We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #16 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super hotel”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have just stayed here along with three other couples over February half term and we were all very impressed with the quality of the hotel. The location is perfect and to have breakfast in the roof terrace overlooking the acropolis is amazing. The rooms, though smallish, are very clean.
Overall, a great place to stay for a city break.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the Acropolis are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill3154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,126
    1,318
    214
    40
    17
See reviews for
580
2,198
173
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I chose this hotel based on the excellent reviews that I found on trip advisor. We stayed for 4 nights and booked a room on the 7th floor overlooking the Acropolis. The view was breathtaking. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was delicious and we ended up eating dinner at the hotel twice because the food was the best meal we had while in Athens. The staff was very knowledgable and HELPFUL. They recommended great tours, resturants and nightlife. On the day of our departure they even prepared a to go breakfast for us to take on the plane. This is more than a hotel - it was an experience. Thank you for the incredible experience. If we ever come back to Athens there isn't any other place we'd stay :) thank you!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SummerVaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a great stay. The rooms are comfortable and the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful - particularly the reception staff. The roof top restaurant and bar are spectacular with amazing views of the acropolis. Great food too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Travelled here with my cousin after a trip to the Greek Islands. We needed to be pampered and that's exactly what we got. The rooms are incredibly clean. All the in room amenities are brand new and clearly the latest and greatest. We had a large amount of hanging space and space for two massive travelling duffel bags as well as hand luggage.

The best parts of the room are:
Great size bath and a good pressure shower
Comfortable bed and very soft pillows, with adequate covers (if you put the aircon on too low)
Excellent air con (controllable)
An accessible balcony, which gives you an appreciation for how loud the traffic is and how quiet the rooms are when the doors are closed

The best parts of the hotel are:
Fantastic location
Friendly staff - all helpful and knowledgeable
The concierge were brilliant with their advice of the area and tips of the attractions - such as best times to go
The breakfast is amazing - one of the best hotel breakfasts I have had - and the views are stunning. Make sure you sit somewhere different every morning to savour the views.

The only down-point I can mention is the air-conditioner. It switches off when you take the card out or open the balcony door. To combat this, we used our Costa Coffee card, which allowed us to have the aircon on all the time for when we returned. A minor hassle, not a problem.

Would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the The Parthenon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dazzler-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed at the Athens Gate Hotel in February 2014. The location is ideal and the rooftop views of the Acropolis and surrounding area can't be beat. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the food selection in the complimentary breakfast was diverse. The room rate was very reasonable. This may just be the best hotel in the whole city.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Temple of Zeus provide a good view, but the street can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TUFSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My future daughter-in-law and I traveled to Greece July 20th. First Hotel, Athens Gate . So beautiful. Location, location, Modern Hotel, Clean and I mean clean, right between Acropolis and Zeus Temple. Loved the rooftop breakfast and illuminated evening dinner. Could not recommend a better hotel/ Greece Location. Very Happy.

Room Tip: We were so busy..there may have been a swimming pool or fitness center... Can't say...but the Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at the Athens Gate in September 2013. The room was clean, modern, and very nice. We loved the balcony, and although it is located on a busy street, the windows blocked the traffic noise. We had a clear view of the Temple of Zeus, and the rooftop restaurant view is exquisite. My only complaint was the air conditioning. It was common throughout Italy and Greece that the ac was not what we are used to in the US. I suggest getting an extra key. The Ac only works with a room key in the slot, so if you don't get an extra key, it is off the entire time you are out. It then takes quite a while to cool off. It also shuts off whenever you open your patio door, and you have to physically go to the panel to turn it back on. The staff were friendly and professional. A little warm, but overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitela1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,198 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,237 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 326 in Athens
1,657 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing