We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Wonderful location, just aside the Acropolis. Hotel is new and well decorated, which are not easy to find charactheristics in Plaka. Breakfast with Greek yougurt and an unbelievable view to the Parthenon is definetely a plus. I do recommend!

Room Tip: Front rooms have view to the Zeus temple. Some of the back rooms have partial view to the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeandroSiqueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,784 - 1,790 of 3,975 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Good points: -

- Centrally located, within walking distance to local attractions.
- View from the balcony is good as it's directly opposite tge Olympian Zeus Temple
- Good variety of food at breakfast.

Bad points: -

- Noisy as the hotel is located on a main road.
- Room is tiny, we had trouble finding space to put our luggages ( and it was only 2 luggages )

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pohim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Excellent hotel in the heart of Athens.
In 4 days of staying we never needed to use public transport or taxi.
The best views in the town - breakfast room is on 9th floor with the view on Acropolis... brilliant.
Hotel staff is very friendly and always happy to help.
Will strongly recommend.

Room Tip: to avoid traffic noise try to book a room on higher floors and facing away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonVadim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed 4 nights in november. Rooms clean and modern. The view is good either direction, breakfast good. We had dinner in rooftop restaurant, food very good, salad amazing and view is acropolis lit up. close to acropolis museum. Helpful staff and friendly. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel was a good quality hotel for the price. The rooms were modern and very clean. The location was also well positioned a the base of the Acropolis. Our rooms had beautiful big balconies facing the Temple of Zues. The only negative, was the dinner menu at the restaurant was very limited & not really Greek Cuisine, that didn't really phase us, as there was heaps of restaurants close by. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Late review - we stayed there in September 2012 but this is a great hotel - very friendly and helpful staff - went out of their way to find things and information for us, great breakfast - we had their special pre-ordered dinner - great food and wonderful rooftop views and charming waiter. Close to the Acropolis good for walking around, would definitely stay there again and recommend it to all.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ancols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I spent 7 nights in this hotel with my parents in late December 2013. The rooms are functional with a balcony and really comfortable (4th floor rather quiet). Breakfast was plenty and the staff was very friendly. The location is the main reason for me to choose this hotel. All touristic sights are within 10-20min walk. I really appreciated that the receptionist (in the evening shift) helped me organizing an island trip on my own. Even though there was no free internet in the room there was free connection in the lobby and two computers and one printer were available for guests. The lobby was very welcoming and many guests were using this service. Overall a good modern comfortable hotel at a great location with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 284 in Athens
2,490 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 284 in Athens
3,488 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 284 in Athens
3,309 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 284 in Athens
1,757 reviews
Royal Olympic Hotel
#65 of 284 in Athens
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#8 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £95 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing