We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The Athens Gate Hotel is a real find! Great rates, spectacular location and excellent restaurant. The rates were lower than any of the major hotels. The Athens Gate Hotel is located across the street the Temple of Zeus and is a 5 minute walk from the Acropolis. Walk in the other direction and you are at the main city square or the Plaka. The buffet breakfast that was included with the room offers excellent variety and quality. The spectacular view from the roof-top restaurant is of the Acropolis! What a way to start your day! Nice comfortable, quiet rooms. The staff could be a little more friendly but with all the problems Greece has now days it was fine. You won't be disappointed with a stay at this hotel. The views alone are worth the price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis or in the alternative a view of the Temple of Zeus. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michellerm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,376 - 2,382 of 3,943 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed three nights on a tour of Greece, our room was clean, not that large but the hotel location is very good. Great views from the roof bar/restaurant, where you have breakfast and dinner. We dined there once and the food was excellent, the best in our stay in Greece.

If you need a taxi from the hotel, don't ask at reception as the taxi driver can legitimately add about 4 euros to your fare - just go outside and hail one, the road is busy with lots of cabs.

Room Tip: we were at the back, 5th floor, no views but quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was our last night of our vacation after spending 24 days touring Italy, then a 10 night cruise from Venice to Athens. I didn't think we could still be amazed with hotels and views, but when we reached our room on the 4th floor and saw the Temple of Zeus, another photo opportunity arose. We arrived very early and the hfriendly reception staff offered water and sweets while we filled in the forms. They looked after our bags while we went and walked the sights of Athens, all so close to this hotel. Our room was immaculate, had airconditioning and a very comfortable bed. The traffic was a little noisy but did not stop us from sleeping.The bathroom was very modern with hairdryer and shampoo etc. We reserved (when we booked the room) the special dinner in their terrace restaurant, what a view, sunset over the Parthenon, then a lightning storm in the distance..They were filled to capacity, and the staff worked very hard and very well. The food is very good with huge servings. Breakfast in the morning was here also. I would definately use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have less traffic noise if on the Highway side (Zeus view)
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 2c_more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I contacted the hotel regarding transport from the airport and received very detailed and helpful information including how to get there by the metro, which wasquick, easy and a lot cheaper than taxis. Reception was fast and easy. The room was fine and the bathroom excellent. The location is hard to beat, with the Acropolis near by plus many cafes and Bars. The view from the rooftop is fantastic and they serve a really good buffet breakfast.

Not much against - tea and coffee making facitities would be a bonus, but is was very pleasant sitting on the foof garden drinking coffe and tea.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnpattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My daughter and I have just returned from our lovely trip to Greece. Athens was our first and last stop and The Athens Gate Hotel was the perfect place for us. The rooms are large, contemporary, clean and comfy. The wonderful rooms along with the helpful staff and the absolutely fabulous rooftop views made this a perfect hotel for us. We wanted something nice but not luxurious (no need for excess!) and this hotel exceeded our expectations. The pictures on the website make the hotel look like it is stuck in an abandoned run down area. The pictures simply do not do it justice. It's the perfect place to stay. Thank you Fantasy Travel and Matt Barrett for suggesting The Athens Gate.

Mary

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mfenske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

May 2012 we stayed at this great centrally located hotel. Breakfast at the rooftop resturant was amazing with a perfect view of the Acropolis, and at night the view was even better with the lights of Athens. We were close to many sights of the city, and walked around the area safely. We would stay here again and would recommend to others

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank condo204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here based on all of the great TripAdvisor reviews, and the hotel did not disappoint one bit. The location is absolutely perfect. It was centrally located among most of the attractions we wanted to visit and was near a lot of great restaurants.

The views are also spectacular. Our room overlooked the Temple of Zeus, and we had breakfast on the roof overlooking the Acropolis every morning. The breakfast was very good, too.

My only complaint is that we had some minor issues connecting to the internet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alicia1328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,439 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#8 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £78 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing