We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I don't write many bad reviews as I usually check tripadvisor before I book a stay and end up satisfied. I gave it 2 stars because I really felt this is what is deserves. Stood here with my girlfriend in January. On the fifth floor for 4 nights. I have been to Athens multiple times as my girlfriend has family there. She is greek and speaks fluent.

Pros-

Location is great for walking around the acropolis
Breakfast is included and above average
Employees were all very nice

Cons-

Noisy! The maids start cleaning way too early and you can hear everything because the walls are thin. People in the hallways and the room next to us. Also they had someone cleaning the stairways 7:30am!

Wi-Fi. Pathetic. It's 2014 time to spend money and get hi-speed wi-fi in the rooms. The wi-fi that they have is very slow and not up to par with most hotels. Not good if you have business to tend to while away.

Air conditioning in our room was also very poor. Our room was very moldy and musty and I am not sure why. I don't know if every room has this problem but ours did. In the middle of the night we would wake up to a very warm room and the air conditioning did not seem to work.

Atmosphere- Very touristy. Everyone seemed to speak English first. Not the place if you want to dive into the culture. If you want to be a typical tourist than you may like it.

Might just be a bad experience but I will not stay here again.

I have had much better stays at King George and Aeros

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor by maid closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ACSauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthensGate1, General Manager at The Athens Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for your comment regarding your stay at The Athens Gate Hotel even though you had a "bad experience"

Following our dedication to guest satisfaction, that it is our number one priority, we strongly believe that our guests’ reviews and comments is the most successful tool in order to improve our services and fulfill each need to the highest level.

As far as the noise problem we have apologize if by any chance our Housekeeping personnel did some inappropriate noise. We try all the time to keep the Hotel as clean as possible, without causing any additional problems.

As far the WI-fi service every week we do a control check with our provider, in order to check the right use of the speed. For the last three months we did not had any other complaints on the use of the specific service or any other problems.

Nevertheless we apologize if the service was not provided at the appropriate standards.

Next time visiting Athens please give us the right to prove our high standards of service in all levels and provide you the service and accommodation you wish.

With kind regards
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,753 - 1,759 of 3,941 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed at Athens Gate Hotel based on the research done on TA and it was a great choice. We got a cab from the airport, which we had booked online (paid when we got there). It costs about 35-50 Euros one way, but you can go ahead without booking and hail one at the airport too. Once you get there you can walk upto most popular attractions and shopping area too. This makes it a good choice among hotels that are located away from the city centre, in which case we spend money and time to get to the city centre. The check-in was very quick and we were greeted warmly by the lady at the desk. The lobby is very well designed in a contemporary manner. The room was neat and spacious, as compared from a city centre hotels I have stayed in other European cities. Bathroom was nice and clean and we were happy with the stay there. We had a balcony room facing the Acropolis, with a glass wall opening into it the cozy balcony. Breakfast is served on the top floor, with indoor and outdoor sitting options. The breakfast spread wasnt as impressive as we had expected, (maybe we felt out of options as my wife and myself are both vegetarians), but nevertheless the whole experience of having it in the morning breeze and sunshine, overlooking the Acropolis and Temple of Zeus, made it right.

We asked the lady at the reception to suggest things to see/do while in the city. We did a segway tour which is about 1 min walk behind the hotel (I have reviewed that too). It was a fantastic experience. The town centre with shops at Syntagma square and the Parliament is located is about 10 mins walk (@ lazy pace). There is changing of guards ceremony at the parliament (Like @ Buckhingham Palace, London) and you can get inside the premises and really close to watch it too.

The old olympic stadium is also about 5-7 mins walk.

We loved out stay here and would definitely stay here again and recommend it to my family and friends without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room facing the Acropolis is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maddybombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stay for the view as it's near all the major monuments but otherwise It's an average hotel.
We where checked in a smelly room and we made a complaint at the reception. They sent an engineer to our room only to be told that there was nothing wrong with the room. We went and spoke to the reception is and she gave us a better room with a view and a balcony. Why didn't they give us this room in the first place? Couldn't understand the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haluwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was a clean hotel within walking distance to the Plaka and Acropolis. Staff was friendly. The best part was the rooftop bar/restaurant which overlooked the Acropolis and Tempe of Zeus. We also had a view from our room. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We spent 4 nights here and enjoyed our stay throughout, the view from the rooftop garden are breath taking, with the Acropolis on one side and Zeus Temple on the other.
Breakfast was a very good selection, and our room was very comfortable and was on the Acropolis side, so not so noisy but with ear plugs we slept fine.
All the main attraction's are with in walking distance.
Because of our late evening arrival we booked a Taxi through George Taxi & Limo, a bit dearer than the normal taxi service, but it was nice to be meet at the airport by friendly face.
Going back to the Airport we took the Airport Bus X95 from Syntagma Square.




Ad

Room Tip: Rooms on the Acropolis side are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Location is AAA+. You can see the Acropolis from your bed on the Acropolis side of the hotel or the Temple of Zues (maybe 50 metres away) on the other.
Very central to Plaka with markets and fine dining and other ancient fantastic attractions.
Getting there by bus from the airport is super easy.
Rooms are clean and modern. Make sure you go tot the roof top bar for breakfast and dinner. You won't be disappointed with the magnificent views to say the least....................

Room Tip: Ask or book an upper room on the Acropolis side of the building. The 7th floor back rooms have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaswel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I'd certainly stay there again. Everyone nice. Rooms in the back, on higher floors have view of Acropolis and no street noise. Very nice breakfast. Fabulous dinners. Best Greek salad I've ever had. Not fancy but has everything we needed (and we are fairly demanding) Can walk to most places or easy access to wonderful subway. Really liked it.

Room Tip: While views toward Olympian Zeus are extraordinary, there might be bothersome street noise and how c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,435 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,438 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#6 Family Hotel in Athens
#8 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £78 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing