We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Ilisia Hotel
Ranked #183 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel needs refurbishment quick! Everything is so old and outdated that is not for a 4* category. Location is just around the corner from huge Hilton hotel. Breakfast is the worst I have ever eaten! It is not eatable and no choice at all! WiFi is only in lobby area.Overall never would come again and I would not recommended to nobody.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Bubolina,
Thank you for your review.

It is unfortunate to see that your stay with us has not been satisfactory.

Although we constantly strive to improve our services and amenities, upgrading is always within our scope. We are currently (July 2013) renovating certain areas of the hotel to upgrade and improve our guests’ experience.

We offer Free wi-fi use throughout the hotel, including rooms and communal areas. It is unfortunate that you faced such issues during your stay.

We apologise again for not having satisfied you during your stay in Best Western Ilisia Hotel, as our aim is to offer a positive experience and a pleasant stay to all our guests.

Best regards,

Dimitris Tsekouras,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at this Best Western with no reservation. The staff was patient and accomodating, but the room was substandard. It was cramped and not as clean as it could have been. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. The breakfast was adequate but not praiseworthy. The hotel was overshadowed by the Hilton nearby, but the location was good, not too far from many of the sights in Athens. There were also several good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Plan ahead and make a reservation for a nice room. The standard rooms left much to be desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Shaw07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear J_Shaw07,
Thank you for your review.

We are glad to read that you found the location of Best Western Ilisia convenient and the team members accommodating.

We are sorry to know that you did not find the bed softness to your liking and that the cleanliness level has not been up to your expectations. Our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and we closely monitor hygiene and cleanliness levels.

It will be a pleasure to accommodate you in your next visit to the wonderful city of Athens.

Best regards,

Dimitris Tsekouras,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

i spent 4 nights in the hotel for meetings in Athens. it is right next to the Hilton and a lot less fancy. our meeting was there and the 50m between the 2 hotels are no problem. the Illisia hotel is a renovated old house, my room was spacious, although not all furniture were really new. bathroom is ok (only shower), breakfast is satisfactory - not more than that (there is no in-room coffee/tea facilities or free coffee in the lobby). FREE WiFi was fast and always functional (rooms and lobby) and this is most important (in contrast to the Hilton where its not free). at the entrance to the hotel there are few cafe's and restaurants (Starbucks etc.) and the metro is 100m away. even walking to city center is not too long. price was lower than most nearby hotels.

Room Tip: ask for a room with balcony - these are bigger and have more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Udi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Udi123,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to read that you found our hotel convenient, in a good location, your room spacious and with a good value.

Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel, our bathrooms have been renovated and we maintain a good value proposition for a short or longer stay in Athens.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Ilisia hotel in your next visit to our city, whether on business or leisure.

Best Regards,

Dimitrios Tsekouras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

It's a average hotel in a good place in Athens. A very miserable breakfast. I haven't found sweetener in the restaurant. The conditioner works occasionally (a lot of time like ventilator).This hotel 20 minutes from the city center and close to the metro station. The staff was helpful.

Room Tip: No idea which of the rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikhael04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Mikhael04,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to read that you found our team members helpful and that the location of our hotel is of convenience, as we are located close to the metro station (Megaro Moussikis) and close to other points of interest in Athens.

It is unfortunate that the breakfast offering was not up to your requirements. However, sweetener, sugar (white & brown) and honey are available in the restaurant and we apologise for not having fulfilled this need.

We look forward to welcoming you to Best Western Ilisia Hotel in your next visit to Athens.

Best Regards,

Dimitrios Tsekouras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The location really is quite convenient (right next to the Hilton, a little walk to the Metro station) and the place used to be 4**** when it was new, but that has been quite some time ago. It must have been 'modern' in the 70ies. Now, it is run on a minimal budget, lights are low, breakfast is cheap. You get some pieces that remind you of 4****, such as a polite gentleman at the reception, a pretty lobby and even a good bathroom, but to me it smells stale (I happen to hate old carpets in hotels). Ah, and it has a definite 'hotel chain' feel to it, nothing personal. Everyone is an employee. So, if you get a good deal, that's fine, but only then.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophistes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Sophistes,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to have offered you a nice, friendly accommodation in Athens and that you find our location convenient.

Being part of Best Western affiliation provides many benefits to our guests and we appreciate the uniqueness and value of each of our guest.

We apologise for projecting a feel that was not up to your liking. We work towards improving our services on a daily basis.

Looking forward to seeing you again in Best Western Ilisia Hotel, we thank you for your constructive comments.

Best Regards,

Dimitrios Tsekouras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I agree with 'Aguiarreviewer' on every level. The Best Western Ilisia is very poor indeed on all level. Breakfast is very basic and pretty depressing. I believe they use long life milk rather than fresh milk. I believe they use the cheapest quality of every product. Cutlery not very clean. I'm staying for quite a number of nights and unfortunately I paid upfront with flight included through a travel agent, so I just have to live with my mistake. The only good thing going for this hotel is its staff (though there aren't many of them). They have been very professional and helpful. I CAN NOT recommend this hotel I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esperanza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Esperanza01,

Thank you for your comments.
We are glad that you have found our professional staff helpful during your stay.
Please be informed that various actions have been taken, to tackle the issues raised in your review.
We look forward to welcome you back to Best Western Ilisia Hotel on you next stay in Athens.

Best regards,
Dimitris Tsekouras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Coming through Athens after going to the Islands--I am not crazy about Athens so did not spend much time here. Stayed at the Hilton before, which is literally next door. For less than 1/2 the price of the way too pretentious Hilton, you get a clean room with internet and free breakfast. You also get very very nice staff and a great location. They need to do some things like put new carpet down in the hallways, but its a nice, clean place and a great value. I would stay here again if I have to come to Athens.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doberman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear doberman32,

Thank you for your feedback.

It seems you enjoyed your stay with us and this gives us great pleasure. We provide a great value proposition for a stay in Athens and we are glad that you found our team members friendly.

We hope to see you again in Best Western Ilisia Hotel in your next visit to Athens.

Best Regards,

Dimitrios Tsekouras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Age Hotel Athens
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#40 of 282 in Athens
733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delice Hotel - Family Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#133 of 282 in Athens
1,565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lion Hotel Apartments
Lion Hotel Apartments
#136 of 282 in Athens
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athinais Hotel
Athinais Hotel
#53 of 282 in Athens
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ilisia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ilisia Hotel

Address: 25 Michalakopoulou Street, Athens 115 28, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £56 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Ilisia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 91 bedroom Athens Hotel is centrally located, close to the city centre, historical sites, vibrant cafes and restaurants that adorn this beautiful city. Most of the local tourist attractions here are within easy reach distance from our centrally located Athens Hotel including the popular cosmopolitan area of Kolonaki. The hotel also benefits from free parking and great transport links, located with close proximity to the Metro, Airport and Bus Services. Each of our rooms are modern with great facilities, and we offer free WiFi as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Ilisia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Best Western
Best Western Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing