We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #17 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
260 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel.”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Smiling and helpful receptionists. Small garage but locked. Nicely and modern rooms and bathrooms. Terrace restaurant a bit noisy and small but with a great view. Risotto to die. Location is great although really on a heavy traffic boulevard.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisRogerDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,125
    1,318
    212
    40
    17
See reviews for
580
2,195
173
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The location of this hotel was great. It was about a 5 min walk to the entrance of the acropolis, was located in the old town 'plaka' (so close to nearby restaurants). The first impressions of the room were average. It was a budget room (as said when purchased) with a twin bed and a beautiful view of the air conditioning units. The room however looked like it was modern and fresh. The fine details when cleaning were missed. The toothpaste cup (that was white) had toothpaste stains inside (and we had not used it), there was also toe nail clippings on the floor. When the room was serviced the cleaner threw out my partners empty drinking bottle (which we actually wanted, and as a result had to buy a new bottle). The pillows were too soft and we woke up with saw necks every morning (my partner and i have very different pillow preferences and we both disliked the pillows). However, the service was good, and they recommended a wonderful vegetarian resturant nearby called avocado. The breakfast view was amazing, with views of the acropolis. The breakfast was good. Overall, I would stay here, but i found it to be a high 3 star or a low 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy_traveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Wonderfully located and nice rooms. Had an amazing view. A sure-thing amongst high price Athens hotels! My husband and I stayed during the summer riots in 2011 and the staff made us feel safe. The hotel is located so close to everything a tourist in Athens would want to see. A memorable trip!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atobe05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I love this hotel and always stay here when I'm working in Athens. Superb location, friendly staff, clean, comfortable and modern rooms.

The roof garden is great - have an alfresco breakfast (weather permitting!) before work then a pre-dinner drink before heading out to Plaka for dinner, just a short walk away.

What's not to like? Staying here feels like a little holiday when you're in Greece on business.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mca555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
538 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My husband, daughter, and I arrived 4 a.m from our flight. We were exhausted. We were greeted by two of the hotel staff very warmly, offered water and a snack, and assisted to our rooms, which were adjoining. The rooms were modern, spotless, and with nice amenities. In the morning, upon opening our wall to wall drapes, we discovered a wall of windows overlooking the Temple of Zeus. What a way to start our Athens experience! In addition, there was a patio where we could enjoy sitting out for a bit. Breakfast, which was included, was outstanding. There were eggs several ways, ham, sausage, potatoes, assorted breads, pastries, assorted cereals, wonderful Greek yogurt with accompaniments for it, makings for Greek Salad, Greek olives, juices, and more. We got to enjoy this feast with views of our choice. The Acropolis was to one side, Temple of Zeus on another, the Agesn Sea off in the distance, and Lykavittks Hill. What an awesome way to start and end our day. Each evening we ended our day with drinks, and sometimes dinner, on this same rooftop, and there is free WiFi up there as well. The entire staff was warm, helpful and the hotel exceeded our already high expectations. The only negative regarding the room, in my opinion, was the configuration of the bathroom, with the toilet located behind the bathroom door, making it a bit awkward. The rooms facing Temple of Zeus are on a busy street, but I'm used to city environments, and the view was worth the added noise to me. Rooms on the other side may not have a view, unless on the top floors, but would be quieter. Regardless of choice, the hotel has views to die for on the rooftop. It was one of our most memorable stays anywhere.

Room Tip: Decide whether street noise or scenery is more important when choosing location of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisNCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We chose the Athens Gate for the view of the Acropolis from the rooftop restaurant.
After arriving at the hotel, we were grateful to learn that our choice of hotel was good for other reasons as well. This hotel also offers quality, style, comfort and location. More of that in a moment. Right now, let's get back to that all-important view of the Acropolis.
Many years back, I lived in Athens in the Plaka when it was worth visiting and a couple of other places. That experience taught me that the Acropolis is at the heart of everything in Athens, not just in a geographical sense. That magificent and beautiful temple shines over the city, day and night, teasing the soul from every angle.
That's why we booked the Athens Gate.
We got exactly what we hoped for. As you dine at the roof top restaurant, the Acropolis seems so close you feel you could touch it. What's more, the view over the rest of Athens is no less enticing.
And what about other aspects of the Athens Gate?
LOCATION - the Athens Gate is convenient. Yes, there are fancy hotels down the back streets of the Plaka and near Syntagma Square (and other places of course). But try hailing a cab from any of those. You won't have that problem at the Athens Gate.
Then again, why not walk? Cross the road out front of the hotel and find yourself in the ancient Temple of Olympian Zeus.
Walk a couple of safe blocks back from the hotel and find yourself in a welcoming pedestrian zone with upmarket tavernas.
Walk a little bit further to find the Acropolis Museum. And then onto the Acropolis itelf. And the Plaka. And just a little bit further to Syntagma Square. And Monasteraki. And on to ... and I think you're getting the idea by now!
As we said, you can pick up a cab out the front of the hotel, and drive for a seafood sensation at Pireas Harbour, or take a coffee on top of Mount Lycabettus, or go wherever else your heart desires!
COMFORT - the Athens Gate was refurbished six years ago. Other TripAdvisors have commented about how the refurb has stood the test of time. The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and the bathrooms are well-appointed. We were fortunate to have a balcony, meaning we had extra Acropolis time. That's a bonus of travelling off-season, but the room would have been very nice and comfy anyhow.
STAFF - we loved the reception and restaurant staff! We travellers know, don't we, that the staff make such a difference when on the road. At the Athens Gate, nothing was too much trouble, and our questions were answered patiently and with genuine concern. And the lovely plate of sweet Greek delights on check-in really hit the spot.
ROOF TOP DINING - Or just for a relaxing drink in the evening! Taking breakfast whilst watching the Acropolis, and the Temple of Zeus, never grew old. It wasn't just the view, though. This is a quality restaurant, with good ingredients cooked well and served with a genuine care. After dinner, it's hard to tear yourself away from the place - you, too, might find yourself dreaming the evening away with a good companion, a glass of your favorite and a view of Olympian gods.
RECOMMENDATION - the Athens Gate won't be for everyone. It'll be a little pricey for some. For others, the extra cost will be worth it given the extraordinary views, appointments to comfort and location. We have no hesitation in recommending this 4 star hotel to all seekers of magic when staying away from home.

Room Tip: You'll find a coin-operated laundry just down Beikou Avenue (a few safe streets behind the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

In the start of April we visited Athens and stayed into The Athens Gate Hotel. It was a really pleasant stay with high quality service. The room we had had an amazing view of Acropolis and it was quite big for us. The breakfast also was really nice and rich. I surely recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
2,197 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
3,232 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 325 in Athens
1,655 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing