We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and nice rooms, but very noisy cocktail bar on top level so beware of rooms on level 5.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of A for Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
A for Athens
Ranked #3 of 68 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location and nice rooms, but very noisy cocktail bar on top level so beware of rooms on level 5.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

It's was hard to recommend after our initial experience, even though its a good location and the rooms are modern and clean.

When we checked in we were told we were getting an upgrade.

If you haven't read already, the hotel has a cocktail bar / nightclub located on the top level and it also has roof top bar. Our "upgraded" room was located on the floor directly below (5th floor beware!!!). The music is loud, which we weren't told about at the reception desk. What was even worse, was the extremely loud noises from people moving about, and dragging tables and chairs around. Adding to the noise of the tables and chair/music combo, was a bonus flushing sound, every time the toilet was used.  I was unable to sleep to the point I had to ask to move rooms. The noise was the ultimate reason, but the fact that the Internet wasn't working and a light in our room wouldn't stop flashing like a strobe even though  it was switched off, was reason enough on its own! There were no other rooms available (upgrade-yeah right!), and when I requested the move, they asked if it was because of the tables and chairs making loud noises in the upstairs bar (so they are aware of the noises). I also told them about the light and the Internet, which their response was "we have a lot of problems we the Internet no working"!

The operators still have a lot to learn about operating their establishment, but they are aware of the issues they have.
My suggestion, make sure you are staying on the bottom 3 levels to avoid disappointment. We were up until 4am, because once the bar closes, they drag in more tables and chairs to setup for breakfast, when the noise starts all over again at 7:30am. Ended up getting 3.5 hours sleep the first night.

The next morning they were very accommodating and apologetic and we were transferred to another room on the second floor which was quieter and very nice.  Internet for the remainder of our stay, and a discount off the cost of our two night stay because of the inconvenience.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoefromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    338
    81
    32
    19
See reviews for
149
463
74
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Right across from placa and 10 minutes walk to acropolis. Adjacent neighborhood showing the signs of a nation in distress as is all of Athens. Rooms are clean and decent but nothing great. Could probably get a nicer place for less $.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57783Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
378 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We ( me and my brother ) stayed at this place for 3 nights ( 17th, 18th and 19th of May 2012). The person at the reception speaks good English and we were shown a room which has 2 huge windows facing the side road and not the one in front of Monastriaki Station. So, we could not get the view of Acropolis. But the room size was quite big! This is not a fancy hotel like King George or Marriott in Athens, more of a street hotel types, but it is located bang opposite the Monastriaki Station and the famous Syntagma shopping area is only 5 minutes by walk. All the cafes, shopping areas, markets, flea market on sunday.... everything is happening in front of the hotel! This hotel has a very happening bar in the 6th floor facing the Acropolis and young people of Athes are queuing up from morning 11' 0 clock itself! The bar is very small, but filled with people. Only problem is of the cigarette fumes which makes you suffocating! Very good service in this bar. This hotel doe not have any restaurant and this same bar is the breakfast space in the morning which is nothing fabulous, but adequate.

The market place around you is active till 3 AM and therefore, one cannot sleep peacefully, as there was too much noise on the roads by the week end revellers on the road! The room is fitted with a fridge and all other things work! One person cleans these rooms everyday!

One can wander around the streets till 3 or 4 AM and still can reach the hotel safely!

Nice hotel!

Room Tip: The normal rate is euro 140 for rooms facing Acropolis and others at euro 100 and some rooms are sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qwelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

A for Athens is the best choice we live in Athens which provide amazing Acropolis view and fashion roof bar. This roof bar is also Athens famous bar around young people in Athens. Furthemore, I strong recommend the best staff Vangelis who provide so wonderful service in anytime. If you are interested in living in A for Athens, please contact with Vangelis! A for Athens是我們在雅典住到最好的飯店,因為交通非常方便,從機場搭捷運一線到達(Monastriraki),離開捷運站也只要兩分鐘,超級便利。飯店前面就是廣場,有各式小吃和漂亮的餐廳,生活機能相當好,後面是中央市場,逛起來非常過癮。請務必住面對衛城的房型(請和最棒的服務人員Vangelis,他真的專業又有熱情!),夜景真的好漂亮!房間走的是現代極簡設計風格好舒服,前往衛城用走的話約15分鐘就到了,這裡真的很棒,請不要住憲法廣場附近,住這裡是你最好的選擇!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atticuswu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here, a truly special place. The hotel's location is fantastic as all the main sights are within walking distance. The views to the Acropolis from the roof top bar (breakfast buffet is served here and it turns into a bar throughout the rest of the day) are outstanding. Staff are really friendly and helpful, too. The room was spacious and the balcony lovely. The only problem was trying to sleep on the Saturday night as the music from the rooftop bar and noises from the square were pretty intense until the early hours of the morning. However, the next night was nice and quiet.
Would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to lots of friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMatawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Probably the best location for visitors, and even with families. We travelled here with 2 kids - 13 & 10. Had a great time in Athens. The metro station is right across the street, close to most locations and shopping as well. Highly recommend the place. The breakfast at the top was something the kids used to look forward to. We were on the lower floor and hence didn't get disturbed by the partying on the rooftop.

Only thing which would have been great to have is a tea/coffee facility within the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nayan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

A for Athens is located right off Monastiraki Square. Right beside a metro entrance/ exit. We got 2 Acropolis rooms (11 and 51) and 2 non-view rooms (11, 45) and they were both HUGE. Room 51 (with view) has a balcony with seating BUT it's a noisy room because of the restaurant/ bar located on the top floor. DO NOT GET THIS ROOM IF YOU ARE A LIGHT SLEEPER. We asked for a room change and they were able to accommodate. We were transferred to Room 21, again a view room with a balcony but no seating (it was small). Rooms in the back had no view but were very quiet and even bigger than the view rooms. Rooms have kitchenettes, so perfect for long stays.

You can walk to Syntagma Square (a few minutes), Acropolis, Agora, Plaka in a few minutes. Longer to Hadrian's Arch and Temple of Zeus but metro/ buses are easy to use.

Hotel Staff are very helpful and very nice. Breakfast was good enough to last you til lunchtime.

We loved our stay. The rooms are new and clean. The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are big and CLEAN (very important!). Showers only in our rooms (no tubs). They have toiletries so no need to bring anything.

Will recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: View rooms are amazing but do not get room on the 5th floor. Noise from the 6th floor restaurant/ ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommy_tere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,851 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A for Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A for Athens

Property: A for Athens
Address: 2 - 4 Miaouli, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A for Athens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to give an A to the best of Athens. A for Athens is the new city design hotel in Athens. Located just across the Acropolis and above Monastiraki Square, A for Athens offers a truly unique viewing experience to the city’s most famous monument. The hotel is next to Monastiraki station, which serves for easy transportation to and from the Airport and Piraeus Port and sets all the city’s excitements in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your A for Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a For Athens Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing