We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A grade!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A for Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
A for Athens
Ranked #3 of 65 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Gambier
Level Contributor
215 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A grade!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

This property is a relief of modern comfort and design after staying at perhaps too many historic properties of quirky facilities. Plumbing that actually works!! Shower screen that doesn't leak!! Oh joy, oh bliss.
We stayed on the fourth floor with a pretty good view of the Acropolis and Parthenon which is gloriously lit up at night. The room was large, well decorated and well provisioned including a small kitchen sink area. Bathroom was large and well laid out.
The suburb it is in can quickly move into being seedy and a bit scary so stay on the main streets when roaming around. The hotel entry is on a narrow side street which had us tricked for a while. It's a short walk from the train station across a market place and busy street, but still reasonably convenient.
Breakfast is served on the sixth floor where the view to the Acropolis is completely stunning. The breakfast is quite good for Greece too with a reasonable selection of hot foods, breads and cereals.
The staff are excellent and very helpful, full marks to them.

Room Tip: The bar on the sixth floor can be noisy at night with the party scene going on, opt for a middle flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolMum64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    331
    80
    31
    18
See reviews for
146
455
72
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Don't judge this hotel by it's exterior. Pleasant, very helpful, English speaking staff that provided some of the best customer service we received anywhere, Our room on the fourth floor was very comfortable, immaculately clean, large shower. We had a little balcony that allowed us to watch the entertainment in the square below as well as an incredible view of the Acropolis as the sun changed its features and it became illuminated at night - quite spectacular!
In the middle of everything! Montastiraki sub station right around the corner. Hop on/off bus a block away. Excellent walking trail close, many historical sights very close. Great local shopping and restaurants everywhere! Copperware, leather...bakeries, geleto stands, flea market and more.
The outdoor roof top 'lounge' with amazing view, starts with breakfast and goes till the wee hours of the night. When you have had enough, put in your ear plugs and call it a day.
$35 taxi ride to the airport.
l

Room Tip: View of the square and Acropolis is a must. Recommend fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TB2Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were given a warm and helpful reception. The room was clean with contemporary appointments and boasting a relatively spacious bathroom. The view of the Acropolis from the balcony was nice, especially with bustling Monastiraki square in the foreground! The commotion/noise of the city did not bother us nor did the bar on the sixth floor (we were on the 4th floor). The elevator is almost as small as an old style phone booth. Lines of 20 somethings from the city could be seen waiting to get to the rooftop lounge at night -- which is also a nice place to have breakfast while looking out at old and new Athens. Hotel patrons are afforded priority on the elevator. The Wi-fi in room was good. We would stay here again if we needed to be in that part of Athens. I'd give it 3.5 circles if i could as it is a bit above average.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 5th floor unless you are a heavy sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoopashoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

The noise from the rooftop bar never stop. And I am not talking about music or people voices. The rooms are sound proof. The chairs and the high heels are banging like hell all night. Everything else is perfect. The location is one of the hottest in Athens if you are looking for bars. You can see Acropolis from every place you go.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Great location, fun bar, beautiful room.
We arrived at A for Athens after a significant flight delay. Our travel agent contacted the hotel to let them know, but when we arrived at 2am they informed us that a guest had an emergency and had to extend their stay. We were quite disappointed, since was the start of our honeymoon. The staff arranged a taxi to take us to a hotel where they had already arranged for a room for us- so although it was frustrating, we were quite well taken care of. We were very happy to be able to spend our second night at A for Athens.The room was large and modern. The bathroom was wonderful! We enjoyed having a drink and snacks at the bar after the sun had set. Convenient location- when we arrived we walked approx. 10 minutes from a bus in Syntagma Square since the metro was no longer running. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: we were on the first floor- some noise from the street but nothing to complain about. Overall, reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. Location is perfect, just in front of Acropolis and Ancient Agora. All is at your hands ... subway, taxi, restaurants, ... In case, very simple but good room service.
The lift is quite busy, but as resident you have the priority.

Room Tip: Perfect for family: but remember to request a deluxe room with acropolis view. A bit expensive, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Jetairfly changed their departing time from Brussels and as a result of it we arrived only by midnight.
Nevertheless we were welcomed warmly by 2 friendle Greek's and got a nice clean room at the 3rd floor. We got the booked room. Nice looking modern clean, no carpet on the floor but laminate.
Room had a safebox and enough space to put away our stuff. The bathroom is large enough with a large walk-in rain shower.
The breakfast is at the 6th floor, and from there you have a panoramic view over the Acropolis, fantastic. The same place in the evenings is turned into a cocktail bar, young and old, Athenians and hotel guests gather with a drink and enjoy the view.
The hotel is getting a 3rd elevator which is really not a lux but a need, the other 2 elevators are rather small and specially during the cocktail time it's difficult to get to that 6th floor. We did not feel it as a disadvantage because hotel guests have priority at the elevator.
A for Athens is a great hotel in a great city, we now know already we'll be back and it wont be long.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan_vandervliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#28 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A for Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A for Athens

Property: A for Athens
Address: 2 - 4 Miaouli, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A for Athens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to give an A to the best of Athens. A for Athens is the new city design hotel in Athens. Located just across the Acropolis and above Monastiraki Square, A for Athens offers a truly unique viewing experience to the city’s most famous monument. The hotel is next to Monastiraki station, which serves for easy transportation to and from the Airport and Piraeus Port and sets all the city’s excitements in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your A for Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a For Athens Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing