We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Ilisia Hotel
Ranked #234 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Nice hotel, with very friendly staff. The location is 5 minutes walk to the subway station and has some fantastic restaurants in the neighbourhood. The rooms are clean and actually one of the better ones for hotels in this price range. The let down is the breakfast which is very poor and (having just returned from France mind you) the croissants are flat, dead and uninspiring :)

The wifi was very poor in our room, but there is a Starbucks just in front of the hotel with better internet.

For some reason the room cleaning is also done at around 2 pm which i find strange :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veljko-lemonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear veljko-lemonade,

Thank your for your review.

It is rewarding to read that you have found our rooms spacious and clean, our team members friendly and that the location is convenient.

We offer free high speed wi-fi access throughout the hotel, including the rooms and communal areas. We apologise for the issue you faced during your stay.

Our housekeeping team strives to maintain high level of cleanliness throughout the hotel. Cleaning rooms at 2pm if guests wish, is not uncommon, especially if guests prefer to stay in their room in the morning or during midday.

We look forward to welcoming you to Best Western Ilisia Hotel in your next visit to Athens.

Best regards,

Dimitris Tsekouras,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    56
    84
    41
    18
See reviews for
36
48
37
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel needs refurbishment quick! Everything is so old and outdated that is not for a 4* category. Location is just around the corner from huge Hilton hotel. Breakfast is the worst I have ever eaten! It is not eatable and no choice at all! WiFi is only in lobby area.Overall never would come again and I would not recommended to nobody.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Bubolina,
Thank you for your review.

It is unfortunate to see that your stay with us has not been satisfactory.

Although we constantly strive to improve our services and amenities, upgrading is always within our scope. We are currently (July 2013) renovating certain areas of the hotel to upgrade and improve our guests’ experience.

We offer Free wi-fi use throughout the hotel, including rooms and communal areas. It is unfortunate that you faced such issues during your stay.

We apologise again for not having satisfied you during your stay in Best Western Ilisia Hotel, as our aim is to offer a positive experience and a pleasant stay to all our guests.

Best regards,

Dimitris Tsekouras,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at this Best Western with no reservation. The staff was patient and accomodating, but the room was substandard. It was cramped and not as clean as it could have been. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. The breakfast was adequate but not praiseworthy. The hotel was overshadowed by the Hilton nearby, but the location was good, not too far from many of the sights in Athens. There were also several good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Plan ahead and make a reservation for a nice room. The standard rooms left much to be desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Shaw07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear J_Shaw07,
Thank you for your review.

We are glad to read that you found the location of Best Western Ilisia convenient and the team members accommodating.

We are sorry to know that you did not find the bed softness to your liking and that the cleanliness level has not been up to your expectations. Our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and we closely monitor hygiene and cleanliness levels.

It will be a pleasure to accommodate you in your next visit to the wonderful city of Athens.

Best regards,

Dimitris Tsekouras,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

i spent 4 nights in the hotel for meetings in Athens. it is right next to the Hilton and a lot less fancy. our meeting was there and the 50m between the 2 hotels are no problem. the Illisia hotel is a renovated old house, my room was spacious, although not all furniture were really new. bathroom is ok (only shower), breakfast is satisfactory - not more than that (there is no in-room coffee/tea facilities or free coffee in the lobby). FREE WiFi was fast and always functional (rooms and lobby) and this is most important (in contrast to the Hilton where its not free). at the entrance to the hotel there are few cafe's and restaurants (Starbucks etc.) and the metro is 100m away. even walking to city center is not too long. price was lower than most nearby hotels.

Room Tip: ask for a room with balcony - these are bigger and have more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Udi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Udi123,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to read that you found our hotel convenient, in a good location, your room spacious and with a good value.

Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel, our bathrooms have been renovated and we maintain a good value proposition for a short or longer stay in Athens.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Ilisia hotel in your next visit to our city, whether on business or leisure.

Best Regards,

Dimitrios Tsekouras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

It's a average hotel in a good place in Athens. A very miserable breakfast. I haven't found sweetener in the restaurant. The conditioner works occasionally (a lot of time like ventilator).This hotel 20 minutes from the city center and close to the metro station. The staff was helpful.

Room Tip: No idea which of the rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikhael04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Mikhael04,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to read that you found our team members helpful and that the location of our hotel is of convenience, as we are located close to the metro station (Megaro Moussikis) and close to other points of interest in Athens.

It is unfortunate that the breakfast offering was not up to your requirements. However, sweetener, sugar (white & brown) and honey are available in the restaurant and we apologise for not having fulfilled this need.

We look forward to welcoming you to Best Western Ilisia Hotel in your next visit to Athens.

Best Regards,

Dimitrios Tsekouras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The location really is quite convenient (right next to the Hilton, a little walk to the Metro station) and the place used to be 4**** when it was new, but that has been quite some time ago. It must have been 'modern' in the 70ies. Now, it is run on a minimal budget, lights are low, breakfast is cheap. You get some pieces that remind you of 4****, such as a polite gentleman at the reception, a pretty lobby and even a good bathroom, but to me it smells stale (I happen to hate old carpets in hotels). Ah, and it has a definite 'hotel chain' feel to it, nothing personal. Everyone is an employee. So, if you get a good deal, that's fine, but only then.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophistes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Sophistes,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to have offered you a nice, friendly accommodation in Athens and that you find our location convenient.

Being part of Best Western affiliation provides many benefits to our guests and we appreciate the uniqueness and value of each of our guest.

We apologise for projecting a feel that was not up to your liking. We work towards improving our services on a daily basis.

Looking forward to seeing you again in Best Western Ilisia Hotel, we thank you for your constructive comments.

Best Regards,

Dimitrios Tsekouras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I agree with 'Aguiarreviewer' on every level. The Best Western Ilisia is very poor indeed on all level. Breakfast is very basic and pretty depressing. I believe they use long life milk rather than fresh milk. I believe they use the cheapest quality of every product. Cutlery not very clean. I'm staying for quite a number of nights and unfortunately I paid upfront with flight included through a travel agent, so I just have to live with my mistake. The only good thing going for this hotel is its staff (though there aren't many of them). They have been very professional and helpful. I CAN NOT recommend this hotel I'm afraid.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esperanza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Esperanza01,

Thank you for your comments.
We are glad that you have found our professional staff helpful during your stay.
Please be informed that various actions have been taken, to tackle the issues raised in your review.
We look forward to welcome you back to Best Western Ilisia Hotel on you next stay in Athens.

Best regards,
Dimitris Tsekouras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Delice Hotel - Family Apartments
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Age Hotel Athens
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#53 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Airotel Alexandros
Airotel Alexandros
#90 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
0.2 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#95 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ilisia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ilisia Hotel

Property: Best Western Ilisia Hotel
Address: 25 Michalakopoulou Street, Athens 115 28, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Ilisia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ilisia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Best Western
Best Western Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing