We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Museum Hotel
Ranked #63 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 29 June 2009

I have stayed in this hotel many times during the last 4 years during trips to Athens. Great service, convenient location, decent breakfast for a 3 star hotel, and free internet. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeverendingVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 937 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2009

My husband and I, along with my brother and his wife, had a most enjoyable stay at this hotel from May 4 to 8. Because we were members of CAA we got a nice discout when we made the reservations on the Internet.

About those Internet reservations, make sure that you got the correct hotel name because there are 3 hotels under the same management and you can easily reserve for Zinon thinking that you got Museum. Because what is you see as pictures (or was like that in April when we made the reservations) are the Museum ones under Zinon name. Any way, we were lucky, because begining May the hotels were empty and we were able to correct our mistake and get two rooms into the lovely Museum, not without the help of all personnel of Best Western and the Manager. For what we are greately in debt!

Our stay was between the manifestations in Athens this spring, and the police was stationned near the hotel. But this was to our advantage because they were very friendly and helped us with the parking each evening. Otherwise, parking the car is a problem, the hotel does not have a private parking.

But what is most important for the hotel: the clean and nicely arranged rooms, the full equipped bathroom with hair blower and close-up mirror. We also used the free safe located in the room to keep the pasports and the extra money. You get also free wireless Internet in all rooms. So bring your iPod, laptop or smartphone.

The location of the hotel is behind the Museum of Archeology, a must when visiting Athens, what with the Agamemnon Thesaurus and the marvelous kuroii statues.

For those willing, there is a public bus station of the left side of the museum, where you can, for 5euros/person, go on the tour in Athens. You can get down at any important site during the tour, visit the site, go back to the bus station and continue the tour with the next bus. The ticket is good for 24 hours, so if you get on the 12 am bus, you can use the ticket next morning to finish the visit.

For those willing to walk, you have the Academia, the University and the Museum Schliman at 15 min distance.

The buffet at breakfast is more that the average, but you can go for all meals to a street near by for any kind of restaurant, cafee shop, desert shop, all with terasse and a marvelous ambiance. Just ask the hotel receptionist and he will be only happy to direct you.

The hotel also has a nice waiting area, with quiet tables and chairs were you can seat and plan the next trip with your friends and familly, while drinking orange jus or a coffee.

All in all, you cannot have a better quality/cost ratio than staying at Best Westen Museum while you are in Athens. ENJOY!

Tatiana and family

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dortat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Luckliy for us none of our party lost any wallets on our journey to the hotel, but the staff were no less helpful. They planned our visit to Athens, with routes to and from the Acropolis, booked taxis (and suggested when to book them for as we had no idea!), directed us to travel agents to book the next leg of trip and generally being super helpful! I cannot praise them enough! The room too was great, a large bathroom and it was all very clean. Stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richyvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

On our way to the hotel my husband had his wallet stolen on the metro after we had changed trains at Omonia. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and kind. The helped us to ring the credit card companies free of charge, brought us cold drinks and generally made us feel welcome. The room was good. It was quiet, with a balcony and had a lovely bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was fine and the dining room was very pleasant.
Ten days later, we returned after spending time in the islands and they remembered us and gave us a super room with views of the Acropolis. All the reception personnel were so kind and helpful but we would like to single out Vassilis for help far over and above what could have been expected.
The area was ok, with some good tavernas that weren't 'touristy' and served Greek food at reasonable prices. The nearby museum is excellent and is well guarded day and night.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Churchtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

This is a good hotel. The rooms are clean and their sizes were adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanetaMergulho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights with my sister. Our room was on the 6th floor, small but clean, had a balcony, over-priced mini bar and shower room (no bath tub unfortunately). From reading previous reviews we were worried about the area but were in fact pleasantly surprised that the surroundings were very safe, day or night. The only "trouble we had was on our first night - there was a concert in the basement of the Polytecnic Institute but the hotel's double glazing was good and the armed guards posted at the corner of the street ensured peace around the hotel.
Breakfast was probably the worst part of our stay. The variety was extremely limited and the juices were horrendous (tasted like cheap squash / powder mix). The only thing I couldn't get enough of was their fromage frais.
The staff in reception was lovely but the waitresses working during breakfast shifts were not paying enough attention about the buffet and refilling it.
As a whole, we thought this hotel was ok. Transport links into the city centre were also fine (loads of buses) + Omonia and Victoria stations.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ofi23943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

We (me, my wife and aour son) stayed in this hotel for a weekend and in general we are satisfied. The rooms and the whole hotel are very clean, allthough the building is an old one. The breakfast OK (could have more variety) and the stuff very polite and helpful. The prize is good for a western hotel. What I didn't like was the neighbourhood of the hotel during the night, seems to be like a ghetto, but in the day it is a very busy and safe area.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsterixThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 282 in Athens
1,201 reviews
Victory Inn
#51 of 282 in Athens
304 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#23 of 282 in Athens
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 282 in Athens
497 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Museum Hotel

Address: 16, Bouboulinas Str, Athens 106 82, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#34 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £38 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Athens
Best Western Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing