We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent day with Alex in Athens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athens Tours Greece

Athens Tours Greece
Ranked #12 of 142 Transportation in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Athens, a city full of ancient history, is famous in the world. At a Michael Day Tour in Athens, we offer private choices for you to visit all the attractions in Athens and the mainland of Greece. Booking with us , you will get a lifetime trip!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent day with Alex in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My family had 1 day in Athens on a cruise ship stop. After reviewing several private tour companies I selected Athens Tour Greece as we had special needs (1 person in a wheelchair) and I selected them based on the good reviewed on tripadvisor. When our cruise ship arrived our driver, Alex, was there on time waiting for us.

As we drove to our destinations, Alex provided a significant amount of information and the van was equipped with video so we were able to see what Alex was describing.

Alex was exceptional in all regards and he made our day in Athens special. We toured many of the historical sites and Alex was very knowledgeable about Athens and its history. He also was friendly and witty, making it very nice to spend the day with him.

Alex was also very helpful and attentive with my mother (in a wheelchair) and there were places that we visited where she could not participate. Alex stayed with her and entertained her while we were gone and he went out of his way to make her comfortable. I had to laugh while we were at lunch when I looked over and he was feeding her food from his plate!

I would highly recommend Athens Tour Greece, particularly if you are lucky enough to have Alex.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Audry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony O, Manager at Athens Tours Greece, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
On behalf of Athens Tour Greece and especially Alex, we would like to thank you by heart for your so kind review. Our main concern is to provide excellent customer service and above all your own pleasure and satisfaction from the company's services.
We will be glad to seeing you in Athens again, and not only for a day, in order to guide you to other places so that you could discover more of Greece's beauty, as well as Greek civilization and hospitality.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    25
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
“Great Guide for Sounion & Athens!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Unfortunately our daughter was feeling a little sick on the day of our tour. Fortunately though, Alex was a great guide who was very flexible in where we went, time, and adjusting to what she was up for. In the end we still saw everything, but it was very nice how he would check on how she was doing and when a longer drive to give her time to rest was appropriate. Alex was very knowledgeable and friendly and his choice in restaurant for lunch was perfect. Efharisto ;)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trip4477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony O, Manager at Athens Tours Greece, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Eugene,
Parakalo!!!!
On behalf of Alex, Athens tour Greece would like to thank you for your so kind review!!!
It's one of our priorities to provide services that will make our customer happy and make them believe it was worthwhile joining our company.
Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our second onshore cruise excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Our cruise ship docked at Athens for the day and we joined a group of passengers from our ship on a day tour. As it is our first trip to Greece we find the tour guide very informative and friendly. Some passengers who know this place better and what they are looking for went on their own. For us the Acropolis stands out among other areas.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chong-wah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony O, Manager at Athens Tours Greece, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
On behalf of Konstantina we really appreciate your nice words!!!
Thank you for joining our group and we hope to see you again soon to explore more of Athens beauty's.
Best Regards from Greece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhopal, India
1 review
“Incredible Greece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

During the recent Eid holidays we had been to Greece. We had booked an emirates flight from Kuwait to Dubai and from Dubai to Athens. After landing in Athens we were picked by our tour co-operator and were dropped at The Marriot ,Athens. We had taken the 4 DAY Classical Coach Tour of Greece. Greece is one of the most scenic of European countries which is a pure blend of European Culture and the Mediterranean.
Our tour took us to the many places of archealogical significance during ancient Greece. On the first day we visited the Corinth canal and Mycenae. Mycenae gave its name to a period and a civilizationof 1350-1200 BC. It was founded by Perseus. In Mycenae we saw the Lion gate built by the Cyclops which was the entrance to citadel, Treasury of Atreus, Tomb of Aegisthus, Tomb of Clytaemnestra and the Cistern.
We then crossed the Rion Bridge to Olympia the ancient Olympic village.As a sport enthusiast myself ,I was looking forward to visiting Olympia and the ancient Olympic village where the first Olympics were held in early 8th century BC and then were held every four years and acquired a pan Hellenic character.We learnt here,that in ancient Greece,only men were allowed to participate in games and the victors were honored with an `Olive branch crown’which was the greatest honour bestowed on them! This was where we had the Temple of Zeus,the powerful god of gods, Temple of Hera(his consort) a Gymnasium where the athletes practiced athletics, the Palaestra where the athletes practiced wrestling, boxing and jumping, the Bouleuerion(the council chamber), the Hippodrome and the Stadium where the games were held. I literally ran in the stadium to get a feel of the then Olympic race!It was such a wonderful experience! The archealogical dept of Greece has set up beautiful museums at all it’s ancient sites.At Olympia museum,we saw the busts’ of Zeus, Marcus Aurelius, Hermes, Nike of Paionias, Miltiades and Apollo(the oracular god).
Our next destination was Delphi,the once most powerful seat of Ancient Greece,during the 4-5th BC. Delphi was believed to be the center of the world because Zeus, the god of gods sent 2 golden eagles from both the edges of the world. The eagles met above a place and Zeus threw a stone at that place and the stone fell in Delphi.Delphi was known for the most famous`Oracle of Apollo’`The shrine for Apollo being here’ .Tourists flock to `Athena pronaia’ the sanctuary of Athena, and `The Oracle of Apollo’. The Oracle of Apollo was an important place of worship where people prayed to seek answers, to know what would happen in future, and to know of upcoming battles.It is believed ,all kings of provinces near by would await the Oracle,which would be a divination of the Great God Apolla delivered by Pythia,a commoner.It is said,the battles of troy were Oracles too! In Delphi we found the ruins of the `Treasury of Athenians’, ` Treasury of siphnians’, statue of Naxian Sphinx, Tholos, amphitheater, stadium of Pythian games and the sacrificial altar. The sacrificial altar was the place where the people sacrificed goats to Apollo.Our Guide made us realize how significant was God Apollo,to the ancient Greeks.Apollo,was Zeus’s son,and was the god of healing,sun,music,poetry and prophecy. After visiting the oracle of Apollo we visited the museum. In the museum we saw the real statue of sphinx, statue of Pythia and we saw the miniature oracle of Apollo.
After Delphi,we visited the monasteries of Kalampaka. The St. Stephen monastery and the St. Roussano monastery,marvelously wood carved,both at the beautiful breathtaking mountains of Medeora.
The final day we visited the acropolis of Athens. Acropolis means `the edge of the city’. We could see the whole of Athens the hilltop . We visited, Parthenon the sacred place of worship of Athena the goddess of Athens, temple of Athena Nike, Propylaea and the Erechteinon. Our Greece tour was in fact a historic foray into ancient Greek Mythology,their Famous gods of worship,their civilization,which served as an eye-opener to me,since as Indians we too are inheritors of a great cultural Heritage.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank raghavi1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony O, Manager at Athens Tours Greece, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Greece always reveals the treasures of every place you visit!!!
And indeed there are many to reveal!!!
We are more than pleased to find out how thrilled you were by the sightseeing and we are looking forward to seeing you again in Greece to discover with us more of its beauty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a tour of Athens!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We chose Athens Tour Greece for our tour of Athens during a cruise in October 2013. We could not have made a more excellent choice! We only had a day, so our limited hours were important to have been filled with what we wanted to see. Having a tour guide who can take you to all the sights you want to see AND possesses unlimited knowledge about the area and its history is so important. Yanni was our guide and we could not have been more pleased. Working within our time issues, Yanni saw to it that we spent our time wisely and constantly provided us with historical information along the way. Yanni not only took to the sights that one would want to see in Athens such as the Acropolis, Parthenon, etc., but took us up a mountain for a stunning view of Athens that few tourists get to experience. Do not visit Athens without going to the Ancient Agora. Yanni explained all that we would be seeing there, including walking where Plato, Aristotle, and Socrates had discussed democracy and philosophy. He explained how we would view the tara cotta chips in the museum, next to the agora, where the Greeks cast their votes in the very first democratic election in history. See the marble slab where speakers stood and talked to the people. It all made the hair on my arms stand up in awe. If you are going to visit Athens during a cruise, think twice about booking a cruise excursion where you sit back on a bus, and follow the mob with a guide that you usually cannot hear anyway, moving along at their pace, not yours. Instead, book your visit to this ancient and beautiful city with "Athens Tour Greece" and you will not be disappointed!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Bagpiper549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony O, Manager at Athens Tours Greece, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Athens Tour Greece and Yanni wants to thank you by heart for your so kind review!!!
It's really very important to choose the best way for visiting Athens city and learn about its history and its culture. Our company and its knowledgeable corporates are a guarantee indeed! Thank you for recognizing it. Providing quality services is one of our aims.
We would be more than happy seeing you again in Greece and explore with us more of the country's ancient history outside Athens as well.
Thanks again for choosing Athens Tour Greece for your day tour!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Athens Tours Greece also viewed

 

Been to Athens Tours Greece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing