We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A for Athens
Nearby Hotels
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$387
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Adrian Hotel(Athens)
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$327
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$315
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fresh Hotel(Athens)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,119)
Filter reviews
1,119 results
Traveller rating
607
370
86
35
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
370
86
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonastiraki squarerooftop barmetro stationbusy squaretop flooracropolis viewbring earplugslight sleeperan amazing viewhotel guestsflea marketwhere breakfast is servedperfect locationnoisy at nightfirst floorrooms are largewithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
675 - 680 of 1,119 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The rooms were very well appointed and clean. Loved the shower. They guy on the front desk was extremely helpful, particularly with restaurant locations. The view from the upstairs cafe where we had breakfast was panoramic. Enjoyed the breakfast. Will definitely stay here next time we are in Athens.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeliGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed for 3 days at the beginning of our trip and came back at the end for 2 more days. The place is great, just across the street from the Monastiraki Metro Station, which is perfect if you come from the airport.
But...
There is a very popular bar on top of the hotel (6th floor I think). Always crowded and very noisy. If you take a room from the lower floors, then you have the noise from the street till very late.
Best solution : ask for a room on the back side of the hotel, level 2 or 3. No noise and all the pleasure of being in a great spot to visit old Athens.
Last thing : the view from the room on the street side is incredible, magnificent Acropolis !

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardMarcheterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We arrived very early in the morning and our room wasn't ready so the extremely helpful staff sent us up to the divine roof top cafe for breakfast. After 40 hours of flying, this was exactly what we needed and the wonderful breakfast, coffee and the Parthenon glinting in the sunlight set the tone for a very enjoyable stay. In fact, we kept coming back and every time, we were greeted like old friends. The lift is a problem but we preferred to see this as an opportunity to get the exercise of using the lovely marble staircase. The cafe upstairs is noisy at night, but then so is all of Athens. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We found the rooms at the back quieter but a little darker
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel was an amazing place for our all-too-short stay in Athens. Its great location, right on Monastiraki Square, posits you right in the heart of old Athens; and, as other reviewers have written, this is one hotel not to skimp the extras on. Everyone should try and book one of the rooms at the front, with the breathtaking view of the Acropolis.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. When we checked in (on a day of 40 degrees!) the air con wasn't working properly: no problem, madam - someone was contacted to fix it immediately. We then mistakenly locked our safe (long story!): again, no problem - within a few hours they had our passports out. Finally, I had also been quite unwell, and we asked for a very late check-out so I could stay cool before our flights: again, they did everything they could to help us.

The bar is well worth a cocktail or two, and although I agree that the area is noisy, the windows did seem to bar most of the street traffic out completely. We were on a lower floor, so did not notice the bar noise late into the evening.

One final thing: we asked the hotel to arrange our cab to the airport. They explained that this booked cars service cost 5Euros more than just flagging a cab on the street (40 compared to 35) but we asked them to go ahead. If you are flying in or out of Athens, I can't recommend highly enough how much more you get for your 5 Euros - an immaculate air-conditioned cab, with a driver who not only supplied us with ice-cold bottles of water for the journey, but got our trolley at the airport and loaded our bags up onto it.

A great place, and we will certainly book here again next time we get a chance to visit Athens.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracie-potato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is our second stay here. Our first stay we were blown away by the full views of the Acropolis. (They have standard rooms without the view, and premium ones with the view for 20€ more).
Our first stay room even had a one-way mirror in the bathroom where you could, in the privacy of your shower, look out at the Acropolis. Stunning is the only way to describe the views we have had.

The location is fantastic--across from Monastiraki square and two subway lines.

The rooms are spacious, roomy, almost like a suite. The breakfasts, up in the 6th floor bar are better than average for upscale Greek hotels.

The rooms with a view are serviced by one elevator, those without by a second elevator. The elevators hold 3 persons.

The bar, alas, makes the stay less enjoyable than it should be. It shares a splendid view of the Acropolis, hence uses the same elevator that services the premium rooms with the view. It is extremely popular and starting by 16:00 (4 PM) the bar crowd hogs the elevators. It is very irritating as a guest in a premium room to have to go down or up 4 flights of stairs because the bar patrons are hogging the elevators. The staff is cognizant about the problem, and when you come in and are faced with long lines of bar patrons lined up for the elevator, they intercede and bump you to the front of the line--as they should. The big problem is trying to come down from your room in the elevator. The elevator is hogged by bar patrons going up to floor 6 from floor 0, or vice-versa and no hotel guests on their room floors have a chance to use the elevator to go down. We have been on the 4th floor both visits, and have yet to be able to use the elevator after 16:00. The view made up for the inconvenience the first stay, but on the second it is just a big irritation.

The bar problem is compounded by the fact that many patrons use the stairs rather than wait for the elevator and are very noisy coming up and down. In addition, the bar is very noisy (so much so that we quickly stopped using it for drinks).

Another complaint is the fact that for extended periods of time the wifi internet connectivity has been down (for as much as 30 hours).

This should be a great hotel. It is worth a one-time visit just because the rooms and their views are so grand. But on a second visit the inconveniences make it unsatisfactory.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews