohit_Wad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“I had to come back for more!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

I ate at this restaurant twice on my trip! Aaand I ate the same thing both times: grilled octopus! It was very tender on the inside and a bit crispy and salty on the outside! Yes! It comes with some rather flavorless rice and steamed veggies, but you can swap those out for a Greek salad and it will be dynamite. I wish I had seen another poster's picture of the seafood pasta...I might have to go back! If you're in Placa and want a break from the souvlaki and moussaka, go get some octopus from Trattoria!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Funkus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service, good value”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

One of my favorite places to eat in Athens with fabulous wood-fired pizza, generous Greek salads, lovely fruit plates, superb oven baked spaghetti (pasta Trattoria), great traditional dishes like stifado and moussaka in addition to the usual grilled meats. The service is gracious. The location in the Plaka, near the movie theatre, is convenient. Great place to bring a group. I have seen happy groups of elderly Greek women, families, and foreign student groups eating there. The pizza meal for two is great value with two Greek salads, one generous pizza, and two desserts. This place has been consistently good for years.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonRazorback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food. Good value.”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Have been going to this restaurant for several years; i eat there several times during each visit to Athens. Their versions of beef stifado and lamb kleftiko are excellent. Their two for 20 euro meal special--2 generous salads, 2 desserts of your choice, and one generous pizza to share--is what drew some of my students there inthe first place, and the quality of the wood fired pizza keeps them coming back. Friendly service and fair prices in the heart of the plaka.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonRazorback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Plaka also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Plaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing