We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Museum Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$330
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$530
US$448
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$533
US$448
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$189
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
US$122
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$317
US$282
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Hotel(Athens)
US$305
US$276
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
US$167
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (970)
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveller rating
270
444
204
33
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
444
204
33
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspolytechnic universityminute walkfresh orange juiceomonia squaredecent hotelpublic transportationbars and restaurantsrooms are cleanmetro stationbudget hotelmain attractionsair conditioningsmall balconyon footconvenient locationbreakfast was includedbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
511 - 516 of 970 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2009

We stayed here for a week in october 2008. The hotel itself is very clean and nice, the balconys are good to sit out and cool off on, also the location is not too bad in terms of being close to local ammenites such as shops, metro, buses, restaurants & museums ect... However the staff were less than helpful and generally quite rude and unwelcoming. We had booked a double bed, but were given 2 singles. When I asked if we could perhaps changes the guy behind the counter simply rolled his eyes back and walked off muttering something in Greek. Also the local area is a haven for crack heads and junkies even though we had no trouble, it felt like we had to watch our backs though.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmpfrz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

I took a group of students to Athens, Greece in mid-December 2008, just after the fatal shooting of a teenager by the police led to rioting throughout the country. We stayed at the Museum Hotel for seven nights. As it turned out, the focal point of the riots was the Polytechnic University – which is right across the street from the hotel. On Saturday nights the rioters got very active in front of the hotel (i.e. burning trash cans and other things) and the police would respond with tear gas. However, the hotel never received any damage and, interestingly, at no time did we feel unsafe inside the hotel.

The staff was very warm and welcoming. The receptionists spoke English very well, but the rest of the staff not so much. The room was cleaned daily and was normal sized for Europe. I tried to leave a tip for the room attendant on the dresser, but it was not touched for two days so I gave up. The shower in the bathroom left little room to turn around. One of my students had a much larger bathroom on the top floor. A warm and cold breakfast was served every morning: scrambled and boiled eggs, hot dog cutlets or possibly sausage, bacon (which was not crispy and looked more like warm ham), yogurt, cereal cheese, toast, croissants, and cold cuts. There were two computers in the basement equipped with Internet access for everyone to use. There is also a small elevator, but I found the stairs much faster.

The hotel is easy walking distance from both the Omonia and Victoria metro stations, and, if you’re up for it, and pleasant walk to Syntagma Square, the city center.

We enjoyed our stay in Athens and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank calamaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

A classic Best Western hotel without any particular problems. I got a room at the highest floor and it had a huge terrace with a great view. The place was comfortable, quiet and clean. Rather small bathroom,but in all a decent room for the rate charged. Good breakfast buffet, and most staff understand English.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nicolasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

This hotel is also reviewed under "Museum Hotel" where it has received even better ratings.
We stayed here the first two nights (Friday til Sunday) of our Athens trip. We chose this hotel for three reasons. We needed an alternative because our first choice hotel had very high rates that weekend (we moved on Sunday when the rate was lower). The hotel was positively reviewed on this web site and the rate for a deluxe room was very reasonable (104.50E).
Having arrived at Athens Airport, we took the subway to Omonia place (had to change once). By help of a map we easily found our hotel. It is several blocks away, pedestrian side walks in Athens are not made for easy luggage pulling and the traffic is heavy.
As if in trance, we did find the path way where drug addicted people linger around and which is so pictorally described by other reviewers here and under "Museum Hotel". (There is an easy alternative but this knowledge usually clusters when already staying in a place.) Basically we did not find it threatening, on the other hand we wouldn't choose this way as our preferred passage at night.
At the hotel, the receptionist was kind and helpful. Our deluxe room (703) was on top floor. It had a king bed as requested (good matress), bad tv reception (one english channel), was not oversized and the bath room was small. Using the small (micro) shower the low water pressure prevented the worst of an inevitable flood of the bath room floor But everything was clean and in working order though a little tired at some points.
There was a hughe, inviting terrace with a small table and four chairs (and a partial view of the acropolis to the left). There was a minibar with softdrinks, water and beer. It had the lowest mini bar prices I ever experienced in a hotel (e.g. 60ct for mineral water and 2.50€ for a can of beer).
Adjacent to the lobby is a bar where some sort of juice is available for free. I do not know how much they charged for coffee or other beverages. The break fast room became crowded both mornings and staff (2 ladies) were not too fast with cleaning and setting tables. But basically they did their job well. The choice of food was good, a little on the basic side however. Coffee was of good quality!
The area around the hotel is generally safe. The other night we asked the receptionist for a restaurant recommendation. Food there was of very good quality, staff was kind, the athmosphere good, though we were early and the restaurant only 20% full (Greek dinner time is 21.00hrs and later).
We appreciated the internet facility on the lower level adjacent to the bar. Very convenient and a big bonus to the hotel.
To sum up the experience: the hotel is a little basic, well conducted and well maintained. Staff is kind and reliable. The neighbourhood is safe and looked like a typical Athens neighbourhood. The price was even very good. All this in mind, I would recommend this hotel and would return when in Athens.It was a positive hotel experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Based on BW Museum's location near the National Archaeological Museum, I booked this hotel for two nights for a little over $100.00 per night.

Room was clean and comfortable. However, the shower stall was quite small. No issues with hot water in the morning. But, the cramped shower made it difficult to move without hitting the faucet.

The free WiFi was a great convenience. There is a small grocery store and pharmacy next to the hotel. Bottled water at the hotel was 2 Euros for a 1/4 liter. At the grocery store, a one liter bottle was 60 cents.

Balcony faces a busy street but the double paned glass successfully blocks out any street noise.

Front desk was helpful with restaurant recommendations. Be sure to try "Vergina", a Greek restaurant, located in the neighborhood behind the hotel. In order to reach Vergina, travelers will have to walk near the small square which is frequented by some shady characters.

Check out was painless. At my request, hotel made taxi arrangements to the Pireaus Port. Taxi was 30 Euros from the hotel to the port.

Definitely a great location for visiting the museum. On the way to the museum, be careful of where you step....the area is filthy.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank forensicsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews