We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Museum Hotel
Ranked #57 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 21 May 2009

This is a good hotel. The rooms are clean and their sizes were adequate.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanetaMergulho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    383
    174
    28
    15
See reviews for
222
275
77
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights with my sister. Our room was on the 6th floor, small but clean, had a balcony, over-priced mini bar and shower room (no bath tub unfortunately). From reading previous reviews we were worried about the area but were in fact pleasantly surprised that the surroundings were very safe, day or night. The only "trouble we had was on our first night - there was a concert in the basement of the Polytecnic Institute but the hotel's double glazing was good and the armed guards posted at the corner of the street ensured peace around the hotel.
Breakfast was probably the worst part of our stay. The variety was extremely limited and the juices were horrendous (tasted like cheap squash / powder mix). The only thing I couldn't get enough of was their fromage frais.
The staff in reception was lovely but the waitresses working during breakfast shifts were not paying enough attention about the buffet and refilling it.
As a whole, we thought this hotel was ok. Transport links into the city centre were also fine (loads of buses) + Omonia and Victoria stations.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ofi23943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
130 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

We (me, my wife and aour son) stayed in this hotel for a weekend and in general we are satisfied. The rooms and the whole hotel are very clean, allthough the building is an old one. The breakfast OK (could have more variety) and the stuff very polite and helpful. The prize is good for a western hotel. What I didn't like was the neighbourhood of the hotel during the night, seems to be like a ghetto, but in the day it is a very busy and safe area.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsterixThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

I stayed here for 5 days in Athens, and as soon as getting off the metro, felt like it wasn't in the best part of town. It is closest to Omonia station, and while it's a bit confusing to find from the metro, it is only about 5-10 minutes walking distance, with shops and restaurants around. Be prepared to see lots of graffiti, heavily fortified shops, and riot police all around the roads surrounding the hotel - it is literally RIGHT NEXT to the Athens Polytechnic Institute (breeding ground of anarchists and rioters). On the flip side, It is also caddy-corner to the National Archaeological Museum, which of course is a beautiful building with a nice courtyard. The hotel itself was non-descript...an older property re-branded as a Best Western. Staff was nice and spoke English well. The room was small, but as expected. No real A/C controls in the room, or maybe my AC didn't work, so it was a bit warm. There were patios outside, so I could open the windows, but on the street was noisy. Worst part - it stunk to high heaven of dampness and cigarettes. My clothes reeked, even when I got home. I think a hostel would have been better...and possibly in a better part of town.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minaviggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2009

We stayed here for a week in october 2008. The hotel itself is very clean and nice, the balconys are good to sit out and cool off on, also the location is not too bad in terms of being close to local ammenites such as shops, metro, buses, restaurants & museums ect... However the staff were less than helpful and generally quite rude and unwelcoming. We had booked a double bed, but were given 2 singles. When I asked if we could perhaps changes the guy behind the counter simply rolled his eyes back and walked off muttering something in Greek. Also the local area is a haven for crack heads and junkies even though we had no trouble, it felt like we had to watch our backs though.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmpfrz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, LA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

I took a group of students to Athens, Greece in mid-December 2008, just after the fatal shooting of a teenager by the police led to rioting throughout the country. We stayed at the Museum Hotel for seven nights. As it turned out, the focal point of the riots was the Polytechnic University – which is right across the street from the hotel. On Saturday nights the rioters got very active in front of the hotel (i.e. burning trash cans and other things) and the police would respond with tear gas. However, the hotel never received any damage and, interestingly, at no time did we feel unsafe inside the hotel.

The staff was very warm and welcoming. The receptionists spoke English very well, but the rest of the staff not so much. The room was cleaned daily and was normal sized for Europe. I tried to leave a tip for the room attendant on the dresser, but it was not touched for two days so I gave up. The shower in the bathroom left little room to turn around. One of my students had a much larger bathroom on the top floor. A warm and cold breakfast was served every morning: scrambled and boiled eggs, hot dog cutlets or possibly sausage, bacon (which was not crispy and looked more like warm ham), yogurt, cereal cheese, toast, croissants, and cold cuts. There were two computers in the basement equipped with Internet access for everyone to use. There is also a small elevator, but I found the stairs much faster.

The hotel is easy walking distance from both the Omonia and Victoria metro stations, and, if you’re up for it, and pleasant walk to Syntagma Square, the city center.

We enjoyed our stay in Athens and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Really nice people work here.
  • Disliked — My shower was too small.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank calamaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

A classic Best Western hotel without any particular problems. I got a room at the highest floor and it had a huge terrace with a great view. The place was comfortable, quiet and clean. Rather small bathroom,but in all a decent room for the rate charged. Good breakfast buffet, and most staff understand English.

  • Liked — Good rates for Athens
  • Disliked — Small bathrooms
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Athens Lotus Hotel
#51 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Museum Hotel

Property: Best Western Museum Hotel
Address: 16, Bouboulinas Str, Athens 106 82, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#40 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Athens
Best Western Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing