We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #13 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Athens Gate is a very reasonable property for a short stay in Athens. Great views from our room of the Temple of Zeus, great views from the restaurant of the Acropolis. Room was clean and comfortable and restaurant food quite good. No free wi fi in room though you can go downstairs to use it. For the price it's a good and comfortable option.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamiwinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,068
    1,275
    203
    37
    17
See reviews for
552
2,130
167
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (934)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, N.Y.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have often heard that the only reason to go to Athens is to see the Acropolis. Our recent visit proved the idea to be false and a key component to our very positive experience in the city was The Athens Gate Hotel. The hotel couldn’t be better situated, steps from the Grand Promenade where you can easily walk to the Acropolis, the new Acropolis Museum, the Ancient Agora, and the restaurants and cafes of the Thesseion neighborhood. You can walk out of your hotel and meander through the shops and restaurants of the charming Plaka neighborhood and enjoy the National Garden and the changing of the guard in front of parliament. This boutique hotel is a solid four star establishment with pleasing décor and a very helpful staff. When we arrived, John met our cab and would not let the taxi driver charge us any more than the 35 Euro fixed charge from the airport. Breakfast on the roof of the hotel is a spectacular experience. On one side the Acropolis is looming over you, on the other The Temple of Olympian Zeus and Hadrian’s Arch are below with a panoramic view of Athens in between. The food was ample and tasty and, again the staff could not have been more accommodating. Our next stop was a cruise of the Greek Isles but we departed Athens reluctantly, eager for a return stay in the Athens Gate to see much more of the city.

Other info: The Strofi Restaurant has excellent food, a very accommodating staff, and that glorious view of the Acropolis. I would go to the New Acropolis Museum first and then to the Acropolis. Buy the comprehensive 12 Euro ticket that admits one to multiple attractions (not the museum) and is good for four days. Some of the sites close early.

Room Tip: Stay in the rear of the hotel off a quiet street rather than on the busy avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Verrazano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

The Athens Gate Hotel is a real find! Great rates, spectacular location and excellent restaurant. The rates were lower than any of the major hotels. The Athens Gate Hotel is located across the street the Temple of Zeus and is a 5 minute walk from the Acropolis. Walk in the other direction and you are at the main city square or the Plaka. The buffet breakfast that was included with the room offers excellent variety and quality. The spectacular view from the roof-top restaurant is of the Acropolis! What a way to start your day! Nice comfortable, quiet rooms. The staff could be a little more friendly but with all the problems Greece has now days it was fine. You won't be disappointed with a stay at this hotel. The views alone are worth the price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis or in the alternative a view of the Temple of Zeus. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellerm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed three nights on a tour of Greece, our room was clean, not that large but the hotel location is very good. Great views from the roof bar/restaurant, where you have breakfast and dinner. We dined there once and the food was excellent, the best in our stay in Greece.

If you need a taxi from the hotel, don't ask at reception as the taxi driver can legitimately add about 4 euros to your fare - just go outside and hail one, the road is busy with lots of cabs.

Room Tip: we were at the back, 5th floor, no views but quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was our last night of our vacation after spending 24 days touring Italy, then a 10 night cruise from Venice to Athens. I didn't think we could still be amazed with hotels and views, but when we reached our room on the 4th floor and saw the Temple of Zeus, another photo opportunity arose. We arrived very early and the hfriendly reception staff offered water and sweets while we filled in the forms. They looked after our bags while we went and walked the sights of Athens, all so close to this hotel. Our room was immaculate, had airconditioning and a very comfortable bed. The traffic was a little noisy but did not stop us from sleeping.The bathroom was very modern with hairdryer and shampoo etc. We reserved (when we booked the room) the special dinner in their terrace restaurant, what a view, sunset over the Parthenon, then a lightning storm in the distance..They were filled to capacity, and the staff worked very hard and very well. The food is very good with huge servings. Breakfast in the morning was here also. I would definately use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have less traffic noise if on the Highway side (Zeus view)
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 2c_more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I contacted the hotel regarding transport from the airport and received very detailed and helpful information including how to get there by the metro, which wasquick, easy and a lot cheaper than taxis. Reception was fast and easy. The room was fine and the bathroom excellent. The location is hard to beat, with the Acropolis near by plus many cafes and Bars. The view from the rooftop is fantastic and they serve a really good buffet breakfast.

Not much against - tea and coffee making facitities would be a bonus, but is was very pleasant sitting on the foof garden drinking coffe and tea.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnpattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

My daughter and I have just returned from our lovely trip to Greece. Athens was our first and last stop and The Athens Gate Hotel was the perfect place for us. The rooms are large, contemporary, clean and comfy. The wonderful rooms along with the helpful staff and the absolutely fabulous rooftop views made this a perfect hotel for us. We wanted something nice but not luxurious (no need for excess!) and this hotel exceeded our expectations. The pictures on the website make the hotel look like it is stuck in an abandoned run down area. The pictures simply do not do it justice. It's the perfect place to stay. Thank you Fantasy Travel and Matt Barrett for suggesting The Athens Gate.

Mary

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mfenske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing