We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, well kept property, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Ilisia Hotel
Ranked #176 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed here for four nights. My room was clean and comfortable; it met all my needs. The hotel provided a nice breakfast with a mix of breads, yogurt, cereal, meats, and eggs. The hotel was less than 10 minutes from a metro station with access to all the major sights in Athens. I also enjoyed the Starbucks next door. The Ilisia exceeded my expectations. I would definitely stay here again. The internet single strength was somewhat spotty but I was able to access the internet daily.

Room Tip: If you need the internet, ask for a room with good signal strength.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bullwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear bullwalk,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased to hear that your expectations were met.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back!


Best Regards,

Dimitrios Tsekouras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Very bad preserved, awful structure, you could hear people walking, using the toilet from the upper floor, even what they were talking about! The sheet had a huge hole on the upper side! Found an empty bottle of wine in the closet! The hand soap, foam bath and shampoo provided were all the same product! We left the room early in the morning, the cleaning lady did not clean it but when we returned at noon she told us to leave again so that she could clean! Turned on the air condition and was so loud we couldn't sleep! No way the service and the accomodation was of a 4 star hotel! While leaving, I saw an unhappy customer shouting at the reseption- I sympathise her!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stasa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Stasa A,

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to read that you were unhappy with your overall stay in our hotel. We pride ourselves on a friendly, timely and courteous service to all our guests and what you have experienced does not seem to comply to our high standards of operation.

All your comments have been noted and action will be taken.

Thank you for your feedback and we wish to be given the chance to prove that what you have experienced does not represent what Best Western Ilisia Hotel has been offering guests in the 40 years of operation.

Best Regards,

Dimitrios Tsekouras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in October. I arrived at 9pm and had no trouble finding the hotel from the Megaro Mousikis metro station, which is just a few minutes walk away. The roads around the hotel felt relatively safe, even after dark, and we had no trouble at all.

The hotel itself is clean and the people on reception are very polite and helpful. Although the decor is pretty dated, we spent most of our time exploring Athens and it didn't bother us. If you pay for a double room, you may find that you are given two single beds pushed together which was a bit of a nuisance as we kept falling down the gap as they slid apart! Also, the rooms have no sound insulation and I was woken up by the next door room's alarm clock.

The breakfast is this hotels main letdown, the orange juice is actually orange squash and the croissants were dry. However the peaches were very good!

We booked through lastminute.com and got a very good deal, however I don't know whether the hotel can completely justify the full price.

However, overall we had a great stay and I would stay here again if I return to Athens.

Room Tip: If you are booking a double room, ask if you can get a double bed rather than two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Georgia D,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you found our hotel conveniently located. Indeed, we are close to 2 metro stations and the surrounding area, like the whole city of Athens, is very safe throughout the day. We pride ourselves for a courteous and helpful service and are happy that you have experienced it.

Your comments on the décor and the breakfast have been noted for further action. Regarding your room, we do have double queen size beds available.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Ilisia Hotel, in your next visit to Athens.

Best regards,

Dimitrios Tsekouras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Good location in Central Athens, relatively close to Metro Station. The personnel was very friendly and polite. Party consisted of 2 parents and 2 children. We were offered two inter - connecting rooms, located at the end of the hallway therefore keeping noice level low during the night. Rooms had do view, breakfast was included in the price and was very basic. Overall average, fairly priced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitris_Kastoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Absolutely no sound insulations, all sound from the hallway is the perfect audible. View from the room in terrible. Breakfast is very basic, no vegetables.
But very good location and reasonable price.

Room Tip: view to the yard/next house is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanislavs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Ok lets face it : the location is not one of the best in Athens , you dont want to come back to this place in middle of the night alone by yourself , but at least there is a metro station not too far away. Rooms are small but okay. the price is somehow fair. Everything is just okay nothing more.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were very lucky to receive room 510 which is a very large suite.
The personnel was always at the front desk and very friendly and spoke good English.
The breakfast was good.
It is walking distance from the metro. The metro is the line to the airport that is very convenient if you have to catch a flight.
Very quiet neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albareis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMITRIOS T, General Manager at Best Western Ilisia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Albareis,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us! Indeed we are in a great neighborhood (location) to explore Athens and reach the airport.

We are happy that you have found our team members friendly and accommodating. It will be a pleasure to offer our hospitality again, in your next trip to Athens!

Best Regards,

Dimitrios Tsekouras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel
0.1 mi away
Delice Hotel - Family Apartments
0.2 mi away
Golden Age Hotel Athens
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#39 of 282 in Athens
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#66 of 282 in Athens
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athinais Hotel
Athinais Hotel
#56 of 282 in Athens
379 reviews
1.1 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#137 of 282 in Athens
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ilisia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ilisia Hotel

Address: 25 Michalakopoulou Street, Athens 115 28, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £57 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Ilisia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 91 bedroom Athens Hotel is centrally located, close to the city centre, historical sites, vibrant cafes and restaurants that adorn this beautiful city. Most of the local tourist attractions here are within easy reach distance from our centrally located Athens Hotel including the popular cosmopolitan area of Kolonaki. The hotel also benefits from free parking and great transport links, located with close proximity to the Metro, Airport and Bus Services. Each of our rooms are modern with great facilities, and we offer free WiFi as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ilisia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Best Western
Best Western Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing