We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, comfortable rooms to relax in after a full day of siteseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 September 2011

After staying in mediocre accommodations throughout the Greek islands, we were delighted to discover such a comfortable, modern hotel within accessible reach of most of the sites of interest in Athens. From the moment we arrived, we were awestruck with the magnificent view of the Acropolis from the rooftop bar at night. The restaurant serves food that is quite acceptable - but most importantly is the million dollar view that is perfectly enjoyed with a glass of vino.

Pros:
- Room was tastefully decorated – décor was quite minimalistic but still lovely nonetheless – the A/C definitely worked well as it was really hot outside but pleasantly cool within the confines of our room
- Bathroom feels a bit luxurious, is very new and always cleaned spotlessly
- Rooftop restaurant and bar – food was ok but the house wine surprisingly good (tip: should reserve a table as we had to wait a while for ours on both nights – well worth it though)
- Breakfast (also in rooftop restaurant) was bountiful with cooked eggs, sausages, bacon, cakes, as well as the usual continental selection (tip: the breakfast service was quite busy in the mornings but we managed to get a seat on the balcony both days as we started at around 8:15/8:30am. By the time, we finished breakfast, we could see that a lot of people could only get seats inside. It pays to get up a bit earlier – and to escape the heat too!)
- Only about a 3 minute walk from the metro

Cons:
- Small street to get to/from metro is very dark at night and I wouldn’t have been comfortable walking down there alone (I was approached by a homeless man asking for money on my first day but was pushed in the arm when I politely shook my head).

Overall, would I go back? Definitely. I think this hotel was my saving grace for our trip in Greece, mainly because I was so sick of hotels selling themselves to be more stars than they really were. Athens Gate definitely lived up to expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldly_gems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,550 - 2,556 of 3,932 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

Best laid plans and all that! We were in Greece for a friends wedding on the island of Lesvos, flying with Aegean Airlines from the UK via Athens. On the way back we had decided to break the return journey with a night in Athens, the idea was that we'd arrive in Athens mid afternoon and then fly to the UK the next evening, giving us about 30 hours to explore the delights that Athens has to offer. We accordingly booked an executive room at the Athens Gate for one night through booking.com, hoping that they might give us a room with an Acropolis view. Alas, Aegean had to cancel our flight from Lesvos to Athens and we switched to their evening flight, meaning that we wouldn't arrive in Athens til approx 8pm. I emailed the hotel to let them know of our late arrival and explained that we would probably take room service for our evening meal, hopefully with an acropolis view.

We arrived at Athens airport as per plan and easily found a taxi at the taxi rank outside the arrivals hall, The taxi ride took a little over an hour and cost 40 euro.

We checked into the hotel and to our delight found that we had been given an upgrade to their suite. This is on the 7th floor, just below the roof top restaurant. It has a nice lounge including leather chairs, coffee making facilities and a book shelf full of guides to Greece which I thought was a very nice touch. The bedroom was very comfortable, with a large double bed, lounge chair, coffee tables and TV. The bathroom was also very nice, the bath is a jacuzzi type, but more importantly the walk-in shower was great. Bathrobes were also provided.

The main feature of the suite however is not what is inside, it's the outside, the balcony. The balcony can be accessed from either the bedroom or the lounge and wraps around the entire side of the hotel, giving amazing and extensive views across the city.

We decided to take dinner in the room (actually on the balcony) and were surprised to find that there wasn't a room service menu. Instead we had to call the restaurant and a restaurant menu was brought down for us. This seemed a little strange, but what it did mean was that rather than choosing from a limited (and often over-priced) room service menu, we could order anything that was being served in the restaurant. The order was made over the telephone, a bottle of wine, a couple of salads and pasta, which were brought to us about 30 minutes later. The food was very good, fresh and tasty and the wine complimented the food well.

Feeling decadent we decided to make the most of our setting and pre-ordered breakfast in our room, so at 8.30 a veritable feast arrived, coffee, pastries and bread, cereal, yoghurt, bacon and eggs. The food was freshly prepared, the portions were large and I genuinely think that it was very good value for money.

There was one downside with the suite, as the restaurant is on the flat roof above, we were distracted at times by the noise of chairs and tables being dragged across the roof. Something that did impress me though, was that on leaving we gave a completed hotel questionnaire form to the hotel, which included our thanks for the upgrade, our compliments to the very professional and courteous staff as well as the issue of noise from the restaurant furniture. Later that afternoon (about 3 hours after checking out) we received a very nice email from the hotel thanking us for our comments and assuring us that they would take our concern under advisement.

In the morning, we did a whistle stop walk around the acropolis (only 10 minutes walk away) and then rushed back to the hotel for a late check out and journey back to the airport for our 17.30 flight. When we checked in we had asked if it would be possible to book a taxi for our return to the airport, unfortunately we were informed that the taxi's would be on a 24 hour strike and that we would have to use either the bus or metro service. We opted for the metro, with the station only 5 mins walk from the hotel. The metro journey cost 8 euro each (one way ticket) and the journey took about 90 minutes, including a change of line at Syntagma station and a change of train at a second station with a 15 minute wait.

I would have loved to have been able to have spent more time in Athens, but on this occasion I was unable to afford the time. But after our brief stay my wife and I are determined to return to the city again and we would take great pleasure in choosing to stay at the Athens Gate a second time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights recently. The view from the rooftop is simply breathtaking. Couple this with a great breakfast or a delightful pre dinner drink you have magic happening. It is conveniently located to great archaeological sites & shopping. The yoghurt at breakfast is the best I've ever had. On a downside, they do not provide free wifi. There are 2 computers in the lobby(FOC) but they are constantly busy & we weren't even there in the peak of summer! Great place that could be awesome with free wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clovellyjel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Location, location, location.
The hotel's location is its main attraction being within walking distance of most of Athens' attractions and dining venues.It also has great views of the Acropolis and Temple of Zeus particulalrly from its roof top restaurant and bar.
The downside is that it is also close to Athens' busiest road (Syngrou Avenue) and the rooms on that side are noisy from road traffic and motor cycles especially - we had to sleep with ear plugs!
The buffet breakfast was very good and we were supplied with both robes and slippers for use during our stay. Everything else was fine and overall a good city centre hotel which I would recommend and use again - although not a room facing the road.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Acropolis only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestScotken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The Athens gate is a clean and well located hotel. Short Walking distance to the acropolis and plaka. Near the metro station and very close to the double decker bus. The other 5 star hotels are either located in bad part of town or near the parliament( which can get a bit rowdy now a days). The staff were really nice and even had a light breakfast packed for us because we had to catch an early ferry to another island. The rooftop restaurant service was slow but the view is amazing. The hotel is clean and everything worked well in the room.We stayed sept 15-18.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nb178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at Athens Gate September 1st and 17th, at both ends of our Cyclades Islands holiday. Both our experiences (we stayed in the same room—601—both times) were superlative. We were greeted warmly and ushered quickly to our room which overlooked the Temple of Zeus. Our room was immaculate, comfortable and perfectly accessorized with thoughtful touches. The bed linens were crisp and beautifully white, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the air conditioning was a welcome relief from the heat (more on that later). The bathroom literally gleamed it was so spotless. Our room included a refrigerator, safe, balcony which overlooked the busy avenue yet the room was sound-proof as we never heard a sound once the door was closed. On our return visit, the General Manager left a fruit tray and bottle of wine to welcome us back. The roof top restaurant is in a perfect location to overlook the Acropolis and the Parthenon. At night, with the Parthenon lit, it is a dreamy place for drinks and dinner. Breakfast is also served rooftop and everyone wants an outdoor table overlooking the Acropolis (and who could blame them?). Breakfast consisted of fresh eggs, potatoes, cooked meats, fresh breads and pastries, Greek salads, cheese, cold cuts, fruit, cold cereals, Greek yogurt and excellent hot, strong coffee. One of the staff, Mike, who works in the restaurant was particularly friendly and helpful and went out of his way to make us feel welcome and recognized us when we returned. In addition to providing everything both business and leisure travelers could want, early departures are provided with a “breakfast to go” and very early morning coffee in the main lobby—a very thoughtful touch! The Athens Gate is well located not far from Syntagma Square, the Metro (Acropolis station), the Acropolis and New Acropolis Museum (do not miss this!) and the Plaka, where "old" Athens can be experienced in abundance. The staff was helpful, cheery and attentive to our needs. Although the elevator is very tiny (there are two of them) and the air conditioning is not up to American standards, the elevator worked well and AC cooled our room sufficiently that we were quite comfortable, but it was September (not sure what it would be like in the height of summer). I would recommend Athens Gate Hotel without hesitation to anyone visiting this exciting city!

Room Tip: Front rooms are on Syngrou Avenue but upper floors overlook Temple of Zeus and have balconies. Rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wpdesousa-mauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, June 16-19, 2011. Cost was 195 euros per night for superior room with view and balcony. Buffet breakfast and taxes included. Reservation done via internet the beginning of January 2011-hotel's website.

When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to an executive suite. Our room was #705-a corner room on the top floor, just below the floor containing the rooftop restaurant. Room was quiet-heard no street noise and slept very well. I admit I was disappointed in that I expected a much larger room, especially with the upgrade. No bathtub-a nice shower though. The balcony was as large as the room! Beautiful views though of the Temple of Zeus, Hadrian's Arch, the Parliament, busy streets of Athens, Panathenaic Stadium, and Lycabettus. At night it was even more spectacular.

One of the best things about this hotel other than the great views was its location. Minutes walk away from Hadrian's Arch, the Temple of Zeus, New Acropolis Museum, the Acropolis, metro stations-the list goes on and on. Walking distance to everything we saw/did except for the National Archaeological Museum and Lycabettus Hill.

Reception staff were so friendly and helpful with maps/directions, advice-outstanding service was provided. Reception arranged for a taxi to take us to port and provided us with breakfast boxes because we were leaving at 6:30 am on June 19th. Laundry service was great also. Able to use the internet/computer located in the lobby area. Breakfast buffet had a good selection and a view of the Acropolis. It almost made you want to linger over breakfast to take in the wonderful views. Breakfast staff also efficient, responsive, and outgoing.

Enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this property.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view-it's worth it to pay a bit more for the views. We were upgraded to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chris45ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,419 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,739 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,249 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#6 Family Hotel in Athens
#8 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £79 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing