We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #16 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Very pretty and modern hotel. Lovely rooms. Clean spacious slate tile bathroom. Rooms have nice wood floors and contemporary decor. Most rooms have some sort of view. This hotel has THE BEST location. Walking distance to most everything. Acropolis, the plaka, the museum. So easy to just get out and roam around from this hotel. The restaurant not only has one of the best views in town, but the food is fabulous. Beware that internet service is not free here. There are two computers down in the lobby.
The restaurant has to be the showstopper. The views are gorgeous day or night. And the food is awesome! The orange cake with ice cream is incredible. And the breakfast buffet was so much more than anticipated. The greek yogurt was the best in all of Greece. And the figs were larger than golf balls! Great baked goods and savory entrees.
The staff was quite attentive and informative. Nice bellhops.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LSybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,126
    1,318
    214
    40
    17
See reviews for
580
2,198
173
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel is located near everything we wanted to see in the two days we had in Athens: Acropolis; Acropolis Museum; Plaka; and great restaurants (we wanted to see more up close but were hampered by rain and jet lag). Recommend taking a tour bus for acclimation and overview. We went as a family and had two rooms (306 and 307) not quite adjoining but with a common hall area that could be closed off from the rest of the floor. One of the rooms was large enough for a rollaway, and still had room to move around. The balconies are large and it would have been great to have outdoor furniture - we ended up asking the hotel to send some chairs up and they were happy to accommodate us. The view is of the Temple of Zeus and was stunning both day and night. These rooms were on the main room and it is always busy, so if you're seeking quiet, suggest looking for rooms that face the rear (Acropolis).

We took the hotel's advice and hired a car service for airport pick up, which my father in law arranged, so it was a smooth ride with an English speaking driver, who also gave us a mini tour. We almost had a total disaster when we discovered we had left my father-in-law's walker at the airport, which is 30 minutes away, but the hotel called and arranged to have it sent to us the same day at minimal cost.

The rooftop restaurant, which serves as the breakfast room and bar, has stunning views and the breakfast was fresh, delicious and plentiful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and offered excellent suggestions for our brief visit, and even told us when we tried to over tip!

Note; if you're disabled or travelling with a disabled companion, the bathrooms are on the small side and there are several steps to the entrance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Acropolis facing rooms are quieter. Ask for the family rooms if you're traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa_D_from_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We chose this hotel on our return to Athens following a cruise. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast very good. We had a superior room with Acropolis view. The room was quiet being away from the main road. The breakfast room has excellent views of the Temple of Zeus which is across the main road from the hotel. There is a nice, comfortable lounge area on the ground floor where we could sit and relax at night with a coffee. The location was excellent being a short walk to the Acropolis and Syntagma Square. The Plaka was also within easy walking distance and there were plenty of small eateries close by. i wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrissyPA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
320 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here with our two young sons ages 9&10. It is convenient to the Acropolis, the museum, restaurants and shopping. You can go high dollar(euro) for eating or duck into a simple cafe along the walkways. Without having to take a taxi or any other transport you can see much of the heart of the city from this location. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Beds were comfortable and the noise level from the city was well insulated out of the upper floor rooms. Elevator is standard european small with a very steep set of stairs winding up the hotel.

They had free wifi in the hotel lobby and a small bar. The restaurant is nice although the breakfast was a bit ordinary, nothing special. The dinner menu was good and plenty of selections for kids and adults. Views at night of the Acropolis are awesome so you won't be disappointed. Get an early reservation and be prepared for amateur photographers to crowd at sunset to get that perfect selfie...

Room Tip: Get a top level room just below the restaurant with views of the Acropolis. If you want to save som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here for six days prior to our cruise. We booked a standard room, but when we arrived we were sent to a room that was not yet cleaned, so we left the hotel to wait for it to be cleaned. When we returned to the hotel a couple hours later, we were told because of our inconvenience, we were given an upgrade to a room on the fifth floor facing the Temple of Zeus. Since we were there for six nights, it was a wonderful surprise. The next day we received a bottle of wine and a snack also for our inconvenience. We also loved the buffet breakfast with the gorgeous view from the rooftop. The location was fabulous as we could walk to so many places of interest including the Plaka for shopping and dinner each night.
The only problem we had was when we put our American bottles of vitamin water in our fridge to get cold and someone, probably the maid, took it out so we didn't have a cold drink when we returned the second day from touring. But, when I complained, we were sent two bottles of ice water to our room. This was a wonderful stay and if we are ever in Athens again, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BestCalligrapher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGAPORE
Level Contributor
147 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We chose to stay here again after our last memorable stay in 2012. We were upgraded to a larger room with a balcony that has a stunning Acropolis view as we celebrated our Wedding Anniversary here. We were given a free bottle of wine as complementary for our special occasion (thanks to the hotel management). The room is impeccable and we loved the location that it is close to everywhere and we can just walk to Acropolis, Syntagma, Monastiraki and Plaka area. Please note that there is free Wifi at the lobby area but it is chargeable in the room. We have no issue using our mobile devices to access to wifi.
The breakfast spread is nice and we loved the cheese/custard pastries. Bring along your camera as the dining area has great view of Acropolis & Temple of Zeus.
All the staff that we met were friendly & approachable. The staff at the reception will not hesitate to help you when you asked for direction. We will definitely choose Athens Gate again if we come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wienprater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife/I stayed here during our honeymoon. The rooftop views during dinner were incredible and the staff were very friendly/helpful. They don't provide free wi-fi which was odd but they did have 2 computers for general use in the main lobby. The location was perfect and we were able to walk to almost everything we needed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,199 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,237 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 326 in Athens
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing