We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, lovely warm owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Athens Green Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our family of four (including our two daughters aged 11 & 13) stayed two nights in Appt #4 last week (July 10 & 11 2014). Everything was great. We actually rang and spoke to Fotini before leaving Australia, and she was very clear and patient in describing the location and style of accommodation. We booked and paid in advance, and also arranged a taxi pickup from the airport at a reduced rate.
Spiros greeted us at the apartments, and spent about 20 mins going through everything in the apartment, the garden, and gave us a small bag of washing powder so we could use the shared washing machine. He then spent a further 20 mins writing on a map what to see, how to get there, where to eat locally, etc. He was really lovely. Fotini backed this up the next day with further little tips for the local area, like how to get into the back of the Olympic Stadium for a fantastic view for free! We felt genuinely looked after.
The apartment itself (#4) was very clean, secure, quiet, spacious (one big room with two comfy double beds), and well equipped, inc effective air con, ceiling fans, and very good wifi. We notice that other reviews have used the word "oasis", and we would agree with this. Athens Green is tucked in behind the Olympic Stadium, so it was just out of the crowds, but all the main sites were easily accessible by walking, or (when the grown ups were tired out!) a 3,50 Euro taxi ride home! A supermarket, cafes, bank, bakeries and so on are just around the corner.
Thanks so much Fotini and Spiros, will definitely stay with you again on our return to Athens.

Room Tip: Appt 4 was sunny and quiet, with a small balcony sheltered by a lemon tree.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FionaAndLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Athens Green Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

During this year's 3 week visit to Europe we stayed in apartment-hotel facilities in Rome, Vienna, Athens (3 nights), and Paris. Trying to review the Athens Green Apartments is difficult. There is much to like and a few things that didn't meet our particular needs. So here's are lists of the good and not-so-good as we saw them:

The great:
Delightful, charming, helpful owner and staff with (owner) an obvious talent for remodeling an old building into modern apartments.

We LOVED the neighborhood!! A short walk to the upper rim of the Olympic track and field stadium provides a short trek to a great place to jog, or just take an evening walk and gaze across Athens at the Acropolis. The several owner-recommended neighborhood dining facilities were excellent and close at hand. A short walk in the opposite direction of the peaceful stadium area will bring you to an active commercial district with an excellent grocery store and a taxi cab line of awaiting cabs. (We found cabs a great way to get around Athens--just make sure you believe your guide book advice to never negotiate fares--always, always, insist on the meter! [We didn't encounter aggressive cabbies near the hotel, but getting a cab in a tourist area such as the Acropolis can be more entertaining.])

Parts of the "apartment" were beautiful. In particular, the bathroom was very modern and worthy of an upscale hotel.

The less than great:

I'm sure that the different apartments vary, but our main room was the smallest I had encountered since a room near the Eiffel Tower in Paris in 2009. Furnishings consisted of: an (approximately) queen-sized bed, two night stands (without drawers), a cooking area against a wall, a small round table (approx 26 inches in diameter) with two uncomfortable straight back chairs that provided the only place to eat, use the computer, or watch TV, and a small wall-mounted TV (with zero or not much better English channels). The kitchen area provides a refrigerator and a stove top, but in general, is was not easy to use. (It was a struggle to cook our usual breakfast of bacon and eggs, but we can forgive a lot as long as the Chardonnay is cold at the end of the day!)

There is a clothes washing machine in a side building, but it may not help you much because there is no dryer.

Survival tips: (1) Before you go, go to your favorite internet map service and print out a close-up map of the neighborhood. Then ask your hosts to use it--rather than the small scale commercial map they use--to show you the locations of the neighborhood restaurants, grocery store, and taxis.
(2) Bring cat treats! (Or buy some at the grocery store!) Athens is the land of stray pets! We didn't see stray dogs near Athens Green Apartments (but did see a chocolate lab lounging in the shade of the Acropolis!) But the kitties abound near the apartments and are willing to approach for treats!

--Jeff

Room Tip: Ask! I can't provide details, but I assume the rooms that have been custom remodeled vary signi...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank strathj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

These very beautiful appartments (we occupied appartment 3) exceeded our expectations. First the location is excellent as you can walk to the Acropolis and to the Plaka and offers many good local tavernas nearby. The owners were extremely reliable throughout the renting process and during our stay. They arranged for the airport pickup which was really nice after a long trip, they gave us a multitude of recommendations and directions. The place was very calm and quiet and you certainly do not feel that you are downtown Athens. Everything was very clean and functional and there was a lot of cubbards if you want to unpack your luggage and make yourself at home. The garden is a nice bonus and helps to the everall peace of the place. We will absolutely go back if whwn we return to Athens.

Room Tip: Appartment 3 was excellent for a family of 4 (parents and two teenagers)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MireilleA122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our apartment (#6) was very nice and very clean. The bed was comfortable, the apartment was spacious, and the balcony/courtyard area was very nice. The apartment was located in a quiet area that is generally out of the busy areas of the city. Still, it is a few minutes walk to nearby mini markets and restaurants and only a 10-15 minute walk into the heart of Athens and the Acropolis area. Fotini was very helpful in arranging a transfer for us to the airport and was very flexible when we changed our arrival time three times. When we arrived, she showed us the facility and gave us a map on which she marked various landmarks and restaurant suggestions. The owner (who was the driver for our transfer) is very friendly and outgoing. He seems like a nice man. Both were very professional. I felt that the apartment was a great value for the cost, as it was nowhere near the cost of the hotels that I looked at in the Acropolis area. If you don't mind walking for 10 minutes, the savings in cost are worth it. The metro station is also a 10 minute walk from the apartment (although don't try it with all of your bags!). There is also a beautiful lemon tree in the courtyard, and we were able to pick and eat one of the delicious lemons.

The only downside is that these apartments are located on a somewhat sketchy street that has quite a bit of graffiti. So, on our initial approach, I was a bit apprehensive about what we had booked. However, there is a locked gate, so once inside the complex, we felt quite safe. Overall, it was a wonderful and pleasant stay, and we were happy with our choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adi314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

If you are interested in learning some experience of Greek life, you must stay here. Our downstairs room was clean, very comfortable, and very spacious. It was once a real home, the home where the owner, Ioannis, has lived for many years and has many childhood memories. He is a fun person, and a good man. He picked us up at the airport. That meant waiting for us, in addition, because we got lost trying to find the airport's exit. His assistant, Fotini, makes you feel very comfortable also. The neighborhood is interesting. If you are a sports fan, it is very close to the stadium where the first modern Olympic games were played. There are every kind of shop not filled with tourists within a short walk's distance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We loved our apartment in Athens and we could not have asked for a better hostess. She was incredibly helpful, even giving us advice on how to get stains out of some of our clothes! We were in a local neighborhood yet close to everything we wanted to see. We walked to all the amazing destinations in Athens and when we came "home" we ate in local taverns, which were terrific. This was reasonably priced, well located and overall a fantastic place to stay in Athens. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurotravelcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Before, we even arrived, Fotini made sure everything was in order. She arranged a ride to and from the airport for 40 euros each way (comparable to taxi prices) and was extremely gracious when Air France delayed our arrival twice. She was very helpful regarding finding our way around the city and getting us settled. Yannis, who owns the apartments, picked us up at the airport and made us feel right at home. The apartment was lovely and within walking distance to the Acropolis, the Plaka, and several other sites. The price is unbelievable, especially when you consider the location, the friendliness of the staff and how lovely it is. If I go back to Athens, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhondia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,843 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 282 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
InnAthens
InnAthens
#2 of 282 in Athens
280 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Green Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Green Apartments

Address: 25 Agras | Stadio, Athens 116 35, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Pangrati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Price Range: £42 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Green Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athens Green Apartments Luxury Apartment rentals in the heart of Athens with hotel amenities, in a quiet green surrounding in the exclusive neighbourhood of Mets. Athens Green Apartments are minutes walk from Greek Parliament and the Acropolis, 400 m from the National Botanical Gardens and attached to the pine forest of the Panathenaic (all-marble) stadium.Panathenaic Stadium is the place which the first Olympic Games of the modern world were held in 1896. Athens Green Apartments were designed and operated for a reason: They provide people who visit Athens for a short or long period a home with privacy, quite surroundings and big spacesTheir Courtyard is for meetings or parties and to invite their friends to house not a hotel roomThe philosophy and concept of Athens Green Apartments is that visitors in Athens who stay for long or short term can enjoy the modern design, privacy and green surroundings, in the historical city centre minutes walk of the major Athens Attractions. They are design for that they are no just local people apartments which are rented in a season or in absence of the owner. (Find your new true home away from home during your stay in Athens, either for 2 days or 10 months with peace of mind regarding linen cleaning, housekeeping and/or utilities such as internet, gas, water, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Athens Green Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing