We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The rooms was very comfortable,
The pretty girl at the reception was very friendly and informative as well, i took the room with the acropolis view. The roof top restaurant was awesome with the view of acropolis and the temple of Zeus. We had wonderful breakfast while viewing the two important places in athens. A plus point to the hotel is everything is walking distance. The view of the city from the hotel's Roof Top is possibly the best in the whole of Athens.

The Constitution (Syntagma) Square, and the commercial center of Athens are, also, only 500 meters away.

A walk to the athens flea market is only like 15 minutes - i will suggest to walk because you will see a a lot of shops with good bargain or you can take a cab which wont cost you more then 5 euro right in front of the hotel.

For food in athens greece and in Santorini we only had (souvlaki) they are like sub way and taste very good comes in like kebab (Chicken, mutton, beef and pork) The best in athens is at the flea market area called (Thanasis Souvlaki).

Free internet on the roof top and they have 2 computers in lobby for internet usage.

The hotel is very good - go for it

Room Tip: Higher floor with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,143 - 2,149 of 3,885 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

The terrace on the roof was a great way to start each day (although made it hard to leave because the view was so nice). We had a balcony in our room overlooking the Temple of Zeus, and never even found a need to visit it while there because we could see it so well from our room. This hotel is also only a block or so from a lot of restaurants, the Acropolis Museum, and the main pedestrian and shopping streets. Probably only a 10 minute walk to Syntagma square where there are many more restaurants and small shops.

Room Tip: Get one on the north east corner for views of the Acropolis AND the Temple of Olympian Zeus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The Athens Gate is a fairly modern hotel in a good location to visit the Acropolis, the new Acropolis Museum, and the Plaka. From our room facing Syngrou Avenue, we had a great view of the Temple of Zeus. Our friends had a room facing the opposite direction which gave them a great view of the Acropolis. More great views were available from the rooftop bar and restaurant, where breakfast was served. We were there for Saturday and Sunday nights and paid €195 a night for a Superior Double Room (Queen bed).

Our room was a good size and was comfortable and functional. We had a small balcony facing out onto Syngrou Avenue, which is a fairly busy street. There was some traffic noise all night long, but it did not affect my sleep. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also a decent size with a rather large walk-in shower. However, there were no electricity outlets in the bathroom, which meant my wife had to stand in the hallway facing the wardrobe mirror to use the blow dryer they supplied and her curling iron.

The breakfast buffet was substantial and served in a great setting. It included fried and scrambled eggs, bacon, cereals, breads, pastries, yogurt, olives, juices and coffee. Dinner was served later in the day, but we did not eat there. We did have after-dinner drinks one night in the bar.

The new Acropolis Museum is very well done and worth a visit. It is virtually around the corner from the Athens Gate, a walk of only 100 meters. The entrance to the south slope of the Acropolis is just across the street from the Museum. Equally close is the touristy Plaka district with shops and restaurants.

In sum, it was a comfortable, functional hotel in a good location, but it didn’t have a lot of character and charm.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Acropolis are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This a nice Hotel with stunning views to the beautiful columns of the Zeus Temple and Hadrian's Arch. Perfect location very close to the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, the Plaka and the city center. We walked to all places we wanted to visit although the Acropolis metro station is only a few feet away from the Hotel. Hotel staff very friendly and assisted us in all we needed .
We would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. View from roof garden out of this world.
Stayed there during most violent of protests and strikes, great advice from staff and tips on safest places to go.

Room Tip: Higher floors less 'road noise' and higher floors at rear great view of Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fury1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Athens Gate Hotel for 1 night during our honeymoon. We were on our way from Santorini to Split and basically just wanted to see a bit of Athens on the way! This hotel was absolutely perfect for that. You couldn't get closer to the Temple of Zeus if you tried (it is across the road from the hotel), and the Acropolis is just a short walk around the corner, past shops and restaurants.

As we were only staying for 1 night, we booked a standard room. It was very comfortable, and as advertised. (If you want a view you need to book a superior room.) The bathroom was on the smaller side but was modern and clean. For a standard room, I certainly couldn't fault it.

The real highlight was the rooftop restaurant. The photos I had seen prior to staying did not do it justice. The views are amazing, the food is amazing (go for the 3 courses - we had a caramel cheesecake that was to die for!!!!), the atmosphere is very romantic and service is great.

For such a short time in Athens, we had such a fantastic time and were able to do the things we wanted to, thanks to the location of this hotel.

I wouldn't hesitate staying again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayLoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Super location! Great clean room with nice sheets and amenities. The area is busy with lots of traffic but it did not disturb sleep. Nice restaurant with huge views and helpful taff. Lovely experience and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a non street room. You lose the night view but also the heavy traffice. The restaurant has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,375 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,379 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,200 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 281 in Athens
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#6 Family Hotel in Athens
#8 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £74 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing