We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That is how you feel Athens”
Review of A for Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
A for Athens
Ranked #3 of 79 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“That is how you feel Athens”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

As you enter the hotel, a receptionist with a great smile welcomes you. There is a special elevator for hotel guests, since the top floor bar/restaurant attracts many other tourists. Rooms are big enough for everybody. The hotel is in the center of Athens. You can go wherever you want using the subway line just next to the hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room that has a balcony viewing the great Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayhany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    347
    83
    34
    20
See reviews for
153
480
76
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had made reservations at another hotel but went with A for Athens because of a review I read on WSJ. I am very glad I made the switch. The location - right on Monastiraki Square which some guidebooks call Souvlaki Row because of the excellent and affordable souvlakis, short walk to the ancient Agora and all the pretty restaurants across it. Enjoy their generous breakfast while soaking up the spectacular view. The rooftop bar gets packed though, get there early. Staff is gracious and very helpful - the concierge Magda has to be the nicest lady in all of Athens :-) We tried both the standard room and the one with the Acropolis view - I don't think we missed much by staying in the standard room because we could go to the rooftop to sip a drink while enjoying the view and we really only went back to our room to sleep. Some reviewers commented about the noise in the Acropolis view rooms but I really hardly noticed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg_WO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I spent only a night in Athens and unfortunately I did not have a chance to enjoy their breakfast due to an early flight. This place has an amazing view over the acropolis, I had a room overlooking it and it was just spectacular. The bar on the top floor is a great venue for cocktails and drinks. The metro is just few steps away, bedrooms are brand new, new and large bathroom and with a fresh decor. I would definitely go back and try to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilaria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It is one of the best hotels we've stayed in. It was a fantastic experience right from the location until the time we left it!

First things first. Location: A for Athens is conveniently located on the lively and touristy Monastiraki square adjacent to the Monastiraki tube stop. Monastiraki itself is located on the blue line from Athens International Airport and a group ticket for two people costs arounf 14 euros.

So when you come up to the surface at Monastiraki via the escalators, instead of exiting the tube stop in the direction you're facing, turn around and exit from the other side. Once you're out, turn left et Voila! A for Athens' front door is right there! It's that convenient.

The Staff: We were greeted at the reception by a very helpful chap called Vangelis. He is super-knowledgable about everything Athens and very helpful. The staff at the breakfast cafe upstairs were superb also!

The Room: The hotel has two wings, once facing Monastiraki square and Parthenon and one that doesn't. We took a room on the wing that doesn't. We were not disappointed. However if you would like up to the glorious sights of the Parthenon, then go for it.

The room itself was very clean and it was cleaned everyday. The aircon was fantastic and nothing better than walking into a nice cool room to take a break when you're exploring a city as vibrant as Athens.

Rooftop Bar: The breakfast had a very expansive layout comprising of bacon, sausages, varieties of bread (brown and white and everything in between), butter, cheeses, breadsticks, fresh fruit, dried fruit, fruit salad, greek yogurt, greek honey, croissants that melt in your mouth, pains au chocolat, cakes, danishes, juices, coffee, tea and then some! Do not worry about your diet or watching your figure cos you'll burn it all off once you start walking in Athens and exploring the place. Trust me, start the day with a good breakfast.

Tell them also to reserve a table at the cocktail bar on the rooftop (which is the same place where you have your breakfast btw) overlooking the parthenon. A cocktail there with The View is a must have experience.

If you're going to Athens and are looking for a great place to stay that is affordable and is located in the centre of it all, then look no further A for Athens is the place! We definitely recommend it and will stay there again!

I sincerely hope that they continue to maintain their very excellent standards with the passage of time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raam_s13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The location is perfect and in the centre of the tourist spots. Room is spacious. Decoration is good. We arrived very early and the manager offered us to have breakfast at the breakfast room whilst cleaning up the room. Very appreciate for this kind service . Nice and helpful staff . The breakfast quality is very good. We could enjoy the view whilst eating breakfast at the top floor. Very good indeed. The only drawback is there was some noise from the street but not serious.
Highly recommend for staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: may be rooms not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

in a few lines, that is an amazing place to stay at in Athens because:

1- the rooms are huge and beautiful
2- very clean and neat
3- Super friendly staff
4- rooftop bar is just amazing. A whole panoramic view of the acropolis in front of you
5- the monastiraki metro station is just across the road.
6- amazing, restos, bars and clubs footsteps away

Not to mention, the prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

When planning our trip to Greece we wanted to see as much as possible in the time we had without been rushed. Traveling as far as we were we new returning was not likely so location was important. As with most people we read reviews on both Hotels as well as the city of Athens. Getting from the Airport to the Hotel turned out to be so easy we almost felt we had made a mistake. We took the Metro from the airport to the area called Monastiraki (Square), went to the surface via the stairs walked around the corner and their was the Hotel. Athens is a large crowded and busy place very easy to get lost in so having a very central location was important. The Hotel is very modern, clean and comfortable. Staff are helpful offering maps, highlighting sights and always willing to give advice and directions. We found if you always keep the Acropolis in site you can find all of the sights with ease. There is no lack of place to eat all around the hotel so shop around. If you book this hotel keep in mind Downtown Athens is full of young people all day and night. The hotel has a roof top bar so try to get a room below the 4th floor it helps with weekend noise. Also Monastiraki Square during the day is packed with people and vendors and at night may have ongoing entertainment. A great Hotel in a Great city lots to do and see it will ware you out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCFTRA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,268 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,236 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,024 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,754 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A for Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A for Athens

Property: A for Athens
Address: 2 - 4 Miaouli, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A for Athens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to give an A to the best of Athens. A for Athens is the new city design hotel in Athens. Located just across the Acropolis and above Monastiraki Square, A for Athens offers a truly unique viewing experience to the city’s most famous monument. The hotel is next to Monastiraki station, which serves for easy transportation to and from the Airport and Piraeus Port and sets all the city’s excitements in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your A for Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a For Athens Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing