We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels for a weekend escape in old Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #17 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels for a weekend escape in old Athens”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

As usual the shortest way to explain , very clean, nearby everything , couple of minutes walk from Syntagma Metro , friendly staff, spacy rooms , .....everything you need for a comfortable stay around old Athens...I recommend for as mentioned a weekend escape around Plaka Monasteraki and Syntagma . lots of Restaurants around ...the only deficiency is no internet in Rooms , the only free is in lobby or breakfast roof top where you can enjoy stunning Acropolis. A+

Room Tip: better to have a Zeus temple view , sunnier the morning , as you will have the chance to see Acropol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,143
    1,335
    219
    40
    17
See reviews for
589
2,219
173
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I knew Greece had developed some problems since my last visit some 10 years ago and took care to lock our computers, iphones, headphones, cash, cards and other precious jewellery items in our safe.....but 30 hours in to our 4 night stay we found a single earring out of place in our room. We knew we had not taken any items from the case since arrival and on checking found our things had been rifled through and 3 missing items. Management response 48 hours after our report was “ we have checked cameras and only maid came into room” and “ we have no liability these items were not in safe”. There were also suggestions we had lost them elsewhere or before arriving at hotel or that we were fabricating their disappearance. Why then had one earring found its way from a closed pouch of assorted items in the bottom of a zippered pocket inside a bag in the bathroom into the room?This response was only forthcoming after I demanded on the 3rd occasion to meet with manager, who was not at the hotel for the entire easter period. I spoke to him by phone after I demanded an interview before posting my reviews....Dispute resolution here is very poor. To add to the insult on checking out we were charged for the connection to speak to the not available manager over 5 euro. I disputed the charge and it was then refunded. So check your bill carefully as well!
During our stay we twice had someone attempt to enter the room without clear knock first, we were in the room at the time and the person had gone before we got to the door. Also our door device occasionally gave out an interesting alarm which required us to open and close door for it to stop, so I have some concerns about door devices as well as security.
These were not very expensive items, just a few better than costume jewellery items worth a couple hundred dollars or less, tucked in a drawstring bag of cheap accessories in the bottom of an inner zipper pocket of a zippered toiletry bag…but our possessions have been violated. Our suitcases clearly gone through…not items left carelessly around the room. With all the travel I have done, I had never thought to put these type of cheaper items in a safe with other ‘valuable’ objects. Also without one item being out of place we never would have even had suspicion and checked our belongings thoroughly until we left hotel and would have had no knowledge of where items might have gone missing. Again, lock away not just valuable but any items of personal attachment.
I would like to state that I have spoken to the Manager before I posted this review.

What we really wanted and never got from management was a simple apology.

We had paid extra for a view and the view was wonderful. With this view, be aware there is traffic noise despite our 6th floor and double glazing, so if you are a light sleeper you will need earplugs.

Although the hotel has been recently refurbished there are now signs of maintenance issues. The vinyl floor is lifting outside our bathroom and shower door leaks over bathroom floor. Overall though room is in good condition and has good extras such as slippers, magnifying mirror and full range of toiletries, wash cloths etc. Of course no kettle or iron as most hotels here. Very little storage for your clothing, but I suggest you keep anything you want to take home with you locked in your case anyway.

Breakfast was wonderful and staff pleasant and attentive. Very nice view from rooftop restaurant of either Temple of Zeus or Acropolis. Plates would be better if warmed, but overall good breakfast with lots of options. Would not in future pay for room view but just go up to terrace when you wanted to look at it.
We paid 34 euro for internet in room for first few days then 10 euro for a couple of hours but tried internet in lobby for free on last day. It was slow and would not load a photo.
Location is excellent, a few minutes walk into Plaka to Acropolis and New Museum. But there are many other 4 star hotels nearby to check out. Some other hotels also have rooftop restaurants.
In a side note, Athens has amazing wonders of the world to see but clearly suffers from huge social problems. After checking blogs and researching other guests who have had things stolen while in Athens, I would recommend checking these blogs carefully as regards security in Athens and Greece as a whole. In any hotel... lock away everything including locking your suitcase during your stay to avoid the type of experience we had which leaves an indelible negative impression of Athens Gate Hotel, Athens and the Country of Greece as a tourist destination.
Could not give a better rating because of our overall guest experience and lack of security.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for view, just go up to terrace...rear rooms with no view probably quieter. Loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MargaretPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthensGate1, General Manager at The Athens Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Mrs Powell,

First of all I would like to apologize to you for any distress caused to you during your stay at the Athens Gate Hotel. Regarding your complaint and the situation described in your review, please read below:

I was informed about the situation and your statement from the very first moment by my associate. Our immediate reaction was to send the groom and the maid to your room, to help you search the room thoroughly in case one of your items had been caught up in the mattress or the sheets, or misplaced somewhere else inside the room.

At the same time our technician was ordered to thoroughly check the video from the CCTV during your stay, to see if any unauthorized personnel had entered your room. As stated in our phone conversation, no strange movement was recorded and the video is at your disposal to be checked by yourself should you wish to.

Furthermore, we examined the room card key program, to see if the room had been accessed by unauthorized personnel. Again all data showed that nobody outside the hotel had entered your room. The data of the room card program is also at your disposal.

Finally I asked our maintenance department to search in the washbasin and the pipes, to see if by any chance one of your items had fallen in the sink. After dismantling all the pipes, nothing was found.

On the same day (Friday) that I was informed about the situation, I asked my associate to connect me directly with you as soon as you returned to the hotel, so that I could talk with you directly. I called twice during the day, but it was not possible to reach you. Again on Saturday I called the Hotel and we then managed to talk directly.

As can be seen above, following your complaint, all possible actions were taken by us in order to investigate the situation. Over the phone I underlined that during your check in process, on the registration card, that is given and signed by every guest, it is clearly stated that “The Management declines any responsibility for the loss of money and valuables left in the room, and for that purpose safe deposit boxes are available in all rooms”. Obviously what is valuable to one person may not be of value to another, but in any case, we cannot be held responsible for any items not stored in the safe. This I would remind you is standard procedure in any hotel in the world.

At no point during our telephone conversation did I imply that you were fabricating the disappearance of the items. As far as the phone charges are concerned, the decision to question the charge was not yours, but was made at once by our Front Office Personnel, after ascertaining that this charge concerned our telephone conversation.

For your information, the reason that the door device occasionally gave out an interesting alarm, was because the door had not been closed properly. This alarm is an extra security check point for the guest, in order to notify them that the door has not been properly closed. According to your complaint that security check worked well for you, as you ended up checking the door again. Please note that I have already asked for the wooden floor, that you kindly pointed out to us, to be replaced.

As the Manager of our Hotel, my main concern in such a situation is not about the review posted in Tripadvisor, Trivago, Booking.com etc, but to investigate and resolve such occurrences.

Athens and Greece have indeed gone through some major political, economic and social changes in recent years, but what has not changed at all, is the hospitality and the services we try offer our guests, from all over the world.
These major changes did not affect the level of security provided in Greece, and definitely did not affect the ethos and rectitude of Greek citizens and business community.

Furthermore, with a view to improving guest satisfaction, we strongly believe that our guests’ reviews and comments are the most useful tool in order to improve our services and fulfill each need to the highest level.

Once again, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused and note that we have all your contact details and after all aspects of the incident are analyzed, we will follow up with you, with news of any findings.

With kind regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Amazing views and very friendly staff that was most helpful during our stay. We arrived around 1130 and the taxi driver attempted to make us pay the past midnight rate. The staff calmly walked out and informed the driver that we would not be overcharged. Throughout our stay personal touches were made, breakfast and housekeeping staff were always friendly as well, and made for a very pleasant stay. Great location, very hospitable, and again, marvelous views.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

excellent breakfast! with amazing view of acrapoli and zeus temple. cleaning is available for all day that you can not find easily at the ordinary hotel. staff is always ready to answer your all questions related to greece. price is very good for the facilities that hotel provide to us. the weak part of the room is tv channels which are really insufficient. remember there is no free wi-fi at the room.

location is perfect and safe.

thank you to the all staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Just B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very easily accessible via the metro and smack in the middle of most of the main sights of Athens - we had an incredible view over the Temple of Olympian Zeus and the rooftop bar/restaurant also has a view of the Acropolis.

Our room was modern, clean and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful (and loved the welcome snacks on arrival!) and the restaurant was fantastic for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaireBearRas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Then look no further. We got a deal where we payed for three nights and got a fourth for free - so it worked out at around eighty pounds per night which was good value. Had we payed more than that we might have found some of the more stingy aspects of the hotel a bit off-putting - having to pay extra for internet in our room, the tiny bath towels, one chair per double room, nowhere to sit on the balcony – all fine for eighty ponds a night but with that unequivocal ‘budget’ feel. The breakfast room more than makes up for this thought - it really does look as good as in the photos! Lovely staff and decent buffet breakfast.
I was glad we had a room at the back of the hotel because it was blissfuly quiet away from the traffic.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view also face a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I've always wanted to write a bad review, and I almost always never have to because whenever I travel im lucky enough not to end up in horrible places. Now at first glance this hotel might not impress, especially since it's architecture hides most of the lobby; but sleep quality, cleanliness, THE VIEWS, and the food is something to look forward to. the view itself is amazing!

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the ruins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tato_delanoriega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,235 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,266 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 326 in Athens
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing