We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for day&NIGHT tourism in Madrid”
Review of A for Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A for Athens
Ranked #3 of 53 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Wonderful view on the Acropolis (even from the shower cabin!), rather large and pleasant room, good bed, nice guy at the reception desk... I really enjoyed the stay at this hotel. Fashionable bar on the top floors with 360º view on Athens. The location is ideal, half-way between Gazi nightlife and Syntagma square.

I didn´t suffer at all from the noise, but I can't really tell as I was on the 3rd floor, I spent only 1 night on a Tuesday and went to bed around 4am. BUT the street (Ermou) is noisy and I wouldn't recommend a room on the 5th floor, just below the bar.

Very recommendable for night owls, not so much for families or those looking for a relaxing place (Athens is not relaxing anyway).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frédéric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location. Both times we had a room looking towards Acropolis. Beautiful view. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were a good size. The hotel is next to the metro from the airport or peraius and very close to the shopping and the archaeological sites. Ask for a room on the 2,3 or 4 floor. As it is in town on a popular square earplugs will definitely help. It is worth staying in this hotel. Particularly if you do not mind the noise

Caution: The second time we had a room on the 5th floor under the bar which is very popular. So it was noisy till 3 - 4 am. But we did get a discount when we complained.

I rate it 3 only because of the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor to be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller_eu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The view is great, with best location, but with tons of young noisy youth who come endlessly for the bar.
Very expensive, compared to much better alternatives & cheaper where I stayed 100 meters away.
There are 3 tiny elevators but each one goes to another part of the hotel; accordingly, I used the stairs instead of waiting & waiting...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tavi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My partner & I stayed at this hotel for 1 night ( thank god) and after getting up to our room (41) with 2 separate trips in the worlds smallest elevator, we were pleasantly surprised at how big & modern our room was.

The location was very good as we caught the metro from the airport straight to the hotel (cost about 16 euros for 2 of us). The receptionist mentioned there was a rooftop bar where we could buy dinner and have a drink, so we went up there on the 6th floor and did exactly that with a most spectacular view, however little did we know that this roof top bar which was full of people, thumping music & musical chairs was going to continue throughout the entire night and into the morning. We had to be up at 5 30am the next day to catch a ferry across to Santorini, and even with ear plugs in, between the musical chairs & music coming from the rooftop bar, and the thumping bongo drums on the street across the hotel, we had about an hour sleep, if that.

On checking out early that morning, we complained about the racket to the male receptionist, who just smiled and said "yes, well it's a world famous bar", as if that made it ok.

Our advice, if you want sleep, do Not stay here!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle2782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Currently staying at A for Athens. Wow what a place. Fantastic views what a way to wake up in the morning to Athens. Hotel is fantastic.. Do not hesitate to book. What a great find through a recommendation.

Room Tip: Definately book a room with a view. Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for two day in August. Firstly, the hotel was just there as we came off the train, right on the square. We dropped off our bags and went off for the day.

The room was very clean and modern. Plenty of space, toiletries etc.

Breakfast was very good ,lots to choose from and with a great view.

One an evening the roof top bar, came to life was was packed by 7pm both nights, great to watch the sunset and see the city light up at night.

Athens is a dirty city, but A for Athens was very clean, great views of the historic sights, great place for a cocktail and close to the touristy bits.

Top tip, ask for a low floor room, this keeps you away from the music from the roof top terrace, if thats what you like.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steves_been
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stopped off here after getting a late ferry in and before flying out the following day - it was the perfect location for that as it is effectively on top of the tube station with lines that service both the port and airport. The room was large and clean and the cocktail bar is just an amazing and fun spot to people / Acropolis watch until the early hours. The breakfast room was a little dirty (just not cleaned well from the bar the night before), but then the view made up for it. Very friendly reception staff too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank experience_things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,442 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,944 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A for Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A for Athens

Address: 2 - 4 Miaouli, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range: £81 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A for Athens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to give an A to the best of Athens. A for Athens is the new city design hotel in Athens. Located just across the Acropolis and above Monastiraki Square, A for Athens offers a truly unique viewing experience to the city’s most famous monument. The hotel is next to Monastiraki station, which serves for easy transportation to and from the Airport and Piraeus Port and sets all the city’s excitements in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your A for Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a For Athens Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing