We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the price”
Review of A for Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
A for Athens
Ranked #3 of 54 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

A brand new hotel (opened spring 2011) with a trendy design and a welcoming and young staff. The cherry on the cake is a great breakfast on the rooftop terasse with a breathtaking view of the acropolis, outdoors. Plus I paid just 110 euros.
And all of this In the middle of the action in Athens, very central and full of lively outdoor bars

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oursbud o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 751 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

Great location in Monastiraki square, facing the Acropolis and right by Metro. Besides the location & the view, the rooms were clean and big (some have kitchenettes) and we loved the breakfast on the rooftop terrace.
At night it gets a little busy as the terrace turns into what seems hottest party spot in town so you don't need to go far for cocktails. Overall a perfect spot for exploring Athens!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelFanSFBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

If there's a hotel with a better view of the entire Acropolis at night, then I want to stay there. The view from our "wide-view" room on the 3rd floor was spectacular, especially at night with the entire hillside lit up.
Location is, literally, less than 100m from the Metro entrance at Monastaraki square, across the road. The rooms are brand new, comfortable, and modern, the bathroom was great with a rainhead shower and an internal window. Bed was very comfortable. The only issue is the tiny (one normal sized person & a suitcase) Lift. (Elevator for our American friends). At night there is a long queue for it with people going to the popular cocktail bar on the roof terrace. THAT was also excellent, but it gets busy so be warned.

The staff were VERY friendly, The guy on duty ran out with juice drinks while we waited for a taxi VERY early in the morning, as "we couldn't leave without SOME breakfast!" extra bag storage was no problem (for a week while we went to Cyclades), and everything worked as advertised. Good stuff.
GET a wide view room. It's worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoWbagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My husband and I spent 7 wonderful nights at the A for Athens hotel and couldn't have been happier. Everything was perfect from the room with its magnificent view, to the hotel receptionists (Lea, Cristos, Andreas, among others) who bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable and pleasant, to its location on Monistaraki Square directly below the Acropolis in the Plaka district. Everything was within walking distance or a few stops away on the Metro Line. We especially appreciated being able to walk to all the main monuments such as the Acropolis, Syndagma Square and the Parlement, and to the main shopping areas for clothing, souvenirs, Antiques, book stores, and the Flea market. The hotel itself was functional and decorated in a kind of modern Zen style. Our room had its own air-conditioning so we could control the temperature (much appreciated after a long day of walking under a torrid sun), the spacious shower had a window onto the main bedroom enabling us to take a shower while admiring the Acropolis and the ancient Roman agora...an incredible experience. The hotel has a bar overlooking Monistaraki Square, the Acropolis, and the city of Athens which served an incredible buffet breakfast including fruit with Greek yogurt, Greek specialties, all kinds breads with jams and honey, croissants, cereals, eggs, juices, etc. We feasted on the food and the views every morning and went there for a drink in the evening to watch the sunset. The hotel staff arranged excursions for us to Epidaurus and Mykines in the Peloponnese (the bus came to pick us up) and we took the metro line directly to the harbor in Athens where we were able to catch a Flying Dolphin hydrafoil boat to Aegina and Aigisti islands where we were able to swim at Marathon beach.in the Aegean sea. Therefore not having a pool in the hotel was not missed as we were out and about all day long and we figured that the pools in the bigger hotels are usually so crowded at this time of the year that we wouldn't have enjoyed them anyway. Also being in a smaller hotel enabled us to get to know the staff better and gave us a more personal and intimate view of Athens which of course deepened our appreciation of this beautiful and ancient city. Also one piece of advice...pay the price to get a room with a view. You won't regret it. I walked all around Athens and never regretted choosing A for Athens. Its location, service and view can't be beat!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeborahSue52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

An oasis of tranquility in the bustling center of Athens. Rooms spacious and very clean, new towels and perfect bed. From the rooftop an unequaled view on the Acropolis whilst sipping from a cool cocktail. The reception personal earns a great applause in the pleasant, 'fresh' and friendly way they handle the ongoing flow of people passing by whilst giving them all the proper attention and adequate information.

Rooftop bar seems a bit undermanned and therefore sometimes longer waiting times before your drinks are arriving.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in building '1'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Since i live in Athens, i have no opinion for the rooms though everything looks bright new and clean and the reviews confirm that they're as good as they look... What i would like to add with this review are a few important points that i see/know as an athenian and as a regular rooftop's bar visitor/customer.
1)The hotel is IDEAL for young couples or friends or solo travellers - i think older couples might find it a bit noisy.The building is old but they turned it to a hotel recently (before a few months, less than a year for sure) so they kept only the walls, they builded it almost from the start and now it looks brand new inside and outside.
2) The LOCATION is simply fantastic. Metro is only 50 meters/yards away, but EVERYTHING is in walking distance. All the important archeological sites, all the nightlife hot spots, many restaurants, the street (flea) market, the malls and the brand stores, everything!
3)It has one of the best ROOFTOP bars in Athens, with fantastic views to the acropolis (especially at night), the ancient romans market, the old observatory which is builded in 1900 and it is nearby the pnyka hill (where the philoshophers use to do their everyday speeches), nice and beautiful people, fantastic clean coctails and drinks (and this not given you know). A bit pricey ( 7- 9€ / drink) but trust me it worths it. You can end your day with the best way, a very relaxing drink on the rooftop bar. (i just tried to upload a small video as attached but it is 35MB and it is not accepted as "heavy"...) .

Finally, as i am a frequent citybreak traveller, i see in this hotel all the things i'm looking for and would like to have when i travel . So, i totally recommend it to you.

Have a nice trip whatever you choose to do, if you want to ask anything about Athens do not hesitate to ask, i'll be glad to help :o)

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank nikosgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Room Tip: Excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elviraModesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,384 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 281 in Athens
1,801 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,385 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#28 of 281 in Athens
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A for Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A for Athens

Address: 2 - 4 Miaouli, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range: £94 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A for Athens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to give an A to the best of Athens. A for Athens is the new city design hotel in Athens. Located just across the Acropolis and above Monastiraki Square, A for Athens offers a truly unique viewing experience to the city’s most famous monument. The hotel is next to Monastiraki station, which serves for easy transportation to and from the Airport and Piraeus Port and sets all the city’s excitements in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your A for Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a For Athens Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing