We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best view”
Review of A for Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
A for Athens
Ranked #3 of 70 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best view”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

If you want to wake up in the morning and the first thing to see is the Parthenon this is your place to go. The hotel is located in the old city of Athens a really crowded and bit noisy place but with many interesting little cafés and restaurants and lots of fun. At the roof garden there is a great bar with the best coctails and a cosmopolitic atmoshere.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank El E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    341
    81
    34
    19
See reviews for
150
468
75
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colmar, France
Level Contributor
177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

When we arrived a bit strung out from travelling for five and a halv hours on the boat from Santorini and the fraught taxi trip through evening traffic, there was Vangelis to soothe and calm us down. The hotel is straight on the Monastiraki square, you can see the metro station from your window, and the view of the Acropolis is just unbelieaveable. We even got a rainbow ..
.We had a lovely big room with 3 huge windows, nicely and discretely decorated,, and lovely included brakfast on the roor terrace.
Great hotel. Only sour grapes - why is the lift so small?

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ithaca96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Picked this hotel for its's location and wasn't disappointed. Overlooking Monistiraki square and the view up to the Acropolis was fabulous. Comfortable hotel with fab cocktail bar on the roof top. Couldn't fault it, highly recommend it

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fletch1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights while on vacation last summer, absolutely stunning view!

The staff spoke English, were supper friendly and accommodating, they told us which restaurants to go to, where to shop. We were two girls, so they also made suggestions of where not to go by foot after dark, and gave us numerous taxi numbers, very helpful.

The prices were reasonable (100-125 euros per night roughly) the rooms were very spacious, clean, modern, trendy, had an abundance of towels, toiletries etc. It was mid august and the heat was intolerable, sleeping with the air conditioner was a must - the linens, pillows and duvets were remarkably comfortable!

The Roof Garden/Terrace view of the Monastiraki square was phenomenal. The Bar served the best mai tais and mojitos, the atmosphere and vibe was incredible. Loved my stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very centrally located. From Athens airport 40 minutes by metro. Very good service. I had a tremendous room with view of Acropolis and own terrace! Breakfast nice at the rooftop. Disco at night might be a challenge for those who like to sleep before midnight. Earplugs help.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Acropolis view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Per H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a room on the third floor with view of the Parthenon and much more. The room was the largest we had in Greece, and very modern and clean. Breakfast on the 6th floor was very good and had an even better view than our room. The staff were friendly and helpful. The negative was the noise: I guess this comes with the location overlooking Monastiraki, but I was surprised how much noise came in. We slept poorly every night. If you need a good night's sleep maybe don't choose a room with a view or don't choose this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood park
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights (April 14-20) Unfortunately its seems that our agent booked us in the least desirable rooms from a location perspective. I read rave reviews of the spectacular view with envy as our was that of spray painted walls that faced the side street where the entrance is located, room 25. I would strongly recommend that if you get any room facing this street that you change it. The noise during the night was almost non stop. Screaming people, reving motorcycles ect. The hotel has a very popular rooftop bar so there are many drunk and noisy people leaving in the middle of the night. Additionally the road out front is a major through fare for people to walk about. I did not have a single good night sleep while there.

The above aside, the location is very good and in the heart of many restaurants, shops and pick up location if you want to do the hop on hop off bus. The rooms are very minimal. The bed rock hard, but honestly no harder that a lot of hotel beds I've slept in while travelling. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast served was good. The bar/restaurant had a simple food menu. Although signs say no smoking it is not enforced so if that is a issue be aware. However the same applies anywhere in Athens it seemed. Based on the comfort of my bed and the noise level endured nightly I can only give this hotel 3/5 stars.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing the street of the hotel entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaSherwoodpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A for Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A for Athens

Property: A for Athens
Address: 2 - 4 Miaouli, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A for Athens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to give an A to the best of Athens. A for Athens is the new city design hotel in Athens. Located just across the Acropolis and above Monastiraki Square, A for Athens offers a truly unique viewing experience to the city’s most famous monument. The hotel is next to Monastiraki station, which serves for easy transportation to and from the Airport and Piraeus Port and sets all the city’s excitements in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your A for Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a For Athens Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing