We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Athens Gate Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Areos Hotel(Athens)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$213
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
US$123
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$219
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$356
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$205
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$173
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,002)
Filter reviews
4,002 results
Traveller rating
2,299
1,405
237
43
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,299
1,405
237
43
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restauranttemple of olympian zeusgreat locationacropolis museumwithin walking distancetop floorbusy streetwhere breakfast is servedsuperior roomour honeymoonlight sleeperan amazing viewolympic stadiumroof gardenhadrian's archplaka districtmajor sites
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,172 - 2,177 of 4,002 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This hotel was awesome, great breakfast included, beautiful view, rooms with porches and comfortable beds. Very Affordable! We only booked this hotel for one night as we were going on a cruise, but it was right near the main attraction, walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

With 4 days in Athens, chose a 4 star rated hotel over the usual 3 star hotel, and went a bit over my usual budget . I will not repeat all the good TA reviews, but simple list the good points in short , which made my holiday that bit better .
Location , central ,near Plaka , below the Acropolis , two blocks away .
Close to Acropolis Metro station and all the major historical site .
Large bathroom and good sized sink with side shelves for stuff.
Clean a freshly made Double bed with extra pillows.
Very friendly and helpful reception staff ...Stella.
I will recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Athens and I thank the local expert who gave me the idea of going for a 4 star at a few Euro difference .
A few suggestions to the Management to raise the already high standards ,my rating 9 out of 10 .
The bathroom was large and had all the extras including a hairdryer for my better half ,but needs a small stool to help one to exit the wet bath at the same level as the bath base , to eliminate the chance of slipping when stepping out of the bath .
For a 4 star , I would consider , the area Outside the front door to be more pleasing and would spend some money on cleaning the plain and run of the mill pavement setting of the area . The interior foyer is very good and pleasing and is a contrast to the outside pavement on the high road .
I may be wrong on this , as I usually switch off the electronics while on holiday , but the internet is not free in the hotel , and may not be a good attraction for the younger generation.
Overall a very good experience , in line with many other reviews . Thank you for a nice break .

Room Tip: For a quiter night , I would choose a room on the back of the hotel , even if it is without a large balcony and views . Front rooms look on to the Temple of Zeus across an 8 lane road , which may be a bit noisy if you do not close the balcony windows .
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 643amc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

With only 2 days to explore Athens and not wanting to spend a lot of money, this hotel was perfect. The location is absolutely ideal. It is only 1 block from the Athens Acropolis Metro stop which will take you to all the major spots in the city. That metro stop is surrounded by great restaurants, the entrance gate to the Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum. For tourists without much time, you can hit all the high points and not waste time in transit. We initially took a cab from the airport when we arrived, but realized the metro was just as convenient and much cheaper on the way back. The metro is very clean and equip with escalators making transport easy with our suitcases.

The hotel itself was very modern and clean. We had a small room with a balcony. The bathroom had a huge shower. The bed was comfortable although it was traditional european style of two twins pushed together. By far, the best part of the hotel was the restaurant on the top floor. The breakfast in the morning was awesome and included in the price of our room. You cannot beat the views from the restaurant - in the morning or at night. The restaurant also has free WiFi which is nice when planning out your day. For a quick (or even more extended) stay in Athens, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I love the Athens Gate Hotel. Its just 300m from the Acropolis Museum and a short walk into Plaka where there are lots and lots of bars and restaurants. The rooms are clean and very functional - beds are comfy. The rooms on the 7th floor have quite large balconies and when the sun comes out you can sit at the table with 2 chairs and take in the view of the Temple of Zeus if you have a room at the front. The buffet breakfast is very good; the bacon, orange juice and coffee is excellent and the view of the Acropolis is fabulous. The bar and restaurant is essentially a glass box on top of the hotel, floor 8, and the views are stunning. There is a bit of road noise but it gets quieter after 10pm and it is in central Athens. Its a great hotel, very well located. I have included a iPhone panaoramic photo from my 7th floor balcony.

Room Tip: rooms on the temple of Zeus side are noisier but the view....rooms on floor 7 have large private balconies...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The hotel is located in a very central area convenient for visiting the acropolis and the tourist part of the city. Very nice the bar at the top floor used also for breakfast with a great view of the acropolis.
The room was nice and clean. The staff was nice and professional.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side, because over the weekend the area is animated by intense night-life and it can be quite noise.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Paoletor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews